white sauce

recipe of white sauce please and how it taste..?i never tried

Re: white sauce

I just made white sauce with noodles last night, so you have caught me on a good day. For a basic white sauce, all you need to do is fry a few tablespoons of white flour in a few tablespoons of butter, and fry it till it turns into a smooth paste. At this point, you can add spices according to taste, and then add a cup of milk, and mix slowly and gradually as it cooks. Reduce the milk as much as you want the thickness of the sauce to be.
I know this is pretty basic, but I will come back with more complex recipes later, as its almost time for iftar.

sf of k how it taste???white sauce ka taste hota kaisa hai acha ,bohat acha...i never tried..yeh na ho i,ll make aur i will not like it aur phekna pare

Well, I love white sauce so it always tastes great to me:D

Depends on how you want it to. Because sometimes, I just make a very basic white sauce, with just butter, plain flour (1-2 tablespoons) and milk, and season it with salt and black pepper.

Mostly though I also put in some lemon rind in the milk, a pinch of nutmeg powder, half a teaspoon or so of garam masala, and salt and black pepper of course. plus you could add one small onion too. I also put in 1-2 bay leaves. And since I like mine to be a bit 'thinner', I add 2 cups of milk or more, if using two tablespoons of plain flour. This sauce I normally pour over the white fish fillets and bake the fish for 30 minutes or so at 200 celsius. While you cook the butter and the flour together, you can also add a tablespoon or so of mustard paste. It gives a nice kick to the sauce.

For making it more creamy, you can add cream, cheese etc after you have turned the stove off. I normally add one tin of cream and a little parmesan cheese (about one tablespoon or so) at this stage. Anyway, I experiment and improvise a lot with my white sauce. I throw in whatever is available, even a teaspoon of qasoori methi. So feel free to experiment as much as you want:)

if you are talking about texture, it's creamy and rich. I don't know how else to describe it. Perhaps CB can help you more.

^ I add half-and-half, chicken stock and melted chedder, roasted garlic...Turns-out yummy!

Sounds yummy too. In only put in chicken stock once. I would more often if it is readily available. Otherwise I go with whatever is close at hand.

why bother making one when you can buy a good quality sauce in the super market?

Er...because you cannot customize the store one? I normally avoid readmade stuff because it's not that healthy. Plus I cannot adjust the seasonings according to my taste. Don't know about Suhaina though.

achchhaa jii...par ham roz to yeh sab nahiiN khaate to kabhii kabhaar ke liye unhealthy bhii chal jaataa hai :D at least, i don't care hehe :)

^To each his own then:) Actually I use white sauce quite often, plus I am very conscious about what I am putting in. A bit fussy about my food actually, so yeah I don't mind making it each time. Plus it really is quite simple.