Where were you last Ramadan?

Last year’s Ramadan, i had a small (but to me, important) set of objectives i wanted to reach. It’s been a year since then, so it’s given me some time for retrospection. More than half of the objectives, i don’t think i have achieved. The others - i think i am getting there Insha’Allah, by Allah’s Will. But the last ones are in the minority group.

So i’m really concerned that i’m going to waste this Ramadan and not make as full use of it as i should… i know one of my objectives will be - spending time on Gupshup has got to be reduced during Ramadan at least. i want to read a bit of the Quran each night… go to the musallah close to my home for Taraweeh prayers. (i know i can pray it at home but when i’m with others in a group, it feels ‘better’, maybe because i get strength from seeing the numbers of people all doing the same thing). Is anyone else worried that they’re going to be stuck in the same position they were in, during last year’s Ramadan? Why does it feel like i am not more knowledgeable about Islam, about Arabic, than last year? What can i do to not waste the precious weeks coming ahead (spending less time on Gupshup is one of them!)? How can i make this Ramadan spiritually more fulfilling? My biggest worry right now is that i’m just going to waste the next several weeks.

dont worry sister....
we all go thru the same process....
when ramadan comes, we all plan for the best way to 'utilize' ramadan but most of us fail even in keeping up with the schedule of ramadan after the first few days....
there was a period in my life when ramadan meant reading the Quran and finishing it atleat 3 times....
which meant lots of time reading Quran (after sehri, after zuhar, after asar, at night)....
and lots of nafal prayer in the nights (increased to much greater proportions during the last ten nights)....

but somehow all that seems to be getting lost....
i get lesser time for Quran (mostly cuz now i dont 'just' read and sometimes i spend more than a day on just one verse trying to dig out the meanings/tafseer of it)....
up till last year work in the morning (8 - 2 during ramadan) and evenings busy with iftaar and taraweeh (4:45 - 8) and than night time university (8 - 11:30) meant i got very less time for Quran or prayers....

i hope now that my study thing is done and life more arranged (after marriage) i might be abel to get back to the previous effort....

and lets hope i dont get my books out that i havent yet read (king of the castle, forgotten truth, slef disclosure of god etc) all so tempting once u get ur hands on them....

Nadia, you’re not alone. I’ve been thinking about Ramzan as well. Granted I don’t keep each and every roza but I try to be more introspective and spiritual during this holy month. Last year, I wasn’t as busy with life as I am this year. My MBA classes this semester are extremely tough and require alot of studying and memorization. Work is hectic as ever. I’m afraid if I’m not careful to be mindful enough, Ramzan will fly by just like any other month. However, I hope to make a concerted effort to ensure that I am once again a little bit more spiritual than before. In addition, there are things I want to “talk” to God about, favors I want to ask him, and to ask why certain things are happening in my life when they should/shouldn’t be. I hope God gives me the strength to put stuff into perspective for myself.

:flower2:

:frowning: At least you had a time in your life where you finished the Quran thrice during Ramadan. i can’t even say that about myself.

Sweetpie, Thanks :flower1: i understand perfectly. i would like to be one of those people who remembers God not just when i need something, if you know what i mean. i just want to be a better Muslim you know, and Ramadan is the best month to try this type of jihad. i just don’t want, 30 days from Ramadan, to be thinking - what the heck did i do with all that time? Where did the weeks go? i usually keep most of my fasts Masha’Allah, i have since i was young even. i’m not worried about that. Laykin it’s the deepening of the imaan i am worried about. And the praying… finishing the Quran (with understanding). Who of us knows where we will be next Ramadan (or even if we’ll be alive). i know what you mean about re-arranging timing and all that, it’s at the top of my mind as well.

:flower1: Insha’Allah.

The blessed month is always heavy for me…

Every year Ramadan rolls around Allah knows what happens…It’s like someone placed a huge boulder on my back…Not physically but mentally…

It’s hard to explain but Ramadan changes me and it makes me very sad…I can sense it and I have a feeling others sense it too…

As for last Ramadan, I was in the States…And incidentally last Ramadan was one which was wasn’t so heavy as the ones before…

Anyways, I pray Allah :swt: makes this Ramadan change me for the better…Ameen…

hmmm last year was a special Ramzan for me :) I had to thank Allah Mian for giving my mama a new life.. my bro changed dramatically as well.. Alhamdulillah... and basically it was a very thankful month

I manged to offer about 20 taraweeh namaz at the local masjid as well.. i dont usually do that and i know females dont have to go.. they can pray at home.. but it made a lot of difference, mentally and spiritually by just being there.. it was nice.. and i think my bro and i became a bit closer as well :) i didnt get to finish the Quran though :( Inshallah this year it may be different..

this year.. my family is going to pakistan to have Eid.. whereas im gonna be stuck here. But i think its a good thing.. its gonna help me sort out a lot of issues..

