who will win the next world cup

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
*No favirote team has won the world cup since 1989, when Australia defeated England in the world cup final. SInce then no team favirtoe has won.

Was there any world cup in 1989 ? I think it was the year 1987 and no, Australia was not the fav. team that year, Fav teams were India and Pakistan as both reached Semis and whacked by Eng and Australia. That years marks the beginning of a new era in Australian Cricket.

AK

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 08, 2002).]

Sorry for the mistake Asif, it was 87, but Australians were certainly the favirotes going into the tournamnet, India and Pakistan were dominant in test arena in the subcontinent but when it came to one days, Australia had the powerful attack led by Border, with Jones, Boon and Steve Waugh who was the reason why Australia defeated Pakistan in the semis.

australia and south africa were favourites in 99 world cup pak was third favourite..

and next world cup will go to kenya

who knows they might win.

south africa they deserve it cause it iz goin 2 b there 4 world cup and they reached in da semi finals in 92 and 99 and quter final in 96 so big up 4 south africa

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 10, 2002).]

Now that Pakistan has defeated Sri Lanka convincingly, the Hindustanis should rethink Pakistan's chances...

If we could make it in the finals in the 1999 world cup, we can easily reach them now as our team is alot better than what it was in 99. As for South Africa, dont know but they seem to screw everything up in the world cup... I predict an Australia vs Pakistan final again...

Pak will win, Inshallah.

I would go ballistic if it were a Pakistan India final world cup match. I would nvite all my Indian friends over just to see their faces when Pakistan creams them....

Originally posted by Adnan Ahmed:
*I would go ballistic if it were a Pakistan India final world cup match. I would nvite all my Indian friends over just to see their faces when Pakistan creams them.... *

That would be really fun to watch. Specaially to see WAQAR, WASIM AND SHOAIB pumped up and taking indian heads off. Like they did to lanka in sharjah final.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 18, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 18, 2002).]

Well, to reach the world cup finals you have to beat many teams like Australia, South Africa and of Course Sri Lanka. (and not just a team like New Zealand) and neither is world cup a Tournament of 2 good teams and one mediocre team.

About India reaching the World Cup Finals - I dont think they can make it to the finals. So Chill out.

AK

The way we played in the final, no team stand a chance against us even Australia

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**The way we played in the final, no team stand a chance against us even Australia

I am not denying that it was a great performance. But You also have to remember, SL were without Murali and that is one major factor why Pakistan was able to put up 295 on the scoreboard.

And What's the gaurantee you are going to play every match like that in the world Cup.

AK

I think you should try to read the quote which you just picked out, I said the way Pakistan bowled against SL in that match only then not even Australia stand a chance, I never said they always bowl this way.

Originally posted by Question:
** That would be really fun to watch. Specaially to see WAQAR, WASIM AND SHOAIB pumped up and taking indian heads off. Like they did to lanka in sharjah final.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 18, 2002).]**

Ek Brahmin ne kaha hai ke yeh Saal Ach-cha hai,
"Dil ko behlane" ka Ghalib yeh khyal achcha hai !!!

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
** Ek Brahmin ne kaha hai ke yeh Saal Ach-cha hai,
"Dil ko behlane" ka Ghalib yeh khyal achcha hai !!!

wah wah wah wah kya shayrana tabiat pai hai aap nay

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 18, 2002).]

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**About India reaching the World Cup Finals - I dont think they can make it to the finals. So Chill out.

How can you say that?

Take Your Best Shot At Me

asssalam o allaikum
pakistan or australia
kashif

Pakistan is a highly temperamental team. Brilliant one day, and an absolute dud the other. During a major tournament (sans Sharjah variety) a team needs to maintain focus and play consistently well, especially in the latter half of the tournament.

With Pakistan, somehow, the consistency is not there. We have a very talented team, with some exceptional batsmen and bowlers. On a one-to-one, we can stand up to any team, including Aussies, but it all depends on that one day and on that one occassion, how all these pieces come together. For that we need an inspiring captain. I have not seen Waqar captaining the team, but if (erratic) results are any indication, the skipper has to bring the level of team consistency serveral notches up.

Barring that, Aussies are one of the most consistent performers since 1987 (except for 1992 WC), with even SA paling in comparison. England have improved a lot from the pitch-bottom of a few years ago, and India and Lankans are a strong team too.

Its true that a favorite has not won WC since 1979, but if I were to cast a vote today, I'd say Aussies will be clear winners. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, India, England and West Indies... any of them can suddenly rise up and give a tough competition to any other team on any given day. And World Cup is really all about surprises.

I largely agree with Prisitine!

Pak team has a tendency to do well in only one half of the tournament. They build momentum, hit the right spot and then take their foot off the pedal. So, I'm hoping in WC03 they won't get as sound a start as WC99 but will peak near the semis and the finals.