Whoever Makes a Picture

** Sahih Bukhari: Volume 3, Book 34, Number 428]**

**Narrated Said bin Abu Al-Hasan (Radi Allah Anhu) : While I was with Ibn 'Abbas (Radi Allah Anhu) a man came and said, “O father of 'Abbas (Radi Allah Anhu) ! My sustenance is from my manual profession and I make these pictures.” Ibn 'Abbas (Radi Allah Anhu) said, "I will tell you only what I heard from Allah’s Apostle (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam). I heard him saying, ‘Whoever makes a picture will be punished by Allah till he puts life in it, and he will never be able to put life in it.’ " Hearing this, that man heaved a sigh and his face turned pale. Ibn 'Abbas (Radi Allah Anhu) said to him, "What a pity! If you insist on making pictures I advise you to make pictures of trees and any other unanimated objects **

** Sahih Bukhari: Volume 3, Book 34, Number 318] **

Narrated Aisha (Radi Allah Anha): I bought a cushion with pictures on it. When Allah’s Apostle (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam) saw it, he kept standing at the door and did not enter the house. I noticed the sign of disgust on his face, so I said, “O Allah’s Apostle (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam)! I repent to Allah and His is Apostle. (Please let me know) what sin I have done.” Allah’s Apostle (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam) said, “What about this cushion?” I replied, “I bought it for you to sit and recline on.” Allah’s Apostle (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam) said, "The painters (i.e. owners) of these pictures will be punished on the Day of Resurrection. It will be said to them, ‘Put life in what you have created (i.e. painted).’ " The Prophet (sal-allahu-alleihi-wasallam) added, "The angels do not enter a house where there are pictures

** ps > i asked to a scholer about smilies which we used in msn yahoo or community .. is it allowed or not i got answer in NO **

** Wallaho alam **

Re: Whoever Makes a Picture

:rolleyes:

lol..did u really ask him about the emoticons?

Well yeah painting and drawing living things..i mean ppl N cartoons is not allowed and so as hanging them in our house or buying them!

I m thinking to destroy all my art work with pictures in it!

That scholar is mad.

It is fully allowed.

Dont be a fool.

Please close this thread.

Dear Yudishthir,

Can you tell me the last time a Muslim told you what is permitted and not permitted in Hinduism? Or that one of your pundits was mad? Or call you a fool for following Hinduism?

Kindly return the same courtesy…

Thank you…

***lol..did u really ask him about the emoticons?*

zainab i thin its not a joke section when i said i asked then i mean it
well i asked to a deoband Alim ..

***mean ppl N cartoons is not allowed and so as hanging them in our house or buying them!*

and what is smilies isnt it cartoons ?

lajwab > jazak Allah ..

Hope this helps:

Ref: Emoticons are not unlawful images

well i got answer from Mufti of darul ifta ahsan ul uloom and i am satisfied with that answer coz smilies r too much similer
with human.z face exprationz !

if any one want to asked here is address
al jamit ul arabia ahsan ul uloom karachi gulshan iqbal block 2

It is good to avoid making pictures unnecessarily...........well I myself totally against the idea of displaying our pictures in our houses.But I Am not too concern about the toys or children's books with pictures.And it also depends on the pictures.....we should'nt have pictures of naked men & women.
I also think that we can have pictures in albums.
but its only my opinion and I'm not a scholar.......I JUST WROTE the way i think about the Pictures in Recent Times.

Lajawab sahab, I'm sorry if I offended you. I did not mean to be rude to Muslims. My comment was directed at the viewpoint of that person.

I'm sure that you too have a camera at home, and have taken photos of yourself and your family. Now going by what that scholar said, you are definitely not going to dispose off those photos, or stop taking pictures in the future, are you ?

What I meant to say was that the scholar was taking things a bit too far, like telling not to use emoticons, etc.(you too use a picture of a raven as an avatar).

Millions of muslims use emoticons, and take pictures. No Muslim scholar ever objected. So I think that particular scholar must have been misinformed.

