You or your spouse. Since I have to wear a suit for work,on my days off I like to be a slob. On the other hand my wife always dresses well. I was walking my dog in the morning deep in thought wearing paint stained sweat pants and as I look up I see this shiny luxury SUV driven by a celebrity looking lady with sunglasses, as I focus I go, Oh!! that is my wife, she was going to our rental property to meet with the tenants. She stopped the SUV to hug me and I was embarrassed to be looking like this with her.We normally have the SUV parked and use it for camping or if it snows a lot.
Sometimes when she is not looking I look at her and think why did she marry me?
So who is better looking in your pod you or spouse..or how would you handle it if your spouse was better looking.
That’s sweet. I’ll tell you something. As long as their is some attraction from both sides what a girl really cares about are a man’s qualities. What are we going to do with good looking jerks in the long run for real?! It isn’t all about looks as cliche as that sounds
Thank you, you are right about how you treat a person is more important than how you look. She was telling my assistant at that time that she could have married anyone but she chose me and that makes me so proud. Yesterday was our 20th and she still rocks my world. Despite all our religious and cultural differences.
We really had a great wedding anniversary, both boys are away. I made her steak dinner one day, next day took her to a nice dim sum place and did some shopping for her and then binge watched prison break. Shes lasted 20 yrs with me I will make the rest amazing for her. It was just coincidence that we had only 4 people for our wedding and we ate Chinese then on the 20th only two of us and ate Chinese again, the seafood hot platter was amazing. I think we are going to date regularly now that the kids are more independent. My Kid got her license today at 16.
personally i find this question : “Who is better looking” terrible.
the question seems that one is competing with his/her spouse. i also hate it when people in weddings start comparing the looks of the bride and the groom, who is better looking- the bride is so moti, the groom is very handsome- the bride is pretty, the groom is ugly- how come such a good looking guy is marrying this plain girl- and so on. i mean get a life people.
There is an ideological and a dream world and then there is the real world. Beauty and looks are a very powerful thing. There are people who are over married. These people spending countless hours in the gym and trillions on grooming and beauty products aren’t doing it for helping humanity. There has been research done on that husband of better-looking women treat them better. I had seen this guy who married a woman who thought she is way better looking then her husband and treated him like a dog all his life.
I am from Indian/Turkish background my wife is Kashmiri background. Most people dealing with me don’t recognize me to be of Indian background. Many desis would be talking to me and when I speak in Hindi they get surprised. Just on my days off I am fixing rental properties or my house then I look like a slob.
That’s really cool Bobby Uncle. I say Uncle with respect as u are of older generation to me.
I am also Indian but without a Turkish side. so not as exotic :)All the Indians I have met on GS have been liberal and open minded. Nice combination of you and your wife. Khuda karay aap dono hamesha aise khush aur salamat rahein and we hear about ur 50th anniversary one day on this page.
You are so awesome baita and I wish you all the best also. I think Indians who take care of themselves are exotic. I find the darker complexion more exotic. Sometimes desi people don’t take care of their health and appearance and that becomes a problem. My boys kayak in the sun a lot and they turn dark and my wife gets upset but the girls don’t seem to mind that. Which religious background are you. Couple of my nephews are married to great Hindu girls also.
Thanks for the good wishes. If this American rishta works out I will send u and Aunty an invite to my US wedding. I don’t know many people in the US apart from a few family friends but like you said its good to move out of comfort zone and make new friends.
Haan wo bhi exotic hote hain. I mean you have a unique combination of being Indian/Turkish and Aunty is also unique. Taking care of health and appearance is important not just for others but for ourselves. Something I need to work on because easy for work and other things to get in way of health. I think my skin colour has changed during life especially as someone interested in playing sports. I find girls don’t mind skin colour after all “tall, dark and handsome” guys are seen to be ideal but the fair and lovely obsession is more widespread among females in subcontinent. I hear that from my relatives and family when they say dhoop mein mat jao. Its the old colonial mindset still around. Otherwise if we followed religion many important figures had dark complexion. Examples of the Prophet(PBUH) who were of darker complexion include Umm Ayman, Sa’ad Al-Aswad As-Sulami (RA), Mihja’ bin Salih (RA)and Ammar Bin Yasir. While I am religious I am more a believer in insaniyat than divisions. Good that u have diversity within ur family. My family has similar diversity.
You are so awesome, We would love to come to your wedding baita and we can be your adoptive uncle and aunt. You are such a special person. People raised here aren’t concerned with complexion at all. I am amazed as to how the Europeans merge into oneness, if you look at Canada we were made of all European nationalities and they all merged as just Canadians and this is my goal for my generations to merge into the nation we are in. I haven’t found a better philosophy than humanism to follow.
Thanks Uncle. If it happens u will be first to know here. That’s one thing I like about Caucasians and those raised abroad they are less concerned with what others will say and colour is less issue for them.