Why Altaf gets contempt of court notice but not Faisal Abidi?

If we look at it, Faisal has been more blunt and more obnoxious then Altaf. But instead of taking action against Faisal, the court decided to just stifle his voice.
What could be th reason?

Abidi excels world presidents, PMs in contempt of court - thenews.com.pk

Abidi excels world presidents, PMs in contempt of court

**LAHORE: Many rulers and public figures in the world, when convicted for committing different crimes or when they anticipated they would be punished by law, have been blaming judiciary and casting aspersions on it, but none has ever been as obnoxious and disrespectful as Senator Faisal Raza Abidi has been of late.

Dubbed by most as a PPP ‘loose cannon,’ Abidi has been openly abusing and cursing the Pakistan Supreme Court Chief Justice and other arbiters on numerous television channels and newspapers since August 5, 2012, the day he formally started hurling serious allegations against the country’s top judge, his colleagues and family.

During his August 5, 2012 Press conference at the National Press Club in Islamabad, Senator Faisal Raza Abidi had maligned the apex court in the harshest possible words.

In what could easily be termed tirade against the Supreme Court, he had even accused the CJ of acquitting a terrorist who allegedly killed 100 people, besides publicly announcing that he would soon table a bill against the judges who had taken oath under the Provisional Constitutional Order (PCO).

Although Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry did take notice of Abidi’s Press conference and had sought footage of the press briefing soon after to see whether it came under contempt of court, no concrete action against the PPP Senator has yet been taken - something that has stunned most Pakistanis who heard what the Senator had said without blinking an eye! There is no doubt that questions will arise and give birth to many suspicions if Faisal Raza Abidi is not called to the court in foreseeable future and asked by the arbiters to show cause of his venom against the Supreme Court Chief Justice and other sitting judges.

The delay in this context has already irked many and raised quite a few eyebrows.

There is a long list of Abidi’s accusations against the Chief Justice, his colleagues and family, but what is most startling is the fact that the Senator has remained the most sought after guest for all television channels during the month of August.

Senator Abidi may be the most vocal and disrespectful of all court critics, but former Premier Yusuf Raza Gilani and PPP stalwart Sharjeel Memon, besides others, have also been using fairly contemptuous phrases against the judiciary in recent months.

Re: Why Altaf gets contempt of court notice but not Faisal Abidi?

Not a big deal, before this Gillani got it and he was not an Urdu speaker. A mountain out of a mole.

Contempt notice is nothing as compared to the other allegations on him, the biggest challenge he is facing in the UK itself.

Yar asal chakar aur lagta hai. Toheen e adalat drama hai.

Like I said, the courts have agenda not just against Karachi or MQM but also against PPP. Not just Gilani, the courts also went after Zardari. Yet no action taken against Nawaz. As if Nawaz’s party never did anything wrong.

If courts only follow law and are not biased then why don’t they take action against Faisal Abidi?
This only means that what Faisal said was true. Because the courts could not issue contempt of court to him even though he has abused them MUCH more than any Zardari, Gilani, or Altaf have done.
But instead of replying to him, they stifled his voice.

Faisal Raza Abidi demands resignation from CJP Iftikhar | The News Tribe

Islamabad: Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) activist Senator Faisal Raza Abidi on Thursday once again lashed out at Chief Justice of Pakistan, Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, and demanded his resignation for misusing authority.

It is to be mentioned here that Faisal Raza Abidi’s press conference on Thursday was not broadcasted on television as SC had directed media organizations to avoid broadcasting remarks against judiciary.

The silence of Nawaz’s courts about allegations from Faisal is deafening.

Faisal Raza Abidi belongs to PML(N)? :konfused:

Your perplexity makes sense.
That is the irony of the situation. Nawaz's courts won't take any action against Faisal Abidi. Even though Faisal has criticized Iftikhar severely and personally.

But instead of serving him a contempt of court order, they have chosen to silence him instead.
This only means their hands are dirty and Faisal's criticism of Iftikhar's corruption is true.

Iftikhar Chaudhry is on record saying that he took house building loan for his son's valima. Faisal even has documents to prove it. And if this is false then Iftikhar should show everyone the house which was built from that loan.

This saying is true for Iftikhar and his CRUSADE against ppp's corruption:
"doosron ko nasihat
khud Mian Fasihat"

Everyone remembers how the “supporters of the rule of law” came out on streets and started a mass campaign when Musharraf ousted Iftikhar Chaudhry.
I wonder where these people were when Nawaz had attacked the same Supreme Court when it tried to hear a contempt of court hearing against him.
May be the difference was that the judge in that case was from a smaller province?!

Remember Gilani and Zardari, and now read this:

The trial of Pakistan’s Prime Minister, Nawaz Sharif, has been halted after his supporters forced their way into the Supreme Court building in Islamabad.

Protesters shouted abuse against the Chief Justice, Sajjad Ali Shah, who was hearing a case of contempt of court, which could lead to the Prime Minister’s disqualification if he is found guilty. The court adjourned for the day.

