which one is weirder...

Re: which one is weirder...

When Allah says dont do something, you dont do it and that is the reason. Although theres nothing wrong with getting knowledgeable about the subject but you shouldn't question why Allah made certain things haram and certain things halal.

LB, alcohol reduces inhibition so that people who are "good", god-fearing people can find themselves doing things that are wrong when they partake.

Many people can go out and have a beer or a mixed drink or two and behave like civilized people. But there are also many who do not know when to stop and things can very quickly get out of hand. Better for the good of everyone to ban it completely?

Personally, I think the jury is out on that one. Yes, it can be an evil. BUT most especially in places where it is banned. In these places, you see parties that serve alcohol and things just go on till the partakers either pass out stone cold or puke their guts out. In places where it is NOT banned, people go out and have "one or two", have a nice time and go home like gentlemen and ladies.

Generally Speaking
Phat, yes, there IS that reason but like I said before.....its himan nature to want to know WHY.

When I was a little kid, the WORST thing my parents could ever tell me was "because I SAID so". I always wanted the WHY. Most people do, and when they understand, its easier to accept and do.

Lb, To my knowledge, Alcohol wasn't banned in the beginning of Islam, Only when some of the Sahaba would come up drunk to the masjid, and sometimes missing prayers and stuff, was the ayaa nazaaled about Alcohol...Rest Mamaof 3 has done a good job in explaining....
Again I always believe that Islam is a logical way of Life....not the "I said SO" kinda religion...we just need to understand it more..."...

Re: which one is weirder…

Just a couple of clarifications…

Yul Brynner died in 1985 of Lung Cancer. He made a number of commercial TV ads just prior to his death to encourage people to quit smoking.

As far as cows and whether or not they eat dung, well I didnt go googling that but can tell you firsthand, I’ve seen it. I love farms, love animals but they ARE dirty creatures and they DO INDEED eat dung!!!

It seems like the two things your comparing are marrying cousins or eating pork. So my answer is that eating pork is something I will always find more awkward (not that I'll ever do it, inshAllah) and there is nothing wrong with marrying your cousin. I don't care with what ways they come up with cooking it etc. If Allah has forbidden it, then it is haraam and that's that.

i just dont understand there r so many intelligent ppl here willing to just cop out by saying ..if allah said it so it is......
allah has given u brain to think and seek for the answers for watever ur brain encounters with.......islam is a religion which defends its teaching by providing solid evidence........... not just cuz allah said it....
if allah would have commended us to hate ur parents.....wat wud u have done ...hmmm hated ur parents just cuz he said it..... that is just lame.....
the way i see things is there is nuthing wrong for seeking information........

SubhaanAllah, the answer to "why" is "why". Yes, let's take thing from Islam that please our nafs and argue on those which do not please our nafs.

@muali...everything has an extent

What's the point of bringing these questions at the first place, i don't get it. Do we not believe in Allah, His beloved messenger(SAW) and His divine book? and in the same book He said do not eat pork, then why, why in the world do i need stupid logical explaination and reasons of pork being banned. Sometime, when my head is totally empty and thinking about random stuff, it even makes me think that does Allah exist and then right away i get the answer as "yes" from my heart. It's my heart that gets melted when i hear Quran not my stupid brain which wants logical explainations for everything. It's faith that i have and once i submitted myself to Almighty Lord, Allah Subhaanhu Wa Ta'ala, the ONE who knows what i'm doing, the ONE who hears my prayers, the ONE who loves me, i do not need shatani ideas to reject His love. By asking the same questions over and over again, we're ultimatley asking Allah Ta'ala that why do You love us and why did You make us muslims. Yes, indeed every matter in Islam has a logical explaination but there's an extent to everything. We always should ask ourselves why do we believe in Allah and since He is Mighty Lord, i must obey Him and do whatever He ordered me to do. What can i do if He takes my eyes away today? Questioning His rules and thinking that they should have been like this instead of what they are. Do we know more than Him? For God's sake stop doubting your beautiful deen and it's rules, it's shatan who makes you think that something is wrong with Allah's rules defined for us because of this and that etc. etc.

I would end this with this aya'h:

2:108 Would ye question your Messenger as Moses was questioned of old? but whoever changeth from Faith to Unbelief, Hath strayed without doubt from the even way.

Ok...so my brain tells me that it's haraam because Allah says so. It's something that was said directly, therefore it's just because Allah said so. The way I look at it is that even if I could come up with 100 logical/scientific/etc reasons why one should not eat pork, and then someone turned around and gave me 101 reasons (logical or whatever else you want to call them) why one should eat pork, I would still consider it haraam and would avoid it. I wouldn't even eat chicken, beef, lamb etc. unless the meat is halaal.

Does anyone of you think that Science is at the stage that scientist know it all, How many theories are proven wrong. Remember 30 years ago they were saying that mothers milk is not that good and everyone turned to Powdered milk and NOW every one is adviced to go back to OLD practice. Not only that the whole Europe and other westren countries are turning back to BIO products WHY???

In modern age new scientific research proves all those Old theories wrong.

Dill key Behlaney ko Ghalib Khyail Acha Hai.

one is halal and the other is haram....what does akwardness have to do with this? the era that we live in doesnt change commands given by Allah SWT.

even today research shows that the consumption of pork is unhealthy.

Re: which one is weirder…

:k: Perfect response to the original question.

In my opinion people who are good within still remain good. Or in other words the bad person already has these bad ideas in there minds and alcohol just brings it out. So who's to be blamed the people who are bad inside or the alcohol?

So applying your reasoning. Some people are bad drivers and dangerous to the health and safety of the other, should we blame the cars and stop driving?

I just want to say one thing responsible people know there responsibilities.

I am sure there are lot of closet drinkers on GS I just have one thing to say, If your religion asks and you believe in it do not drink period. If you still do please please do not drink and drive.

Look I am not trying to glorify alcohol. As I said earlier in my post if the religion asks and you want to follow; fine. But don't try to make alcohol a monster, just like any other product when you over indulge in anything, something is bound to go wrong.