Who would make a good captain???

I personally think it is stupid to remove Waqar being so close to the World Cup based on one tournament where everyone performed bady albeit Waqar’s strange decison to bowl first.
But lets say with Pakistan’s stupid politics in cricket, if Waqar is removed then who should replace him?
I personally wouldn’t have Wasim as there is too many external problems involving him as a captain and too many political problems which has always been Pakistan’s downfall.
I think Latif would make a good captain for Pakistan.

blaming the whole loss on one guy.
waqar is the best captain pakistan has had since imran
i can understand his decsion of batting 2nd giving the batsman the chance to be under pressure against quality teams.
eventhough it was not at a good time.
bowling and batting failed miserably but mostly bowling.
just one bad game and you people are jumpling like its the end of the world.
pakistan had a bad game on both sides, and australia had a bad game in australia couple months back.
none of us jumped on conclusion that they have a bad team.

i'd say bring moin back and make him the captain. I don't see captainship skills in any of the other current pakistani players. The captain not only has to be someone to whom the team looks up to.
For example Jayasuriya. His team and players look upto him, even if he doesn't perform in a couple of matches.

I'm really not in favour of changing the captain soooo close to the world cup. But remember the last world cup where they revolted against Miandad as coach like 4 months before the world cup. Man pakistani team has sooo much politics. No unity whatsoever.

Xpress

I myself said it was a stupid idea to change the captain so close to the World Cup. I never blamed him for the defeat to the Aussies but said that the whole team was appalling and even though Waqars decision was strange the whole team need to be blamed for the pathetic batting display.

What i did say is that Pakistan is unpredictable and HYPOTHETICALLY speaking if Pakistan were to get rid of Waqar due to the stupid politics that there is in Pakistani cricket then who would your captain be.

I myself think Waqar has transformed Pakistan from a good team to a top team and i personally would like to see Waqar at the helm for a long time.

I said that if Waqar was to be sacked which i hope he won't who would you put instead?

So re read what i wrote previoulsy and tell me where i call for Waqar to be replaced.

I wanted to apologize for the above comments.

Moin Khan no way.
He is not a good captain at all.

Waqar is the best.

I’ll go for WASIM AKRAM

Javed Miandad should be the coach of the team :k:

Yaar ..why u guys are after captain...All i want to do right now is cancel all players county contracts..and cut their salary half... these scums deserve some punishment

This is not the first time Pakistani team screwed up so badly... they are highly unprofessional....

Or yeh M. Hyden..yaar bara he zaleel player hai!!

i think moin should be back as captain
i don’t mind if they make me captain:hehe:

Such ignorance for those who are looking for new captains.
Absoultely no knowledge about cricket.
Pakistan selection as dumb as they are, actually look genious in front of some of the guppies here.

copied from here —> Waqar’s days over

Waqar is the perfect captain.
Well said Armughal.

Bhai Logo - Captain badalne ki bahut jaldi hai aaplogo ko - Kam se kam series ke End tak ruk jao. Waqar is a good Captain. His players (batsmen) have to perform to win the matches. Aur bowlers ko seedhi bowl dalni padegi baaki matches me.

BTW, What would you say - If Pakistan goes on to win this tournament ?

This is the problem with some of the desis.
They would love you if you win matches but when you loose a match for your team they would becoe your worst enemy.
People like them don't desrve a great team like Pakistan.

I dont think Waqar is the best man to lead Pakistan - regardless of his pathetic efforts and those of his entire team in their last few games.

In my eyes, Pakistan have to choose between Wasim and Waqar to give them the right balance for the 2003 World Cup.

Saeed Anwar
Imran Nazir
Shahid Afridi
Inzamam Ul Haq
Yousef Youhana
Abdur Razzaq
Azhar Mahmood
Moin Khan
Wasim Akram
Saqlain Mushtaq
Shoaib Akhter

Thats is the best 11 for the World Cup in South Africa. You need specialist openers - and Youhana to bat at 5. Razzaq and Mahmood will suit the South African tracks and so will Wasim and Shoaib. Waqar simply has no place in the side - on merit and team balance.

Yousef Youhana is the best possible choice for the Captaincy - everyone knows he will get the job sooner or later. If the PCB think he`s still too raw they cann ask Wasim to Captain till the World Cup and make Yousef his Vice Captain so he will take over once Wasim retires.

Waqar has been a great bowler but he just doesent fit into the one day side anymore - we would have to play one less batsman or allrounder to accomodate Waqar and that would screw the entire balance b/w the bowlers and batsman.

Its time for Waqar to go.

yousif youhanna as a captain :confused:

only in dreams…

No place for Waqar?

hahahahaha!

No!

Azhar Mahmood is a joker, he isnt worth his place on batting or bolwing alone-and that means he's useless. His record at both is comical, and to remove a strike bowler of Waqar's class is ludicrous. Waqar is a legendary strike bowler and a match winner-a big game player. The best way to check a score is to take wkts-Waqar meets that need, Mahmood does not!

As for the batting, if no.1-7 cant score the runs, hell having a decent no.8 isnt going to be any good. Your suggesting Pakistan play negative cricket my having such a long line-up at the expense of a top notch bowling attack. Afridi's inclusion in SA conditions shows you are very new in your study of Cricket-seaming conditions and you want Afridi there?

He cant judge lateral movement and cant shuffle across to counter any swing-he's crap! He is good only against India where even Hick is a lion! Afridi is worth a place in Sharja or Sub-continent only-where the flat tracks allow him to hit across the line.

Younis Khan or a yougster is well worth a place now.

Remember in the World Cup, you don’t get two, three chances to play Australia, using the knowledge of thinking that we’ll get them next time.

The Group Stages is very critical, that you get one shot to perform well and win.

Bring back Moin Khan as captain, yet leave Waqar as bowler.
I wasn’t behind Waqar from the beginning, and the Wasim/Moin captaincy formation was great.

At times I miss the team of 1999, with the ever legendary Ijaz Ahmed :hehe:

Let’s make that sad Wajatullah Wasti the captain, if all else fails. :smiley:

Our batting at World Cup 99 was rock solid with some very minor collapses.

Leaving jokes aside I think our middle order in 99 was extremely good.

With solid batsmans like Ijaz, Inzi, Youhana.

Now Youhana has only improved, Inzi has been performing badly for the past couple years, with some rare good innings and Younis Khan is not solid enough to replace Ijaz.

Saeed Anwar was also in good form in that tournament.

But rightnow our bowling was better than at that time.

If Saeed fails to performs in this tournament and ICC Trophy than I'm afraid he needs to be dropped along with highly talented but very stupid Imran Nazir.

For me the next promising captain would be Imran Nazir!
I never liked Waqar as a captain.

Why scrap Waqar as skipper, he is a very good leader. His very latest results -the Morrocco cup and this joke- are bad, but overall he's been doing very well. His test record is highly impressive if compared to other captains we've had-and its too close to the Wc to change the top brass now. Stick with Waqar-see him through. Pakistan owes him that much.