Actually scholars are quite infamous in Hinduism also. You must have heard of Shankaracharyas, who are the Popes of Hinduism.
In 2004, the topmost Shankaracharya was arrested on charges of murder, financial fraud, relationships and what not. The whole Hindu faith was shaken up. My relatives had even met that shankaracharya and couldnt believe he could do all such things.

This doesnt mean to say that all scholars in Islam too must be bad. I was talking about that particular one who prohibited emoticons.

^ what about pics of non living objects like cars,trucks ships etc

I've heard that there is'nt any hadith that say "making pictures of living things is halal or haram"........
But What is the reason behind avoiding making or displaying pictures of living creation of Allah .........I've heard a hadith that says:A house with a picture,dog or janubi(napaak).....the angels of Rahmah don't come there.
There is another hadith in which Prophet Muhammad(saw) did'nt enter the house of one of His(saw) wife because there were curtains with the horse or unicorn' pictures on them....Then Prophet(saw)'s Wife made the pillow cases out of those curtains so no one could see the pictures.
We should keep this in mind that in those days Arabs were new to Islam and the idea of idolatry were still in thier mind.........
Today the chances of doing Idol worship are much less........
And In many ways we can't avoid pictures like passport ,other documents and Notes,Rupees with the pics of "Jinnah".........
I think We should'nt be too harsh on this matter becoz of the "new Technology"
But we surely should avoid the pictures of the people from Hollywood,Bollywood and Lollywood.And We surely should'nt display pictures of ours or themlots or other living things.
But the one who can avoid them completely will get the "Ajar" in the hereafter.InshaAllah

I

To Yudhishtir
You are right actually........It is an odd thing to condemn people from using things like emoticons when the society and cultural level are unable to distinguish between simple matters such as prayer ,charity,good behaviour,honesty,jealousy,superstition etc
However in a very enlightened society which we are far from then actually the use of emoticons seems somewhat childish and ridiculous.so to condemn this ridiculous thing is not a bad thing rather it is untimely and inappropriate for this society and cultural level.

However, the image has to actually resemble a person or an animal to be prohibited. As for mere symbols or combinations of word characters that indicate eyes and a smiling mouth, these are not prohibited unless those symbols are used for worship or for some other unlawful purpose. In this case, they are merely a type of shorthand

guys sadia Psoted that fatwa and this scholer said word character who just *indicate eyes or smiling face but smilies which we used those r animated and they r nor word character but have reall shape of eyes which r resemblance a person .. *
*well if any one dont agree so i dont want to convence *

This doesnt mean to say that all scholars in Islam too must be bad.** I was talking about that particular one who prohibited emoticons**

yudisthir > u said again & again about that scholer ..do u know him ? how can u said he is misinformed or mad ?

*even u didnt know about islamic books ahadees, and the rulez & regulation ..he is a big scohler and he said it with all logics .. ( with ahdith) and u said it without knowing about any strong refrence but used just ur brain *

if i said any thing about ur religion (without knowing ur books or hiduisam rules) **do u consider me or ur pandit ?**

Millions of muslims use emoticons, and take pictures

its not logic for islamic orders that if million of muslim used any thin that it mean this is allowed.( if islam said cleary its prohibted). million of muslims used watching movies darama but islam dont allowd it

*dont said again any thing about any muslim scholer we have lots of respect about thses person & we know them personlly how much they r doing work hard for islam & muslims ..they live thir lives purley for islam .. *

if u dont agre e then ok take ur way **
**but i think in all religion its called manners if u dont know about any one then its better just close ur mouth about that person

This brings up the topic if movies/cartoons are wrong.
A movie and a picture are two different things right. So recording is okay since you are not controlling the human being or animals or any living thing meaning your not giving them a soul.
some1 please lighten this subject. thanks.

Wow, no smilies allowed. :hehe:

Hey girl..i know this is not a joke section..i wasnt joking..it just sounded funny to me that u really asked him bout the emoticonz..so just said that..i know u really did..i didnt say u didnt mean it!
Yup similies r cartoonz..but i m talking bout actual pictures of cartoons..physical pictures r not allowed...i dont really know bout the emoticons!