white channy ka salaN (CHICK PEAS)

I desperately need the recipe (restaurant style)
if anyone has it. Thanks in advance.

Okay Sajal Ji... here is wut i found.. I hope its good enuff... :)

1 large onion, chopped coarsely
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 tsp. garam masala
3 1/2 cups chickpeas soaked
juice of 1/2 lemon
3 Tbsp. tomato paste
2 tsp. peanut butter

Saute onion and garlic in nonstick pot until slightly browned. Add Garam Masala and cook about 30 seconds, or until spices start to give off wonderful smells and turn slightly brown. Add chick peas WITH HALF THEIR LIQUID. Add lemon juice and tomato paste. Cook about 10 minutes, to let chickpeas heat through. Stir in peanut butter and cook a few minutes more. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve over rice.

Thanks Aleezay
I will try it one of these days and let u know.

ps. i wonder why peanut butter is used.

Re: white channy ka salaN (CHICK PEAS)

ALL THAT IS FINE FOR TASTE BUT :yummy:

{{Some plus points for the “Desi” label …
Found something interesting about Chana Daal on this site
(Chana Dal) and wanted to share. It is supposed
to have one of the lowest indexes of any food on the glycemic index – great
news for diabetics or those who might have a pre-disposition for it. From
what I have heard recently – diabetes is growing among Indians living in
the US. We are definitely going to add more of this Daal to our diet …
even tho it would probably never come anything close to my Ma’s special
Chholar Daal!
Anyway, what’s more itneresting to me is that while I always found Desi
Chana to be tastier than the Kabuli Chana – never would have guessed that
Chana Dal (comes from Desi Chana) has a lower glycemic index than the Kabuli
Chana (Garbanzo Bean)!}}

Not to bore you in your enjoyment of palatable delicious chick pea Chole Bature or Bhel …i just got that in my e-mail & i couldnt resist the coincidence of you talking of chana at the same time …you know 'kala chana as oppoed to the "white " chana …You found me finally :dixsi:

For kala chana i suiggest u add speghetti sauce to it..
ek dafa dali thi kalay chanay mai speghetti sauce...
bohat acha bana tha. Leking only that one time.

*Originally posted by SAJAL: *
Thanks Aleezay
I will try it one of these days and let u know.
ps. i wonder why peanut butter is used.

I wonder y too .. but then it sure atleast sounds intresting.. might hav a unique taste cos of this! :)

peanut butter sounds interesting but i have to tell you .... if you just sute the onions and and add some ginger garlic paste( 1 tsp each) and regular salt, red chillies and a bit of haldi ...... and then the secret masala... the achar gosht masala...... and saute for a few minutes... add the grams....... and add a little water... Punjabi perfect...(rather lahori perrfect).

If you don't have achar masala.. add real achar ... but keep the salt low earlier than.

Thanks gooni...
I have done experiments with achar before.
like when i didn't have achar gosht masala... i would use
real achaar instead. Not only in gosht but also in daals etc.

I am defenitely gonna experiment with peanut butter this time.

Sajal, recently ake new recipe try ki hay Qk America main chanaey zara diffrent flavor k bntay hain tou kisi nay yoon bannay ko bola,lakin tabahi falavour hay,especially Pooriyan, Pathooray,and Parathaa,k saath.

soak the chanaey over night thoura saa baking sodaa daal ker(soak karnay say pahlay chanaey 2 yaa 3 baar dhou lo taa k cook kartay waqt dhouna na paraey

phir issko enough namak and water daal ker boil ker lo,

pan main thoura saa oil daal ker halki aanch pay garam karo,Fresh sookha dhaniya, 1 tb,sabut safaid zeera 1 tb coffee grinder main halka saa grind karo and crush pepper as u like 1 ts haldi daal ker oil main bhoonou ,5 minut k ander iskay ander ay khushboo anaa shuroo hou jaey gi,phir ublay hoeay chanay daal dou,
or thouri dair dam pay rakh lo,

for best taste chanaey itnay pakayo k sabut chana nazer na aey:)or always serve with sliced and marinated onion with achhar :yummy:

SAJAL: when ur finished can you send some to my place! I just love white channey :yummy: :smiley:

I've never heard of putting peanut butter in salans before. i wonder what it will taste like?

So has anyone ever tried peanut butter in the salan actually or is this just a receipe from the web?
Pure peanut butter is salty so I think it will blend in with the salan and should thicken it up too. Wase if my channa salan is too thin and I do not have time to cook it for long, I sometimes add some leftover dal masoor in it. Makes it thick n tasty :yumyum:

I'd be interested to know if the peanut butter works too actually, sounds very interesting.

ok ppl i am gonna try this peanut butter thingy in a day or tow.
I will let u know how it turns out.

Nescio
what's ur address?

Ps:
i am getting good at this cooking thingy.

Oh Sajal we are SO proud of you :bravo:

ok ppl i am gonna try this peanut butter thingy in a day or tow.
I will let u know how it turns out.

Nescio
what's ur address?

Ps:

thnx lekin khayaal rakhye ga ke bheijte bheijte kharaab hi na ho jaaein underway .................

Ps:

I wish I could say the same!

hey SAJAL kisi ko batanay kee zaroorat naheen hae :biggrin:

par if u use the SHAAN MASALA for chana aalo (maybe its called lahori chanay or something..but its got picture of chanay and aaloo on the packet) the taste is EXACTLY like bazaar walay aalo cholay…

g’luck :k: