Which dress is from which side of the family

Hi, could someone please tell me which dress for each of the days comes from which side of the family (brides or grooms side). For example who gives the dress for the nikkah, can the girl choose her own dress for the nikkah??, which dress comes from the dulha’s side of the family as well and for which day. I am very confused because some people have different ideas on this. Also for the nikkah if your having it on the same day as the baraat, do you have to have a different dress for the baraat because I have heard of people buying a dress for the baraat, is that the same dress they wear for the nikkah if its on the same day?
waiting for your reply’s

Thanks!

Re: Which dress is from which side of the family

Isnt the nikkah or baraat outfit from the inlaws and the reception/valima is from ur rents.... I donno how it is if u have ur nikka before do u get two outfits from the inlaws or do u get to pick outfits for boths days.. cuz if thats the case that wud be awesome! lol

Mostly, hte baraat/nikaah (if they are on same day) outfit is from the girls' side and the valima outfit comes from the guys' side.

I've heard of the nikaah (if its separate from baraat/rukhsati) and engagement outfits coming from in laws... Karachi walay also buy teh wedding dress for the new bahu.

Depends on where you are from. TRADITIONALLY in my family (Karachi based, ancestry from India) the groom's side gives the barat and valima outfit for the bride. I've heard that in Punjabi families, the barat dress comes from the bride's side and the valima dress comes from the groom's side. Personally, I feel the Punjabi way makes a lot of sense. But I did it the traditional way in our family. My clothes were a total surprise.

Why is it like that?

^ Desis are crazy :D

In our family both dresses comes from groom's side.

both of my dresses plus the jewelry for nikah came from my husband's side.

I had my nikah a few months before the rukhsati and my dress came from the inlaws. For the rukhsati function, i made baraat day dress and the inlaws brought mehendi and valima clothes. Like mentioned before, this is what punjabis do.

for me, my parents bought my clothes just because the hubs is non-pakistani and giving clothes is not in their culture. for my best friend who is desi (karachi, originally from india) and who married a desi too, only her engagement outfit/ewellery for the day were a surprise from her in-laws. her mehendi and shaadi outfits as well as her jaheyz outfits, they gave her money for and she had them made herself, and she also had matching jewellery made that they also paid for.

when my brother gets married, my mom will most likely give a few clothes to match the jewellery that she'll give to her daughter in law, and then will give her money to buy the rest of her jaheyz, and her own mehendi/shaadi/valima outfits as she pleases along with the jewellery for those.

If i ever have a son (and therefore a daughter in law) inshallah, i’ll choose her outfits. :dixsi:

^ muahahahaha! evil! :P

hey i have good taste.. :AID:

^^^
yeh, i think u do hav good taste sara516, but its very hard to please a daughter-in-law, as no matter how much we think we kno wats in and wat looks good, times change, tastes and trends change and each person is an individual wid individual taste - u never kno it may work out jus fine but it all depends on the kind of girl your son-to-be ends up wid... lol..

Anyway, us guys beleive dat for d wedding day/s (nikah/baraat/registration) the girl's side buys her outfit/accessories and the guy buys his own - dat way they get to have completely their own choice of stuff and eeryones kind of happy... whereas on d walima usually (traditionally) the girl's side purchase d groom's outfit and d boy's side purchases d bride's outfit / accessories... but nowadays daughter-in-laws get a lot of choice as they tend to shop with their in-laws, tell them what they want or are given the money in hand to but whatever they want.. so it works out well dat way...

we're punjabi and the nikah outfit is usually provided by the brides side so she gets to choose, and the valima outfit and mehndi outfit are usually done by the groom's side. but what i've seen done lately is that the groom's side will provide the funds for the valima outfit and the girl selects her own choice thats even better! I've even seen a case where the groom's side pays for the bari and the girl makes it herself. So she does her own jahez and bari.

so has that happened to anyone where they found the jorays and jewelry given from the guy's side to be a hideous surprise ?...sounds kind of funny but i was wondering lol

According to customs today, the mehndi and mayun outfits as well as baarat/nikkah outfit are provided by the in-laws and the valima jora is given by the girls side =)

I wud advise all those girls out there abt to get married is try and go with u're fiancee or mother in-law to select u're stuff as its YOU that wud be wearing them! Choose wisely the colors that suit you and those that YOU like and let them pay for it. This way you wudn't be faced with scary surprises on u're wedding day.

erm in us its always been the baraat outfit is given by ur parents n valima outfit by in laws makes more sense coz u leave ur house wearin ur own clothes n on d valima wear their clothes hahaha

In pashtun culture, the grooms side buy the barat and walima outfit and jewellery with the brides side paying for the brides mehndi outfit and the grooms wedding day outfit. That's what it's like traditionally although nowadays things can a little more flexible.