Problem is that GEO and ARY are only available on DISH and not in DirectTV.
Looks like we as a DISH Network Customer are screwed and have to have 2 dishes in patio. Apartment waloon ko eik hazam nahi hoti aab doo doo dishes kasiey hazam hoon gee. 2nd thing is price tag. I am not willing to pay more than 40$ a month for this dish or that dish :(
I already received notice from my apratment office that you already have 2 dishes hanging and you want more dishes.....disho ki baraat nikalni padegi yaar.
*Originally posted by Decent 6Chora: *
Problem is that GEO and ARY are only available on DISH and not in DirectTV.
I am not willing to pay more than 40$ a month for this dish or that dish :(
Here is a breakdown in amounts.
Basic American channels: $24.99 (DirecTv)
Geo+ARY: $25 (Dish)
Access Fee to Dish: $5 (Dish)
Total: $55/mo
You keep Dish for Geo+ARY. Get DirecTv for American channels and they will give you $12.50 credit per month for 12 months for the $150 dish (so the actual dish is free). And you can order cricket at either DirecTv or Dish, and keep your Pakistani channels too.
The only thing is that you will probably end up with 2 or 3 dishes on your rooftop.
after few months someone else will broadcast (comcast or some other suckers) and then we will be screwed again....Preety soon i have to do garage sale for all size dishes...lol
This satellite broadcast war will hurt all this brodcasters. Compitition is sometimes good but accessibility should be considered before obtaining rights. Direct TV has probably < 1% Asian clinets...they want their business without offering indian and pakistani channels....screw them.
*Originally posted by yash09152003: *
without offering indian and pakistani channels
Actually they got a few Indian channels. Perhaps not the channels people want, and they don't have any Pak channels. Plus they don't have cricket rights in India and Pakistan either. So there you go.
No one goes to Dishnetwork for American channels. The mass majority of DISH customers are ethnic origin.
As for Directv, they have the most white audience. Directv offers better programming packages, latest ppv movies, more events, and better equipment.
But they can't expect people to put tons of dishes on your roof, buy equipment, receivers everywhere, and the list goes on.
Directv will do great with the English, Aussie and other cricket fans. They first off had Directv, and will get the cricket they want to see. DISH people in KBS are all desi.
Agree with you. I think Direct TV will not be sucsussful in this venture unless they bring desi channels what Dish Network has in their package. Dish Network offers all american channels what Direct TV offers so for customber it is just a money issue and i am sure to keep clients Dish Network will come up with competitive price packages in near future.
I think this broadcast war will bring more cricket at cheaper price through Dish Network strating in 2005 to keep desi audience with them.....
Simple Rule of Economy: Competition is always good for consumers but mergers are always bad for consumers so let's hope not that one day Direct TV and Dish Network unite with each other and gauge prices.