I’m planning to do my Master in Network/Information Security. I had started digging out the universities offering this course. Initially, there weren’t many Uni’s offering a Master in this field but now after like 4-5 months there are 3-4 Uni’s on the list. Now the thing is that I’m confused, I don’t know which Uni. to choose for my degree. I’m looking for something more practical/hands-on rather than compiling Security Policies. Here’s the list of options that I have, You may suggest other reputed universities offering a Master in Network/Information Security:
Royal Holloway, University of London - #22
Liverpool John Moore University - 48
University of Bradford - #63
University of Glamorgan - #67
Glassgow Caledonian University - #83
University of Westminster - 85
APU (Anglia Polytechnic University) - #88
Coventry University - #91 (new entry)
*The ranking were captured from THE TIME UNIVERSITY RANKING 2004
And obviously, the top ranked Uni. also leads in terms of the most expensive one.
Royal Holloway, Glamorgan and Glassgow Caledonian offer more practical courses where as the curriculum of Westminster focuses more towards writing Security Policies (which is what I don’t want). G.Caledonian is a CISCO partner, as they include portions of CCSP and Wireless cert. which is good in my opinion. Bradford also seems a better option but I’m not sure if their courses are practical (even though I went through their course listing)
All I want is someone to guide me … to help me decide which university I should join. I’m looking forward to join the Jan/Feb batch … so I’m short of time
I spent a whole day searching for Uni’s offering this course and I found like 5-6 of them. I searched www.prospects.ac.uk … its a very good site in my opinion … the results very very good. And yes, I want to specialize in Info. Sec.
Why do you recommend Bradford? Do you have any experience re:this Uni. Royal Holloway is way too expensive yaar … it 12,000 punds a year … anywayz … thanks for your help :biggthumb .. atleast someone replied
The course Bradford or Westminster offers are not what I'm looking for. Bradford's courses are more focused towards programming and stuff whereas Westminster's course is more focused towards information policy making. I'm looking for a course which focuses on Network Security (secure implementation of Firewall / IDS etc) + O.S hardening/exploitation/exploration and policy making. So far, only Glasgow Caledonian has such a course outline ...
*sigh
[EDIT] Nopes, neither Sussex nor UMIST offer such a course :(
I’m at the school of informatics at the University of Bradford and it’s a well cheap place to live. Plenty of desi people about and plenty of good cheap grub.
I wouldn't know what Unis are good for the specific program, but just wanted to reiterate what Fraudia has said... now that you have a year before you really have to join a program, think about whether such a narrow focus would do you good in the long run.
With a very technical domain, you're always risking obsolescence in 5 (10 if lucky) years time. When it comes to very hard-core technical stuff, that's what industry endorsed certifications are for... you keep upgrading yourself as technology changes... if I get certified in Checkpoint Firewall-1, or Cisco IDS, in two years time if my company wants to implement Firewall-GX or Cisco PIX, I can go for training and get certified in that...
The pros: Lesser Time involved, Lesser Cost, More Focused, More Timely and hence more opportunities for growth.
With a graduate level education, you want to make sure you're marketable as a "Professional" who has a broad understanding of a particular subject domain.
Sorry for having told you what you already might have known, but just thought I'd throw it your way.
I know where you are comin from … and I agree with you. But I am of hope that inshallah with this cert I should be able to get a good job and after … I don’t care what happens … you know, to me, Security is a passion. If I’m at a news site or a linux site or any tech site for that matter, I’ll pounce on the Security link … I’m a bit paraniod about this subject and now I’m also scared - what if this turns out to be a bad joke :(… all thanks to you Doc … no I’m just j/k. My elder sis also highlighted the disadvantages of specialization … *sigh. Kya karoun mai phir
Yaar... you can still be passionate without getting a Masters in the subject...
Consider this portfolio:
1) M.Sc. Information Technology Management (a broad, yet "widely" applicable degree)
PLUS
2)CISSP Certification (the most widely accepted, industry endorsed, well respected designation anyone can get on the basis of practical work experience)
PLUS
3) A technical certification in your technology of choice, say Cisco PIX or CheckPoint.
How's that??
I bet this sort of portfolio will not only land you a good job, but also pave a long-term career in technology management through (1), a recognition for your expertise in security management through (2) and the flexibility to keep upgrading yourself through (3).
Waisey btw, have you done any work in security at the management level? I'm writing a book chapter on Cost/Benefit Analysis of Security Technologies, and wouldn't mind talking to you if you have experience.
2)CISSP Certification (the most widely accepted, industry endorsed, well respected designation anyone can get on the basis of practical work experience)
PLUS
yes it's really good,
last day I attended ISSA seminar on Information security you can get more information about issa certifications from www.issa.org
it's tests are conducted in dubai twice a year, and about 450$ test fee.
there are only 6 issa CISSP certified ppl in pakistan.
I don't know much about the course you are looking for. However from the list you provided Bradford is the university with the best reputation. It is a proper university and not a mickey mouse outfit like all the others (ex polytechnics/further education colleges). So on that basis I would choose Bradford- it will help you get a job !!
yes it's really good,
last day I attended ISSA seminar on Information security you can get more information about issa certifications from www.issa.org
it's tests are conducted in dubai twice a year, and about 450$ test fee.
there are only 6 issa CISSP certified ppl in pakistan.
Is it not possible to sit for the CISSP via the VUE testing centers? does issa have their own testing methods and facilitators?