Where can I get Halal Gelatin from?

I live in Chicago…does anyone know where I can buy halal gelatin from? Which brands carry halal gelatin?

Re: Where can I get Halal Gelatin from?

no reply???? :( please someone help me out!!!

How about Kosher Gelatin?

My cousin lives in Chicago and I know she's found it at speciality stores.

^^does kosher gelatin contain animal bones? thanks.

Okay scratch that. A little bit of google-ing says that Kosher gelatin is animal derived.

Try "agar agar" which is plant based substitute for gelatin. You can find it at Asian speciality stores. It's called Kanten in Japanese.

Rehan brand from any desi store in Devon or in suburbs...

Halal gelitin from the desi store.

went to devon today and looked around in alot of stores but none was carrying gelatin...:( I'll try to find agar agar in chinese shops here. If anyone else knows a store here that sells gelatin please post. thanks.

agar agar,,,yeh tou chinese aur desi stores mai bohat milta hai,,agar agar jis say app desert bhee banatay hain white color ka ,,uS KO FALOODA bhee kehtay hain,,u just cook agar agar in milk and sugar aur phir fridge mai rakh dayin,,

Wht is gelatine used for :konfused:

gelatine is used in alot of stuff such as cheesecake, decoration/frostings on cakes, and yogurt desserts....it's used as a food thickener in many recipes.

Has anyone substituted agar agar for gelatine in any of the desserts I mentioned above?

You can use China Grass available in chineese stores, which is also known as "agar agar". It is derived from vegetables.

CA -

Now I have to know. What are u making?

A lot of pakistani/ indian stores dont sell them but chinese/japanses stores do and infact many of the major supermarkets ave started selling halal geletin

Assalam O Alaikum

Halal gelatin is not reliable but you can use fish gelatin which is Halal, it is not available in retail stores but have to buy a case from a company in Florida. Please further Contact Br. Mateen saheb at Halalco.com.

Kosher gelatin is not Halal, it is reported under Ingredients section our website www.muslimconsumergroup.com

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed

A lot of kosher gelatin is also from fish (it usually specifies).

Sehar,

I'm planning to make a pineapple cream cake for my hubby's birthday and I need gelatin for cake decoration.