1- Jimmy Page.
2- Jimmy Hendrix.
3- Marty Friedman. (Formerly of Megadeth. This guy is amazing!!!)
4- Eric Clapton.
5- Joe Satriani.
6- Van Halen.
Cant take much away from Carlos Santana but haven't heard much of his stuff.
I can listen to Jimmy Page and Friedman any time, especially Friedman with his blend of heavy yet melodic riffs and extremely well-played solos, is my favorite.
By the way, dont you think that they should have stopped everyone from making any sort of music ever, after Led Zepplin, Pink Floyd and Black Sabbath had done their thing?
Hmm .. impossible to rank them .. there are so many of them .. and they are good too .. but considerable
G-players missing so far .. my fav.
Stevie Rayvaughn SRV – According to Eric Clapton SRV was the best
Eric Johnson
BB King
Steve Vai
Roger Waters
Stevie Stevenon
Slash
Joe Satriani
Frank Zappa
Tom Morello – Rage Against the Machine .. unique, creative and very distinctive Guitarist
Chris Degarmo and Michael Wilson from Queensryche … excellent G-players .. Operation mindcrime and Empire two of the best Rock Albums around.. Queensryche is known as Heavy Metal Pink Floyd ..
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
Originally posted by AliBeta: East or west Salman Ahmed is the best!
North and South .. Alem-Lohar is the best
Hey one more thing
Tom Morello is really unconventional. I mean the guy makes whole riffs just by moving the pick along the strings rather than playing actual notes.
Slash was specially good during the early nineties when he was really playing such heavenly guitar. Listening to the solos of Sweet Child of Mine makes me wonder what the hell was the guitar god trying to do. Its so damn amazing!!!
I would like to know what do you guys think of Marty Friedman.
Whatsoever I've feared has come to life
Whatsoever I've fought off became my life
Just when everyday seemed to greet me with a smile
Sunspots have faded
And now I'm doing time
Cause I fell on black days
hahaha!
Knew this is gonna be here! waisay yaar rooster that doesnt even rhyme!
Waisay on a serious note! yes Flea from RHCP is a great guitarist. Also the lead guitarist from Pearl jam, cant think of his name right now!
Originally posted by AliBeta: East or west Salman Ahmed is the best!
North and South .. Alem-Lohar is the best
Hey one more thing
Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
** North and South .. Alem-Lohar is the best
well some where i heard hetfield and hemmet(metallica) being ranked on top.i dont see any reason,does any one else here see it that way???
and scratch i am totally in agreement with u ,music is dying after these ppl and its too painfull to see those young girlie boys hopping around the stage with music made on sythesizers and i bet they dont even know what an octave is
hey can one explain to me how u can bend a note an almost full octave??? dave gilmore is recognised for doing that.can any one help.or is that i will learn it when i have been playing guitar for 35 yrs like dave??
Well, Hetfield and Hemmet do figure in all the top 50 guitar greats lists that I have seen. Infact Hemmet ranks quite high. He is pretty good, no doubt about that but theres nothing extraordinary about his style. I think he is one of those guitarists who like to stick to the basics instead of doing very experimental stuff. Did you know that he used to Joe Satriani's student as was Steve Vai? I for one find this very intersting.
Bending though a whole octave?!!!
Can you even do this in standard tuning; that is without breaking you finger or the string? Maximum I can do is one and a half note.
Can you tell me about any specific song where Gilmore has done this kind of thing?
Whatsoever I've feared has come to life
Whatsoever I've fought off became my life
Sunspots have faded
And now I'm doing time
Not only the synthesizer babies, those so-called rock/metal bands like Papa Roach, Stained who use heavy guitars in their songs, just shout about puppy love and about how tough their parents have to them. No music no lyrics total crap!
Whatsoever I’ve feared has come to life
Whatsoever I’ve fought off became my life
Sunspots have faded
And now I’m doing time
ok listen to "Marooned" on DB and u migt notice it there or may be i am wrong and hey i might have the answer for u in a couple of days abt how to get a note to bend a full octave.i am keeping my fingers crossed!!!
take care
allah bailly
If Ur Head Explodes With Dark Forebodings Too
I 'll See U On The Dark Side Of The Moon!!
"koee pyaar karay to **tumsay* karay, tum jaisay ho waisay karay. koee tumko badall ke pyaar karay, wo pyar nahi, wo sawda karay. AUR SAHIBAAN!, pyar main sawda nahi hota.."*
*Originally posted by ComfortablyNumb: *
sallams
ok listen to "Marooned" on DB and u migt notice it there or may be i am wrong and hey i might have the answer for u in a couple of days abt how to get a note to bend a full octave.i am keeping my fingers crossed!!!
take care
Gilmour uses a Digitech Whammy processor for his "full Octave Bends". It's pretty much impossible otherwise.
*Originally posted by Baba G: *
Carlos Santana doesn't belong in a top 10 list .. at least not for guitarists in a lead role.. songwriting maybe.. persistence.. definitely..
Although Santana is not one of my personal favorites. His virtuosity and influence in Blues and Rock music cannot be ignored. Santana is well known in the music community for his lead guitar virtuosity since the late 60's.