White Tuxedos

Re: White Tuxedos

thanks but no thanks.
anyone who thinks white suits on guys are hot* and is also racist... yeah, *real *classy.
i'll pass on the lessons, thanks!

*i think they're cheesy as all hell, but whatever, thats my opinion, you have yours.

to pull this off kind a tuxedos ...one must have good personality........ waisy personally i m not keen of tuxedoss....

well

:phati:

i love white colour it luks very pure when u wear it ,,very neat neaty..

No offense but ur being quite rude, and who are u to teach anyone about class and elegance:snooty: - no need to tear apart someone’s culture, of all places coming onto such a forum and flaming their cultural norms..i think each has their own opinion but no need to disrespect anyone, not polite or elegant at all!

When I talk about Desi clothes for men, I don't just mean the felt Sherwani from Gujji auntie’s corner shop or the Rupali catalogue, they are certainly crap but I mean expensive stuff by the likes of Amir Adnan etc. Stuff I wouldn't wear even if I could afford it.

Men should look like men and women should look like women.. Now, ladies' Desi clothes (other than Sari) are very stylish, sexy and far more elegant than anything from any other part of the world provided they're by Paki designers (and not Indian who lack all sense of class and style and just use a splash of bright colors and glitter hoping it will work like they do with the Kussum Drama set).

You Paki women are all the same, my mom, sister and cousins have very traditional plans for my wedding too but I really hope all these silly traditions and styles die out by then.

ok so not only are you consistently flaming people's opinions, but what is up with your racist attitude toward indians???! i mean, seriously, get over it. if you're such a hardcore pakistani, then you better get with the program and don a frickin' sherwani which is a traditional PAKISTANI outfit for men for weddings, and stand by your bride in a red gharara, which again, is traditional for PAKISTANI brides regardless of where the culture originated from. ugh.

There is no such thing as any one "traditional Pakistani". Pakistan is home to five different cultures/ethnicities.

In my culture brides never wore red, they wore green and men never wore Sherwanis... But I'm not even a fan of what they did traditionally wear, cultures evolve, clothing is universal property and we should discard unaesthetic attire, of course taste is subjective and I'm not foricing anyone to conform to my opinions, I'm just expressing my opinions and hoping you Pakis will have some sense and stop giving your countrymen a bad image.

Our affiliation with Pak or our ethncity is a lot deeper than what we wear, it is beyond superficial things like clothing, these things don't define your nationality, your beliefs, loyalties and sense of belonging define who you are, clothing is universal and everyone should just adopt what takes their fancy, "national costume", "national chuddi", "national this", "national that" is so stupid and superficial.. A person who wears a Sherwani and a Guineapig cap is no more a Paki than somebody wearing a suit, infact Maulana Azad wore a Sherwani but he licked the rear ends of our enemies the Hindus/Indians.

Don't you Bollywood freaks tell me about Pakistaniyat, I would give my life for Pakistan, whilst you morons are that obsessed with being like Indians you don't even see the differences (political, religious) between them and us anymore, you believe in the "Desi" farce and you're lecturing me on Pakistaniyat.

You're that obsessed with Indians that they can say the vilest things about your Faith and Nation, they attack the chastity of Paki/Muslim girls but you carry on loving them in the name of Desi brotherhood.

I've no shame in admitting I hate Indians (except for Muslim ones even though they're loyal tot heir Hindu masters), they are our enemies, they want what is rightfully ours (Kashmir), they killed our Jawans, we are enemies.. Kabhi billi choohey ki dost huwi hai?

I wish Pakis would get out of the "Miraasi" mentality, life isn't just about naach gaana..

2 Likes

holyy yahaan to india aur pakistan ke jung chal rahi haii :nono:

i call for PEACE :rule:

u expect us to believe that? clearly u are not a year older than 12 :hehe:

clothing is universal, generally speaking, but certain clothes define where you are from- and one way, and a very important way, of expressing your identity, is through your clothes. The Nazi's used armbands over clothing to identify the Jewish people, Chairman Mao imposed a national uniform on every person- man, woman or child- during the Communist era, even now when someone wears jeans and a tank top in Karachi it raises eyebrows because its NOT Pakistani dress and isn't culturally acceptable.

you say you're all about pakistan, but pakistani national dress is not a white tux- its a shalwar kameez for men and women. white tuxes are as far from our culture as you can get, and the representation of all that is "West", and since Indians, whom you love to hate, have adopted the West so readily, in this context, you can argue that in fact, you also love what the Indians love. surely that grates on your soul?

as for your racism towards Indians, the constant need for hate and revenge for destruction must be exhausting. i feel sorry for you.

