Where to start?

Apologies if this is a stupid question. I’ve just started to plan my wedding (which will inshallah be in March/April next year) and I am completely stuck. It seems like there are so many things I need to consider, everyone I’ve talked to has given me conflicting advice. I’d just like to know if anyone had any wedding planning tips, or a list of everything I need to think about? What do I prioritise? If you’re married, when did you start looking for possible outfits, what type of research did you do? Did you take family/friends/in laws with you? Who planned what?

I have had one shopping trip to Bradford already, to look at some possible lengha’s, but I’m wary that I need to be making a decision in the next few weeks so I can give enough time to get things ordered. Has anyone had any experience with Bombay Stores or Maharani’s? I’m not a girly girl, hate the thought of being the centre of attention but am starting to panic I will end up something really garish and OTT!

Any advice appreciated! :slight_smile:

Re: Where to start?

Start a budget plan for sure if you haven't already. you can aslo keep it as a checklist and keep track of everything you have or still need. I've started mine using martha stewart's planning tools. her wedding website is amazing for budget and guestlists! you can also use excel spreadsheets as it gets closer to really figuring out how much you'll need to dish out for small details here and there (centerpieces, stationary, dhol, etc).

can you give me the link?

here you go! http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/planning-tools

You need to have your bridal in your hands at least a month before your event and that is stretching it IMHO.

What have you done so far and what is left? Have your venues/catering already been finalized? Those two things are usually the first on the list to knock off.

Usually, girls will pick a theme or a set of colors to work around and then plan the rest of the event...like stage decor, linen, centerpieces, etc.

ok lets start!

Greetings
I want to introduce myself.
Cyprus Trust
Cyprus International Trusts are governed by the International Trusts Law, 1992 which regulates the establishment and administration of International Trusts.In conjunction with tax planning and business structure may result beneficial to wealthy individuals and their families or even entrepreneurs.M. KORELIS & CO LLC is a Cyprus law firm specialising in corporate, banking and commercial law with the capability of providing a full range of legal services delivered at utmost standards to clients throughout the globe, either through its attorneys and legal consultants, or through its network of professional law representatives worldwide.
Cyprus and the European Union
Cyprus formally acceded to the European Union on 1 May 2004 and has entered the European Exchange Mechanism on 1 January 2008 as a first step towards the adoption of the Euro as its official currency.
Being a Member State, Cyprus adhered to the acquis communauttaire which has given rise to new challenges and opportunities in the business world in Cyprus. Moreover, a number of new funding opportunities became available aiming mainly to support the development of business activities in areas such as manufacturing, agriculture and agro-tourism.

I understand what your feeling, I'm getting married in July 2011 and I feel so lost. First know where and when the wedding will take place. Thats the main thing and after that inshallah everything will fall into place. Start with the bigger things like your dress and make-up/jewlery stuff. You'll feel a lot better once you know it's all taken care of and then you can start with the little details. I hope it goes well for you, and do what feels right to you. Don't get lost with everyone's oppinions and choices, unless you trust their taste. (lol just something I am personally struggling with)
anyways, goodluck and dont stress

Hi, im also getting married in April 2011............

I have selected my lehnga and upto 12 dresses as per after wedding requirement............ Also along then some matching bangles, sandles and selective jewellry as well...........

I will suggest u to take ur mother / sisters / friends with u twice or thrice a market to get the clear vision about the updated fashion n also keeping in view the selection of colors (as per ur hubby n ur choice)..............

Dnt go for heavy dresses (after wedding) work should b light n beautiful..... but i also depends how ur hubby wants to see u............
Selection of matching bangles and jewellries all require detail time n struggle and market survey but it will be better if u concentrate on ur n ur hubby choices :)

Good Luck.......

The other thing is...I just remembered this...everyone WILL give you conflicting advice. Because we all have our own way of doing things.

Keep your mom and only one other person in mind who will actually have any influence in your decisions...everyone else will offer their input because they want to see you happy. However, they might not know what is going on behind the scenes so listen, thank them but only do what you have decided with your parents/mom/sister/etc.

Also, make sure your after shaadi outfits arent too heavy...make them versatile so you can dress them up or down with jewelry.

As for being center of attention.......................enjoy it. This is the only time you get to be selfish and not be considered selfish. :)

I've dug out my wedding planning spreadsheet - my super organised sister put it together and we started off by putting cost estimates in for everything, then adding actual costs into a separate column.

Venue
catering
catering extras
wedding dvd
wedding photography
decorations for venue
centre pieces
invitations
brides wedding outfit
plus underskirt & postage
groom wedding outfit
wedding favours
wedding cars
entertainment
wedding album
bride's hair & makeup inc trial
bride's mehndi artist
bride's Jewellery

You'll prob have your own things to add as per your own family traditions, but it's a starting point for you!