I personally believe Ramzan is a month of forgiveness, learning and happiness... a lot of good things happen during this month. It brings family and friends together... it makes muslims unite.. its just a very peaceful time... :)

Assalam Alaikum!

I have had very good experiances in Ramadhan which I wanted to share. Alhamdulilah, my life gets organized in Ramadhan. I wonder how, but even my studies become better, maybe because i concentrate more. By the Grace of Allah, last year I was able to offer tarawih everyday and in the last 3-4 days, qiam al-lail. This year, however, I have a very difficult set of courses. May Allah give me the energy to spend Ramadhan in the best possible way.

The Ramadhan in Pakistan used to be just so good. I really miss that atmosphere.

Last Ramazan

Aftar Parties on weekends

Aftaries at Work (evening shifts)

Rice in Sehrie with milk , salan and sweet eggs

Prayers catched most of them

Quran a little bit

Eid prayers Just in time

Eid days as usually spend sleeping

:hug:

yaar…Allah looks at the niyat :slight_smile: its most important

just be sincere in your intention and try to do whatever you can :k:

may your aims comes true inshallah .. :slight_smile:

and Allah mujh nikammi ko bhee tofeeq de :smack2:

wow. Masha’Allah most of the replies seem to show people who have so much peace in their lives when Ramadan rolls around. i hope that continues for all of you Insha’Allah.

Ameen.

Sadzzz, Last year’s Ramadan does sound like it was extremely special for your family :flower1:
i wish i shared your opinion that this is a month for “happiness”. i don’t know for me, it really scares me sometimes. Not to say that i ‘dread’ it, not at all; on the contrary, i can’t wait for it. It’s just kai, i feel at times, actually 90% of the time, that i’m not doing enough. i KNOW i am not doing enough. That’s the scary part. When i remember that Allah is always Forgiving and Merciful, then that helps.

Ameen.

Yes, the atmosphere is completely different.

Kewlsolara, Those are my biggest worries… not finishing the Quran and not keeping up with my prayers.

Irem :hug: Thank you :hug:

Insha’Allah. Thank you :flower1:

Array… tum aur nikammi? Aisa bilkul nahin ho sakta. You’re a very intelligent and gifted person Masha’Allah, i mean that :hug: :flower1:
i pray we all get what we need this Ramadan.

Re: Where were you last Ramadan?

bhut khoshi howi aap sab kay khiylaat sun kar....

ALLAH aap sub ko bhut khush rakhay....(amen)

Mashallah......

This seems so trivial but I also enjoy the aftari gatherings during Ramzan. We’re already booked for aftar dinner parties every weekend during Ramzan and Ramzan hasn’t even started yet. I fast on the weekends since I don’t have work and classes, and so it feels nice to break my roza among family and friends.

:flower2:

For most of us our lives and its trivialities are far more important than going hungry for a few hours. Work, school, family and the likes of it. I've tried to look at the bigger picture, telling the Almighty each year "hey, i've got my reasons but they are worldly, will you forgive me if I don't keep an obligatory fast?" With that in mind, Alhamdullilah I've been on track keeping all of my fasts and prayers regularly. It makes it a lot easier with the community we have in Toronto where restaurants (yes! even non muslim) recognize us observing fasts and offer food once time comes around.

Some may argue that Aytaykaaf (solitude for the last 10 days of ramadan) is suppose to have absolutely no contact from the outer world. I can't afford to do that, instead I've kept them 3-4 Ramadan's while going to school/work and coming back to the mosque. Its fun, we barely sleep, yet we're not tired. We barely eat, yet we're not hungry. There is so much barakah, so much food, so much peace, it breaks you down to realize how miniscule and heck of a lot important your role is in this world. How many sins, how many deeds, how much have you done, is it enough, is it forgiven, What lies beyond....

I don't mean to knock Taraweeh's but there is too much haste, everyone is rushing out the door to go back home. Even the imam's recitation is too fast to the point where you can't understand what he's saying!

During Sahoor or Aftar time, its a few of us guys who serve food to the bachelors coming in from work and the rest of the people who are in Aytaykaaf. Everyone fills their plates, no one sees to it that the women section is properly nourished. No one bothers to help the elderly man who can't get up to feed himself. So self consumed... I wonder if anyone thinks before eating how people around the world must be famished while we're enjoying the luxuries. Blessings rather! We truely lose sight and take it all for granted. It truely is a jungle... this world.

