Who is Tendulkar? I don’t know, Sharapova

Re: Who is Tendulkar? I don’t know, Sharapova

Which prediction is being made today? Bouncer or google? We were always better at googlies I think.

What about Dravid and ganguly. Dravid is a total gentleman. He would speak up for sure if this happened. You should check out the yt video when a tv show tried making him bakra. They tried getting a journalist and her pretend father to propose to him. He very calmly told her and her father that she is 20 she should focus on her studies and not do this type of nonsense.

It's not about his image, it's about a fellow sportstar is being subjected to worse form of cyber abuse for just not knowing him. It's not fair.

40000 is still a big enough number nonetheless.

This indian paper has an interesting take. Even Dalai Lama settled in India for last 55 years doesn’t know tendulkar is . Not a big deal.

Why only curse Maria Sharapova? Even Dalai Lama didn’t know who is Sachin Tendulkar! - News Oneindia

no one paid attention to my second post yesterday

40K was not the right number........

the number is close to 200K by now.......

First 3 posts on her page alone already have 100K+ comments ...........................................

indians posters then floodded her status updates with schin comments as old as March 2014...........................

My apologies, PD.

to all indian posters......ya all know that i do not get into typical india-pak fights..........many actually label me as an indian agent!

I just reflected upon my a certain trend that I have experienced many times before in my life (outside GS too)..indians getting too nationalistic in any type of debate to the extent you feel they are insecure...they desperately want india to be a bigger player on the world map in the league of super powers (nothing wrong with it and india has undoubtedly established herself on the world map) ......but conveniently ignore many serious problems that India has and if you point out those they get super defensive.

and i already said in my other post that yes i understand 200K posts do not mean 200K posters but you still need a lot of posters to post close to 200K comments in less than 48 hours............there is definitely a very strong trend here worth discussing...

that is all.............................................

now who can get me mango lassi please?..indian mangoes or paki mangoes, it does not matter.....PD does not discriminate when it comes to mangoes and ...

oh well let me just stop here!

It's probably the same people posting again. If they can do 40 000 in 1 day then can do 200 000 as well. If they're just copying and pasting old comments that takes less time. I could do 1000 comments on GS in 1 day especially if each of my posts was a paragraph and I'm just one person.

Let's just say India has a lot of cricket fanatics like sports fanatics in other countries. It's like if someone said something to David beckham Barmey army would go crazy. It's like 40 people burning a cricket effigy doesn't represent a country though damage they do might.

I don't know any Indians around me who even knew much about this or cared. They all tendulkar and would say they are his fans. Fb is not representative as I showed with my earlier example of 1 ban Bollywood in Pakistan page. It's not even the only one.

It's not fair and it's quite wrong. 40 000 or 200 000 comments by people is wrong even if most are just troll comments. There are some abusive or misogynistic comments and that's wrong as well. I don't think it should represent all cricket fans or all tend ulkar fans. He should say something but knowing his nature and knowing this is cyber realistically I don't think he will. Maria is not seeming affected and maybe she has been subject to this before being a female sports star. Let's see what happens. Hopefully the comments won't continue.

So they are copying and pasting old comments to build up the number. How many of the comments are response to those comments and saying it is unacceptable. How many are who is Maria type comments rather than misogynistic and sexist ones. I am sure many of those are the same posters. In any population there's bound to be some crazy ones.

it is OK Jolie....PD is a gentleman and never gets upset

now can you pls fix me a glass of thandiee mango lassie ....... it is getting really hot.....

or does it make me a male chauvinist for making this demand so blatantly to a pretty girl ..........................

I mean i could have asked Uncle southie to fix me a glass of mango lassie....................

i dont know if they are the same posters or not...

but 200K is a big number nonetheless...not to mention wrath at twitter......................

look no one is saying that all 1.2B indians are the same way..... and it is not about 200K or 100K or 40K same posters or not....it is about a behavior by indian fans duly noted by everyone across the globe...everyone felt that this reaction is way overboard...

You have a point, PD.

I'd say to stick to your Southie Uncle and his thandee lassi made out of Indian mangoes, served with heartfelt love.

Acha to that’s why aap ne mujhe indian agent bola tha. It takes one to know one :stuck_out_tongue: jk waise what area of the agency do you work for? I’m in rest and recuperation we look at nice beach holiday destinations for rest and recup.

That’s an interesting trend you’ve noticed and I’m not trying to stop u from noticing tht or posting comments on such articles . All we request of the lovely members here is to say some rather than indian cricket fans etc so it does not seem like all act this way .. Which I’m sure u didn’t intend to make it sound either. I’m well aware there are cricket fanatics in India, many who get easily outraged but in my daily life I’ve not come across such fans. Maybe people I know are moderate . Ive not been here long enough but I’ve not noted many indian nationalists here especially looking at me, Southie, queer , KKF etc

I’ve especially noticed in general/relationships there seems to be trend of strong nationalists of indian and pakistani background living in the US. Not sure what it is..uncertainty of the US, being stereotyped as being brown or call centre worker , 711 owner etc but seems they look back at the place they left decades ago as being perfect when Indians living in india and those recently migrated will say otherwise. There’s lots wrong and the situation at the moment with safety/security is not great. We’ve got a bad reputation and this doesn’t help. Not justifying the actions but trying to understand why people are so nationalist . Obviously the actions are wrong and I condemn it like all common Indians. Like Harsha bogle did. Perhaps you run into the nationalist ones more often and not so much into the saner ones? Also there are sports fanatics in all sports from all countries. If she had said she has known some big English star like beckham or some cricket star I’m sure the barmy army/English fans would have said something. I disagree with what happened.

I’m sure there are a lot of posters commenting on her fb and some spending their whole day doing so. It might not be close to many but I guess it’s worth discussing. Let’s nt generalise all that’s all. Indian papers have written about how silly and stupid these actions are. It’s also embarrassing on a global scale. Reactions to the Sharapova-Tendulkar saga reveal the full extent of human stupidity | Sportskeeda

Anyways I hope it ends soon. :slight_smile: I’m going to wait out this tsunami.

You, Jolie & the others can have a shudh indian mango lassi . Next time u can tell us about the pak pakistani mango lassi. :slight_smile:

But then again if u asked Southie people would say that's not something to ask elders. The young ones should get the lassis.
I like the tareef you give to Jolie. Lekin tareef Urdu ya punjabi zubaan mein zyaada achi Lagti hai. :) creative shayari is like icing on top.

Now all of a sudden I feel like a traitor to my gender in getting that lassi . But I'm kind of like a guest on GS so it ok. Or I could do the desi thing and call u an older bhai that way it's fine.

Anyway enjoy the lassi and I hope Maria's alright.
Now I'm going to go through those 200 000 posts and see how many were repeat posters and how many made sexist comments. Then I will teach them a lesson

you merciless heart-breaker..............

and who wants your Pakistani-british mango lassiee anyway....god knows how will it taste! (yea yea grapes are sour ..you can say all that)

and yes I would go for indian mango lassie..dussehri mangoes of Malihabad next door to Lucknow would do it for me ... shaasaveara can you help this poor soul here?

Like they say sabar Ka phal meetha hota hai :slight_smile: don’t give up PD. Best things/people etc are worth working hard for.

So just for people of forum I went on fb page and trawled through a few 100 maybe 1000 comments before the mindlessness idiocy of it killed me. Some trends
*started off being about sharapova+abuse+ saying sachin a thousand times
*then it started being about abusing indian cricket fans doing the abuse, some saying don’t be a shame to the country, tendulkar doesn’t care
*then foreign non desis commenting on the situation
*then Indians , Pakistanis and others commenting on tendulkar-some saying he is selfish getting a century , losing to Bangladesh. Then others defending him
*then some other desis thanking sharapova for not recognising Sachin saying she won fans. The usual India-pak arguments/fights/gaaliyan like yt on steroids.

• then back to sachin and talking about his records.
  • lot of repeat members
    So all I can say is number of comments on fb doesn’t say much. It shows that there are some crazy indian fans and that desi fans in general need to get more dose of reality. I was going to put in a few comments to make people ashamed of themselves but then I thought it will fall on deaf ears but add to this comment count so I thought otherwise.

Ok now onto mangoes. How obvious would taste of mangoes be in a lassi? Apparently these dussehri mangoes are famous. http://www.hindustantimes.com/brunch/brunch-stories/malihabad-in-the-land-of-famous-dussehri-mangoes/article1-1224666.aspx

Mango drink made of dussehri..unfortunately this katrina video with dussehri was all I could find. That’s my last off topic post.

I'm also a Punjabi and a Lahori, and all I know is that we don't do 'mango lassi', we only gulp down glasses upon glasses of *kachi lassi *after consuming a crate full of mangoes.

The Mango lassi you get in restaurants is vile stuff. Carton mango juice or tinned mango pulp mixed with yoghurt. Yikes.

lol....ok you miss lahorie punjaban!

but yes you are right....this mango lassi never existed in punjab..it is invention of indian and then Pakistani restaurants in europe and usa. punjabis believed in eating a dozen mangoes and then a full balti of kachi lasi...logic being that mangoes are very hot in taseer and kachi lassi will neutralize the effect.

aab katrina jaisee tarahdar hasina jo bee pila day, PD aankhein band karke nosh farma lay ga…