Originally posted by Rebs438:
yes no doubt rafi, but seriously speaking, would you put on a rafi album, or a collection of sonu nigam at his best...what about nusrat fateh ali khan for versatality??
Rafi's Album.
yes no doubt rafi, but seriously speaking, would you put on a rafi album, or a collection of sonu nigam at his best...what about nusrat fateh ali khan for versatality??
Rafi's Album.
Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
** Its called Modesty.
No doubt Noor Jahan was great singer.**
Had Noor jehan said that, u would have jumped out of ur pants... Noor Jehan is 10 times better than Lata... Tell me, does Kajol really look real with Latas (old) voice... Sounds artificial....
Your Lata doesnt even come close to Noor Jehans awesome patriotic war songs, which she had to finalize in a matter of minutes!!!
Modesty, hah!!!
Originally posted by Spock:
** Had Noor jehan said that, u would have jumped out of ur pants... Noor Jehan is 10 times better than Lata... Tell me, does Kajol really look real with Latas (old) voice... Sounds artificial....
Your Lata doesnt even come close to Noor Jehans awesome patriotic war songs, which she had to finalize in a matter of minutes!!!
Modesty, hah!!!**
Dear
LATA even today sings great if she sings of 6 yr old kid..forget about KAJOL..
go listent to song of K3Gs...
and while listining just dont think that 75 yrs old lady is singing..
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited May 20, 2002).]
yeh but c'mon, lets be honest...i'm not denying that Mohd Rafi is great...i just think that Sonujee is not far behind...
Question: How much competition was there in Rafi's time?...there was Kishorejee, Mukesh, and very few others. yet Rafi saheb ruled...
In todays era, we have loads of great singers..Sonu, Kumar Sanu, Udit, Shaan, Kamaal Khaan, Roop Kumar Rathod, Lucky Ali, Hariharan, Abhijeet, Jagjit, Sukhwinder....
the competition has neva been greater...yet still, Sonu Nigam is arguably the best today...
Its true, he himself admits Rafi is greater, but think about it, which self-respecting, modest, humble, and gracious man wouldn't put someone else above himself...
Take tendulkar for example...i bet if he reaches 50 test centuries, and despite everyone finally acknowledging him as the undisputed master batsmen of all time, he'd still maintain that Bradman was better. Its in such people's nature to humble themselves, and if the public are honest in their assessment, this would do nothing to harm their reputation. in fact it would only increase it!
Follow my point?
Its not modesty .. Tendulkar actually surpassed and is best cricketer in the world.. and Sonu is not the best in this age too.. The very comparing of Sonu with such a master is Rafi is laughable.. hes a good singer and I think u like him..its ur choice.. though its believed singers or people from any art are never compared or are not comparable.. Sonu doesnt even ranked in B class singers.. only Rafi and Lata are ranked by all musicians..
Sonu has to go a long way to come anywhere near Rafi.. just getting few hits is not enough.Rafi was there from 1940's to 1980.. sang more than 26,000 songs ..all varying.. from classical, to fast paced, slow and breathtaking whispered..
Sonu nigham is truly the best!!! I used to listen to his songs when no one had ever heard of him.. back in high school… ooohh some 10 years ago!!
Happy songs, love songs, dard bharay songs.. wow he does it for me!!
My chachu says that Sonu copies Rafi’s style.. I dunno about Rafi - he was dead by the time I was old enough to realise his talent..
Udit Narayan is also very good..
But no one for me beats Sonu nigham.. he puts Life into a song!
** Dear
LATA even today sings great if she sings of 6 yr old kid..forget about KAJOL..
go listent to song of K3Gs...
and while listining just dont think that 75 yrs old lady is singing..
Leave it Bro. Noor Jahan was a great singer, So is Lata. Yaar, Yahan to Sab kuch ate ke Taraju me weight kar te hain. Let him win on this one. Okay PAL NOOR JAHAN IS 100 times better than LATA. HAPPY. JAO JASHN MANAO.
I have on record what Noor Jahan, Naushad, Md. Rafi and Ustadd Bade Ghulam Ali Khan has to Say about Lata. I have also
AK
Originally posted by Degas:
Its not modesty .. Tendulkar actually surpassed and is best cricketer in the world.. and Sonu is not the best in this age too.. The very comparing of Sonu with such a master is Rafi is laughable.. hes a good singer and I think u like him..its ur choice.. though its believed singers or people from any art are never compared or are not comparable.. Sonu doesnt even ranked in B class singers.. only Rafi and Lata are ranked by all musicians..
Sonu has to go a long way to come anywhere near Rafi.. just getting few hits is not enough.Rafi was there from 1940's to 1980.. sang more than 26,000 songs ..all varying.. from classical, to fast paced, slow and breathtaking whispered..
i beg to differ...didn't say i like Rafi any less than sonu. i'm just in favour of Sonu being mentioned in the same breath. Put it this way...Sonu has redone many of Rafi's songs...and done a better job...but i doubt very much if Rafi saab could return the compliment...i/e re-do most if not all of Sonu's songs. what i'm saying is Sonu adds another dimeension altogether!! you talk about fast paced,slow-paces, folk, classical....surely Sonu has added these to his ever growing list of accomplishments?
Chalo tum itna peechje pad gaye ho to Tumhari baat man lee !!!
Khush !!!
** i beg to differ...didn't say i like Rafi any less than sonu. i'm just in favour of Sonu being mentioned in the same breath. Put it this way...Sonu has redone many of Rafi's songs...and done a better job...but i doubt very much if Rafi saab could return the compliment...i/e re-do most if not all of Sonu's songs. what i'm saying is Sonu adds another dimeension altogether!! you talk about fast paced,slow-paces, folk, classical....surely Sonu has added these to his ever growing list of accomplishments?
..its ur choice!! but Sonu has to work hard for long time even to come close to other greats like Kishore etc let alone Rafi.. u see after so many years Rafi is still the best selling male singer around the world..
Its easy to re-sing others songs but Sonu can never been able to get the same emotions as Rafi used to put in the songs.. afi has sung some of the most difficult songs in Hindi film music which Sonu can never sing and this he himself admitted..
Sonu is still struggling to be the best of this age and good luck to him..but naming in all time greats is a long way to go..
Mukhesh, Kishore, Rafi.
Hindi Film songs are DEAD after them.
But since singers know best, I would say the one and only Mohammed Rafi.
As accepted by Lata Mangeshkar herself.
She should know what she is talking about.
She said Rafi Saab's "Range" is unmatched!!
Originally posted by Asif_k:
** Leave it Bro. Noor Jahan was a great singer, So is Lata. Yaar, Yahan to Sab kuch ate ke Taraju me weight kar te hain. Let him win on this one. Okay PAL NOOR JAHAN IS 100 times better than LATA. HAPPY. JAO JASHN MANAO.
I have on record what Noor Jahan, Naushad, Md. Rafi and Ustadd Bade Ghulam Ali Khan has to Say about Lata. I have also
Asif_k, Mr. Dil hi Hindustani, your hindu brother andha qanoon here said that no one in the sub continent even came close to Lata, thats why I posted... Aqal ke teekay lagga... Apni Lata daadi ko meray namshkaar dena...
** Asif_k, Mr. Dil hi Hindustani, your hindu brother andha qanoon here said that no one in the sub continent even came close to Lata, thats why I posted... Aqal ke teekay lagga... Apni Lata daadi ko meray namshkaar dena...
Hindu???? so now you are giving certification on Islam...!!!!!!!!
** Hindu???? so now you are giving certification on Islam...!!!!!!!!
Arey try to understand AQ Brahminji LOL - Inko Certificates lene aur dene ki aadat hai na..Inki govt jo inko muslim hone ka certificate deti hai.
AK
Rafi is truly one of the best singers ever, although he was dead way before I was born, but he trully was a great singer. Kumar sanu is one of the best singers at the moment and Udit Narayan is very good aswell. Although I don't understand how you can compare Sonu Nigam with the likes of Rafi and Kumar sanu.
** Hindu???? so now you are giving certification on Islam...!!!!!!!!
ahem... Doesnt asif call you 'boss' and 'brother' (like in the last post)??? Although being an Indian muslim we all know his masters are Brahmins (which hes terming me as, sort of)...
As for the topic, Rafi is a good choice for the king (mehdi hassan, runner up), but queen tu noor jehan hai...
** ahem... Doesnt asif call you 'boss' and 'brother' (like in the last post)??? Although being an Indian muslim we all know his masters are Brahmins (which hes terming me as, sort of)...
As for the topic, Rafi is a good choice for the king (mehdi hassan, runner up), but queen tu noor jehan hai...
Thanks Gor that Certification form you or Gov of pakistan doesnt work with Allah..Otherwise I would be in Jahannum by now !!!
keep giving Certificates you moron.
yaro ShorShaba ko to bakhsh do! our music is just eastern not western.. we have other sections in gupshup to settle score or for certifications..
How dare u talk with ur daddy like that Andha!!! Dhoti tight kar le apni!!! Wesay bhi West Indies ne aaj utaar hi di hai tumhari…
Im preparing ur certificate
Special compliments from the ISI monkey man
Degas, mind na kareeen yara, but he thinks noor jehan doesnt even come close to his Latta daddi…
take care
soory yaar… but i disagree with the emotional bit, as well as your claim that its easy to re-sing songs! to substantiate my point…
please listen to MOHD Rafi vesion of this song…‘Aane se uske aaye bahaar’ …and then the corresponding Sonu version… you’ll wonder why you ever said that
you can find sonu’s version at audiogalaxy…just do a search on mohd rafi…u’ll get it. sonu has much more ‘life’…lets face it, this guy is all about talent.
I have the heart of a child. Its in a jar on my desk.