The best part begins and absolutely adore is the time we spend in Qayam-ul-Lail from 1:30 AM onwards to Fajr reciting the Glorious Quran in unity shoulder to shoulder. Every rakah is a blessing, heh cuz everyones knees crack during prostration because standing for over 30 minutes does lock 'em up. Mind you at this time comes in Shaikh Saeed who is a sheppard among his people. People literally flock to him for his devotion, advice and beautiful clear voice. He isn't backward either! condemning the "devil's box" as other imam's refer to the t.v. By culture, an egyptian but by heart and mind he relates to everyone regardless of your background. I love the fact that he doesn't emphasize culture or mix the sects. Those who have challenged him he has sternly yet skillfully put to rest. A great scholar and a dying breed amongst the preachers of hypocritcal sins. His teachings of culture within Islam is enough rather than refering to pakistani, afghan, syrian or any other roots. Thats why you'll see me knocking culture most don't appreciate, rather they don't have a clue of where I come from.

Aah, yes ramadan! I've tried to keep the level of piety static through out, alas it is always fluctuating even in Ramadan.

For the few moments that we stand in prayer beside one another. We are all one regardless of colour, wealth and health Once prayer is over, it desiminates, the segregation begins along with critical analysis of sorts where everyone goes back to their own little corner according to what they're nationality is; my objective, however ridiculous or small it may seem is to mix with everyone. Desis or not. Creating a melting pot culture where we all can relate on some common ground other than religion rather than just identifying ourselves as desis (now you know why I knock culture so much).

Its a hard struggle and a trecherous battle to come. We're so weak within categorizing, segregating, marginalizing, objectifying that we lose sight of the bigger picture. They're winning and we're walking over each other. Whats it going to take before its too late? Whats its going to take before someone hears these voices? When will everyone so self consumed in their life start to realize that someone that is not related to them but shares a common bond of humanity and faith needs help and maybe it can be reciprocated. Wake up, I say to myself every ramadan, wake up and stop sinking into this pit of filth. These constant thoughts jumbled run through my head. Business plans for the benefit of our community, our elders our livelihood rush through mile a minute. Contemplation of the smallest action and reaction, even if it is a gesture or handshake is thought about. Its probably over analysis but there is no harm while in solitude.

All I can say is that these thoughts and actions are overwhelming. Maybe its a lost cause, a lost thought, a lost battle, a baseless struggle but its mine and I'm trying....hope He sees that in my intention even though the unforgiving and relentless world doesn't!

In a nutshell, thats what I do every Ramadan spreading it out through the year as much as I can.

CocoNut,

i almost had tears in my eyes while coming to the end of that. i don't know what's 'appropriate' to say after something like that.

It felt like i was, at times, reading my self. i understand so much of what you mean (or at least i think i do). You seem to have a tendency to always look beyond the superficial layers, at something deeper.

As Irem stated, Allah is more concerned with your intention, your niyat. Apna niyat saaf rakhna. Try not to worry about how it turns out at the end, as long as your intention is pure - i think that's what matters most.

That was extremely beautiful and eloquent. i wish you contributed more in the Religion Forum. We need people who are capable/willing to think in such a balanced manner.

Thank you for sharing that. Means so much to me.

i pray we ALL find what we need this Ramadan Insha'Allah.

Excellent. This is what we plan for our 8-year daughter as well, this year. Last year she managed 5 rozas. This year she plans to do all weekends and jumma tul wida.

Good advance planning :k: Although, it would be nicer, if more thought had gone into arranging for taraweeh prayers (which are a gift of Ramadhan) and less into dinner parties. This kinda spins the purpose of Ramadhan on its head. Might as well start planning for Eid ka jora right now too.

:hehe: @ Faisal

The 8-yr old example was a bit too much, but chalta hay. :smiley:

i’ll remember last Ramadan for one reason…i was going for Taraveeh Prayers from my dorm…and justabout half a mile before i realized that there was something wrong with my car breaks…decided to pull over…pressed on breaks…and padel went all the way down but breaks were not applied completley …i pumped the breaks used hand breaks…and car slowly stopped…when i checked the rooter of the rear passeneger side was almost gone…it was just minutes b4 i would have hit I-65… and allah knows what would have happen…

The only reason i think i got out of situation safly was coz i was going for taraveeh prayers..

…i missed the rest of Taraveeh prayers and even the Eid Prayer…couldnot get to get my car fixed on time…(students can guess why…:teary3: