Which is considered to be Islamic dress? Turban or Scarf?

Assalam O Aalaikom everybody,

How are you? Some Muslim Imams wear turban and some scarf. Which one did our Prophet Hadrat Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) use to wear? The below link are pictures of two different types of wear.

http://www.ocolly.okstate.edu/issues…IN%20LADEN.jpg

http://www.topics-mag.com/internatl/…s/SAUDDRM2.JPG

Which one is the Sunnah?

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

Re: Which is considered to be Islamic dress? Turban or Scarf?

May anyone teach me how to view a picture here since I did not want to paste a link.

The latter is more cultural, the former is more islamic.

Jazakallah Khair brother. Appreciated to read your replies. You are the best person. Just a question, what did Hadrat Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) use to wear since Hadrat Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) was Arab? I want to wear the our Prophet used to wear.

The Prophet's headdress, called Imamah, looked more like what the dude in the first picture is wearing.

He wore a black colored one, the entire peice of cloth wrapped up around his head, when going for Jihad.

He wore white and sometimes even a green colored one, when not goin for Jihad. Sometime's he'd leave some cloth hanging from his turban from the middle of the back of his head. Scholars say that the hanging cloth shouldn't be more than an arm's length.

Well first one is Yamni dress as His mother is Yamni. And He belongs to Sayyedna Umer :razi: and Sayyedah Umme Kulsoom’s :razi: family (daughter of Sayyedna Ali :razi: and Sayyedah Fatimah :razi: )

Sayyedna Muhammad :saw: liked Yaman so much as he said in his hadeeth," Mujhay Yaman say khushboo aati hai."

Second one is Arabic dress. May be Sayyedna Muhammad :saw: used to wear this dress.

According to sunnah and shariyah, both are Islamic dresses. Because both cover Sattar for males.

Prophet SAW did own a lower garment which was "like" pants. I believe there is no record if he wore it but he definitely owned it. I do not have the sources.

why is it a pic of Osama u pasted? thats wat i wanna kno

There is no islamic dress. There are guidelines of sattar, rest is all cultural.

Good one, Thanks.

As salam o alaikum

This thread is a classic example of how we have convoluted our religious practices with cultural extravaganza today. Islam simply states the requirements for a covering which we call dress. Any dress can be made to satisfy these requirements. There is no such thing as Islamic dress, just etiquettes of dressing in Islam. It does not matter what cultural dress you wear, it is acceptable in Islam if it conforms with the dressing etiquette described in Islam.

The differentiation of turban vs scarf vs dhoti kind of arguments and preferences have engulfed todays muslims so much that they waste time on such trivial matters. It is good to know your limits when dressing but remember Shaitan is ever there to distract. When he see's he cannot get you to dress un-Islamically he will play with your priorities as you can see in this discussion. Br.s and Sr.s, open your eyes and realize these things. JAK. Shukriya.

Assalam O Aalaikom legally_desi,

How are you? Since I could not search the picture of Turban through google.com easily and then Ossama Bin Laden's picture was found first and hence I posted his picture and if I could find other's picture, then I would sure do that. He was just an example of wearing Turban. Please answer my question. Why would you ask that question? Any special about him?

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

salam
Br thanks for sharing good information but here i have doubt on using Black and more sure about green.

wassalam

Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds; and may His blessings and peace be upon our Prophet Muhammad and upon all his Family and Companions.
**It is well established that the Prophet (peace be upon him) used to wear a turban, as in the Hadith in which Muslim reported Amr Ibn Huraith as having said: I saw the Prophet (peace be upon him) on the pulpit wearing a black turban, the tail of which let loose between his shoulders. **
Scholars declared that wearing a turban is a Sunnah tradition [following the practice of the Prophet (Sallallahu Alaihi wa Sallam)], and that uncovering the head while performing prayers or any other time is allowed. The prayers performed by someone without a turban covering his head are valid.
They stated that covering the head with a turban or its like during prayers is recommended and likable for whoever takes it as a matter of good appearance and elegant attire. This is in view of Allah’s Saying: {O Children of Adam! Look to your adornment at every place of worship.}[7:31].
In Asia, as it is noticeable, lots of Muslims are in the habit of covering their heads, which is a practice worth maintaining while performing prayers.

Dr. Abdullaah Faqih

This is fatwa is from a different link
http://www.islam-qa.com/special/index.php?ref=2436&subsite=14&ln=eng