First off ---> BREATHE!!!! Take it one day at a time and one THING at a time or else you are going to feel way too overwhelmed... trust me as I know because i am now planning my wedding which will occur in less than a years time. Eek. It is easy to freak out. But remaining calm and level headed is the best way to go about everything.

As someone mentioned - do not get TOO many people's opinions ... bc yes... they will conflict since no one thinks exactly the same. In my situation, I am letting the majority of my shaadli planning getting done by my mother. When she wants my opinion, I give it to her - otherwise she is in charge. She has great taste, I trust her, she knows the budget better than I do , and what mother doesn't want the best for her daughter acha? As for the Walima - BEST piece of advice I can give you is to let them do things their way.... the lest conflict ...the less drama... the better. It's their day.. let them relish in it... and you take a seat back and enjoy spending time with your luved ones.

Even if they do make you end up wearing something that you think is garish or OTT. If your fiance can not help you out in this matter.. just let it be. Focus on your baraat dress and make that exactly how you want to be.

And yes - do not make it too heavy or anything... no need to look like a walking gold shop. Us south asian brides tend to over kill it... but less is more. Let your real beauty shine that day and feel comfortable in your own skin. It will show in your pictures and you WILL look and FEEL like the bride. :)

So yea - basically I have let my mom become in charge of baraat reception- and she asks for my input all the time or opinion and I give it to her.

I have the same mentality with my in laws.. let them do thigns their way.. if they want my input... i will give it to them.

With Baraat- my mother and I first finalized a venue... aka ...finalized a DATE. We negotiated with the hotel to get us the most we could in what we were paying them for. This took a month ... its unbelievable how much ppl are ready to throw you under the bus or try to take advantage of you. Gotta be smart and go in there with smart questions, good negotiation skills, and a lot of knowledge about how things work in regards to booking weddings beforehand.

After venue was finalized - my mom and I did the math and figured out that Desi food was actually a cheaper option...so we did the research and found the place we want our food catered from.

My mom let me choose photography and cinematographer - after being on this site for a year now and being obsessed with watching video links.. i ended up choosing ABCI and am pleased with my decision.

I chose which friends I wanted to be my bridesmaids. I then chose the sari that they will be wearing.

My mom and I have figured out how we want the nikkah to be and how we want my enterance to be... along with the appropriate songs played. Also rukhsati song is decided.

I decided not to have a mehndi - to save on costs. I do not want to be a burden on my parents... and I rather have a nice elegant shaadi than a million random events that we are stressed about in regards to planning. Planning just one event is just fine with me.

Another thing we have also arranged is having the brunch for out of town guests the morning following hte shaadi - negotiated with the same hotel ppl.

Other than this, I am still figuring out what I will wear. My mom is going to Pakistan soon and she is going to bring back my jewlery and bring back mabey like 3 heavy outfits and like 5 formal outfits. No casual outfits since i never wear them here in the US. I do not want too many things as fashions change too fast.... and again. Do not want to be a burden on my parents.

I have specifically asked for NO Jahaiz.

And yea... other than that. Not much else :) lol. All of this was done long distance as my mother and i live in different states... but we still managed and I am sure inshAllah will continue to manage.

But I have noticed - the less you stress...easier things seem. We still have alot to figure out... stage, decor, favors, rasms, grooms cloths, my families clothing, etc. But just know in the back of your midn that everything will fall into place inshAllah.

Hi Please Visit this http://weddingpakistani.com. This site is solution for all wedding problems. It really help me. you can download free wedding checklist and note down very useful tips.

Hi everyone, thanks for all the responses and advice and sorry for the late reply. The tips were really useful- especially the sound of the spreadsheet with cost estimates! I’ll definitely set one of those up.
I’ve been shopping around and finally think I have a good idea of what colours and styles I like the look of. I’ve also started on planning what to buy for after the wedding. I need to find a good seamstress and also work out just how much “matchy matchy” stuff I need to buy like jewellery, shoes, bags etc. Is it better to stick to similar colours, or go for different colours/styles?
Unfortunately things like venues/catering/dates haven’t been finalised. There’s been a lot of illness in the family recently, and things at the moment are very up in the air. We’d decided between the two families that things would be finalised as soon as possible so it feels very frustrating to be in the limbo type situation. Not really sure what I can do except wait! :(

hey grlz....hop u oll r doin well

m gettin married in feb INSHALLAH jus read that all above ....vry useful no doubt...n punjabi roze i must say u seem a vry sughar girl MASHALAh....best ov luk 2 oll ov u :D