Who are Jatts?

??

Re: Who are Jatts?

sometimes i feel that's me grin

Jatts are a tribe amongst Punjabis and are mostly farmers by profession, the Jatts in Indian Punjab are Sikh whilst the Jatts in the Pakistani half of Punjab are Muslim, some are also Hindu.

Not all Punjabis are Jatt though, there are also Rajput, Gujjar, Kami and other Punjabi tribes.

The Jatt tribe like other Punjabi tribes has many sub-tribes or clans, two of which that come to mind are Siyaal and Ranjha, these clan names are used as family names by many Punjabi Jatts, that's why you'll get Indians, Pakistanis, Muslims, Hindus and Sikhs (very rarely because baptised Sikhs replace their family surname with "Singh/Lion" or "Kaur/Princess") with the same surname because they are of the same clan.

Thank you Ch for responding. It seems Jatts were a numerous people in Hindustan. Pashto poet Khushal Khan writes(17the Century), if Jatts had been wise, foreigners wouldn’t have been ruling Hindustan. I have found that Ranjit Singh was a Jatt. And his power base was also in Jatts. Finally, when they woke up, it was too late because now there were more formidable powers vying for control on Hindustan.

they are the majority populations of Punjab and Haryana, as well as significant minority populations in Rajasthan, Kashmir, and Himachal Pradesh.

they are an agrarian people (farmers) with historically martial tendencies.

Yeah in Attock/Mianwali and towards the west of the Abaseen they are known for being quite stupid, a bit like how Pashtuns are perceived by Desi people, at one point I use to think Jatt literally meant “stupid” and was surprised to find some Punjabi people being proud of the label.

HI,

JATT BASICALLY ARE LOW CASTE PEOPLE. THIS IS BEEN MENTIONED IN THE SIKH HISTORY.IF YOU HEAR THE JANAM SAKHI OF GURU NANAK DEV JI, YOU WILL FIND THAT BABA JI FRIEND BHAI BALA JI WAS FROM LOW CASTE FAMILY. BABA JI FATHER PITA KALOO WAS ANGRY WITH HIS SON GURU NANAK THAT HE LIVE ALL DAY WITH THIS GUY AS HE DO NOT WANTED THAT HIS SON HAVE FRIEND LIKE LOW CASTE.

SORRY I AM NOT SAYING THIS THING. THIS HAS BEEN REGISTERED SINCE THE TIME OF GURU NANAK THOUGH GURU NANAK NEVER CARED ABOUT CASTISM. HIS FATHER THAT TIME WAS WORLDLY FATHER, HE COULD NOT UNDERSTAND THAT HIS SON WAS NOT A NORMAL PERSON BUT HE HIMSELF A GOD A EK OM KAR, HE IS THE OWNER OF THE WORLD

THANKING YOU,
UR SINGH

RAJPUT I THINK ARE CORRECT CASTE IN SIKHISM. I DO NOT THINK RAJPUT ONCE WERE JATT. RAJPUT ORIGINALLY ARE RAJPUT.

NO I DO NOT THINK RANJIT SINGH WAS A JATT. THIS IS JUST WRITTEN AFTER TO MAINTAIN THEIR PRESTIGES. SORRY IF SOME ONE WANT TO CORRECT.

BPSINGH PRESS THE CAPSLOCK BUTTON ON YOUR KEYBOARD

Ha! @ sharaabee.

there humans ... hehehe

Are Jutts really all that phadaybaaz type as shown in movies and TV serials? LOL :p

the really loud type

her quaam main achay aur buray hain. yeh sab propaganda hai keh wo ujad huttay hain 21st century main tu aisy batain nahi hooni chahayain

Jattts usually are people who get headache in their kidneys and knee joints.

headache in their kidneys ... wott