Friday’s trouble started when one of Mr Sharif’s Members of Parliament climbed over the gates in front of the court to get inside.

A crowd of a few hundred party supporters then began to follow him and, as the police and the security forces in riot gear stood by and did nothing, they pushed open the gates and ran into the court compound.

A few members of the crowd got into the court building and ran to windows and onto the roof of the entrance, chanting slogans against the Chief Justice.

Amid the commotion a court official ran to the courtroom and said the Chief Justice was in danger. The judges immediately adjourned proceedings and left the room.

Absolutely true. I don't say whether MQM is right or not, but what I despise is the double standards.

The difference was that the judge in that case was controversial and even had little support from his own colleagues in the supreme court. What Nawaz Sharif's men did was horrible and terrible and the issue should have been dealt with in a much more lawful and civil way. But you also need to take off your ethnic glasses sometimes.

There's no need to look at everything with ethno tinted glasses. People in Pakistan get fed up with rulers after 2-3 years, and that holds for NS, BB or any one else.Musharraf stayed at the helm of affairs for more than 7 years and it was only the matter of time that people would have risen against him. A reason was required which he provided in the shape of Iftikhar Ch.

We can see what happened through out the 90's. When Nawaz Sharif was ousted by Musharraf, no one came out in his support even in Punjab (reason being even Punjabis were fed up with him). Punjab's only problem within the context of Pakistan is its population size, and it cannot do anything about it.

That is the key, calling it ETHNIC issues is beyond shocking. As far as i know Abidi was also served notice and this is the reason he has disappeared all of a sudden. It has become common practice in Pakistan to point fingers at other rather than clearing themselves.

Being controversial in eyes of some people, for "some" reason, is not enough of the reason to attack the court. If you think THAT court was controversial then I think THIS court is controversial. Point is that supreme court was attacked while hearing a contempt of court case. And the same guy is now the champion of law and order, and laughing at his pet judges declaring contempt of court left and right against his opponents.

And before accusing me of using ethnic glasses, you need to respond to the question I have been raising.
Also, take a look at topics I started, and posts I posted. My posts are not against anyone. And I have always selected topics which are concern for every Pakistani. I have criticized not just PMLN but also PPP and MQM.
But now if these are facts make anyone uneasy then one should agree that problem exists, instead of just hiding the facts under the carpet.

That act was wrong. And I have said it and have in no way justified it. Anyone can go to court today and and ask them have that incident investigated. This court did ask government to investigate the Asghar Khan case, didn't it?

I was answering your question why people did not come out for THAT chief justice because he didn't even have support from other judged in SC, let alone lawyers and civil society.

Yes, problem exists. That problem is MQM's ghunda gardi which we saw in last several hours in Karachi/Hyd.

You are asking why court is not acting against Faisal Raza Abidi and then you keep on saying that the courts are only acting against PPP and then you call it Nawaz Courts. That doesn't make any sense. Nawaz Sharif has no electoral competition with Altaf Bhai anyways.

Please bring a coherent argument.

You are side stepping what I said. Let me say it clearly. Problem of bias based on petty provincialism exists and is thriving in the whole Pakistani society. And now courts have also become a party to this bias.
The issue is not just about MQM alone. It also involves PPP and PMLN. So just talking about MQM narrows down the scope.

You are asking why court is not acting against Faisal Raza Abidi and then you keep on saying that the courts are only acting against PPP and then you call it Nawaz Courts. That doesn't make any sense. Nawaz Sharif has no electoral competition with Altaf Bhai anyways.

Please bring a coherent argument.

I don't know why it is being so difficult for you to understand the point. The courts are not taking action against Faisal Abidi because if they bring him to courts then they won't be able to respond to the proofs he has about their corruption.
These courts are Nawaz's courts. This is why they have not taken any action against him, even when it was PROVED that he took money from ISI in order to beat PPP in 1988.

The government needs to initiate the cases against the Sharifs, and they have refused to do the same. PPP, PMLN are the same. Its a part of the script in which the next PM would be Nawaz Sharif under president Zardari.

Asghar Khan case: PPP trying to find an escape, says PML-N | DAWN.COM

Petty provincialism exists and parties like MQM and PPP thrive on it. Also look at title of this thread and let me know why we cannot talk about MQM?

Everytime something happens regarding Karachi and MQM and you open a thread and then continuously ask us not to talk about MQM. This is not fair :(

Yep, the Chief Justice and his son would be corrupt. Faisal Raza's allegations would be correct. That proves nothing against NS.

Has anyone gone to courts with a corruption case against PML(N) and the courts did not take it up? I would agree with you if that happened.

Regarding Asghar Khan case, this is the only court which had the guts to decide on it. The SC doesn't have criminal investigative powers or jurisdiction. It has referred the investigation to the authority capable of it. If Rehman Malik's FIA is reluctant in investigating the issue, I can't say much about SC's role then.