Sherwanis look deliciously dignified. I love them. :love:

The white tuxedos are good too, but not everyone can pull them off. And you can’t pretend that some of them don’t look feminine.

Pakistanis should keep international sensibilities in mind when dressing as not to portray a negative image of their nation and to appeal to all cultures.

Darker suits/tuxedos are nicer than lighter ones but both look better than Sherwanis.

Sherwanis and Suits/Tuxedos are equally as Pakistani/Foreign as each other. Sherwanis originated in Iran and the traditional Iranian ones or the type our Paki bureaucracy support are quite masculine but the girly Indianised ones are very untasteful, ungraceful and undignified.

let's see, the pathans wear shalwar kameez, the punjabis wear shalwar kameez, the balochis wear shalwar kameez, and sindhis wear shalwar kameez, and the kashmiris wear shalwar kameez. i've seen this personally, in case you wish to refute that point with me.

your own culture wears something that is just a bit different from what the majority of pakistanis wear. if you wish to adopt the western ideals in clothing, more power to you. but that gives you no right to belittle or call something unesthetic just because it doesn't bode well with you. to another person, a green bridal dress could seem absolutely horrendous, but you don't see anyone calling it such. wear a white tux at your wedding, at coattails and a top hat and a stick with it all you want, and hope you get to wear it some other day :)

2 Likes

Calm down my dear, LOL @ the coattails, top hat and stick, you’re funny. :hehe:

I love winding you girls up, I don’t know why you’re getting so offended though, I’m no outsider, I’m a Paki too.

Shalwar-Kameez is the most common form of dress in our country but SK and Sherwani are completely different things.

I’m not a fan of men’s SK either though, it’s just so untidy and uncomfortable (I throw them in the trash every time Ammi buys them for me), cultures should evolve, the other day whilst shopping I saw the perfect clothes for Pakistani climate/economy (a simple linen shirt/kurti/kaftan with matching linen drawstring pants/pajama), it’s more comfortable (no unnecessary flaps), economical (less fabric, no buttons/zips) and smarter. What’s more the local village Darzi/Tailor could sew it with ease, it goes nice with Chappal/Sandals and it appeals to international sensibilities. It should replace the outdated SK.

I know it’s a hot country so it’s cool and the ppl can’t afford expensive stuff so it’s economical and can be made of the same fabrics already used only in lesser quantity.

a culture that evolves is not a culture anymore. it loses its identity and becomes another culture with a brand new identity.

that stuff that you just mentioned, guess what, it comes from the Asian subcontinent :) it's just modified a bit. that's all. shalwar kameez is hell of economical, and goes perfect with the climate, and is darn easy to make.

blahh i'll just keep my other opinions to myself now :) best of luck with you mother and sisters.

All cultures evolve darling, it's just lifestyle, it's not a religion for.. sake.

Where do you think we got Shalwar Kameez from? Afghan Buddhists! We got Sherwani from Iranians! Sari is an Indian invention.

Just like Punjabis stopped wearing Dhoti for something better we can leave SK now for something better.

Look at the Greeks they were a great civlisation like Paki ethnicities too but you don't see them wearing those tights and shirt (that looks a lot like the shirt worn in a lot of Pashtun areas) anymore but they haven't lost their identity.

ancient greeks mostly roamed around naked. men atleast. greek culture had been influenced heavily by the invading muslims who ruled that area until their liberation. as an act to get back what they were before they rejected and got rid of pretty much everything that was their old culture. now all they have is food and old buildings. have you heard their music? if you can't tell the difference between greek (modern greek) and arabic, you would swear that it's arabic music that's playing.

a lot of punjabis still wear dhotis. go to lahore, or go to a pind, you will see a lot of men wearing dhotis. it's cute, it's part of the culture, and it's better than rejecting that or shalwar kameez for tight jeans that aren't even comfortable in the kind of weather that much of punjab experiences.

afghan buddhists? where are you getting that information from?

besides weren't you previously saying that sherwanis are just indian culture seeping into the pakistani culture and therefore we should leave them for white tux which are just part of another culture? aren't you basically saying that leave one part of someone else's culture and adopt another part of something totally different?

sherwanis are so much part of pakistan and it's culture that you will be hard pressed to find it anywhere else. same for shalwar kameez, and for those that have sari as part of their tradition. if we look good in them, why throw it away for something that is absolutely not suitable to us?

forget the white tux and black sherwanis.. i think i'm in love with khumar all over again ...

runs before he can be witnessed snooping around in life3 with this nick