where are so called mullahs

Pornographic explosion

In the past few years severe damage has been done to the moral fabric of our nation in general and our youth in particular. Our society is traditionally rooted in Islamic values such as respect for women, as we see them as mothers, sisters, daughters and wives.

The spread of Internet cafes and easy accessibility of youngsters to pornographic sites featuring women as an entertainment product has led to a debasement of our younger generation.

Accessing pornography has never been easier. VCDs with sexually explicit contents are common in the market, cable television has enhanced exposure by showing a variety of movies of varied contents, if not sexually explicit.

The combination of cable television, Internet and VCDs is a temptation far too great for even mature people.

The higher authorities concerned are requested to take remedial measures before a whole generation is destroyed because of our negligence.

I recommend the following measures:

1. To ensure state censorship of pornographic sites on the Internet by forcing the Internet service providers to install surfwatch, surfnanny or other such programmes that filter these sites before providing them to the population in general.

2. To eradicate VCDs that feature sexually explicit contents by conducting random raids on shops which distribute movies.

3. To set up public complaint offices where offenders can be reported and action taken against individuals on provision of evidence.

4. To set up a department to educate youngsters about the harmful influences of such practices.

5. To force the cable operators to remove channels featuring sexual contents and also to block programmes featuring nudity or semi-nudity.

DR TARIQ SULTAN TANAULI

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/cowas.htm

Karachi Our hirsute holy brigade, who kill, maim and bully in the name of ‘honour’, continue to get away with murder and with acid-chucking, and with stripping women naked and parading them through town centres without one gallant man coming forward to help, to cover, and escort the victims safely back home

What exactly do you mean by the topic?

Bro bro! Never has changed occurred in the masses due to the crack down of the authorities or the imposing of strict regulations overnight. It is a way to stop a few but not a long term solution. Pornographic material will always be availabe as will red light districts, as will drugs as will domestic violence.

The change will only come if people are conditioned through education, through media and through communities of people in cities and villages. Before we go to the solution it is imporant to look at the heart of the matter.

There is increasing accessability to porn and prostitution due to major distribution networks through hardcopy and electronic means. But there would not be an increasing supply if there wasn't an increasing demand. Bare in mind that there is always a demand for these things in any society, the matter is stopping it from increasing and even reducing it.

Why would young men want access to these materials or services?

• Sexual frustration, not having the means to marry early

• Teenagers exploring

• Lack of hijab, again leading to frustration, eg in the markets

• Lack of lowering the gaze culture

• Desensitised to non-hijab on tv and advertisements, movies

• Marital problems in the home

• A culture of looking down upon polygamy as an evil whereas Islam has proposed it as a solution to a social problem (not entirely from a sexual point of view).

• Young people frustrated due to lack of job opportunities and a lot of spare time on their hands.

In my opinion, one could have a long term solution by addressing the following:

• Creating a culture in society to marry early, perhaps this will take a generation or two to snap out of that gari, bangla, job mentality.

• Giving teenagers the right education, ie telling the harmful effects of pornography and illicit sex in schools, in the mosques and in the homes.

• Creating a culture of lowering the gaze in society, especially on the streets and markets and maintaining segregation in social functions, schools etc, be it not to the extent of niqaab as it may be too abrupt to impose it.

• Cutting off channels that are explicit but also women making a stand on television to wear hijaab etc on advertisements. One problem is hollywood and bollywood movies, hard way to get around it, tv does sensor several scenes but the whole conditioning of the people is effected. This is a tough one, perhaps if Pakistan's own film industry changed itself to provide quality entertainment instead.

• Education young men and women about polygamy to prevent ill practice that causes a lot of domestic and marital problems. Again addressed through educating in schools, mosques and homes.

• This last one is by far the most difficult. It links in with the socio and economic condition of our nation. Lack of jobs for young graduates, lack of organised activities for young adults are a major problem in our society today. The government should concentrate on creating more jobs and reducing the rich poor divide that exists today. THis as we know takes time is a somewhat idealistic point of view. Nevertheless the government, let alone communities and educators can change the condition or mind set of this large group in our population. You and I know that Pakistanis do really well when they work abroad. They have a mission, a goal, to succeed personally to suppor their family etc. They do well. In Pakistan, the lack of opportunity and deterrents cause complacency and helplessness that has left our young nation without a goal, a mission. If I were to ask any leader of Pakistan, what is the vision of Muslims in Pakistan in 10 years time, in 50 years time, in 100 years time? Frankly, the common enemy doesn't motivate our youngsters anymore to work for the country, it only goes so far. Providing a goal for our younger people to strive towards and removing obstacles is the only way forward. A goal that will benefit the region, benefit ourselves, our neighbours and most of all Islam. Pakistan as a nation should look at its strenghts, its weaknesses, its opportunities and its threats and come up with a vision for itself and its people. If our goal is to be the leading Muslim nation in the world then so be it, get the machinery ticking and lets see what happens. Lets not follow anymore models, its time to innovate and not immitate.

What do you think?

IMO too much censorship only leads to a black market for prohibited items. Teenagers being curious about sex is not a problem by itself but if they are restricted at every turn - what they can read, what they can watch, how they should not look at / talk to girls etc - then they'll simply do it when they cannot be caught.

Better would be to make sure a harmonious and interesting social setting free of moralistic tension, religious obsession and a thrust to economic development through variety in education. Just my 2 cents worth.

*Originally posted by mushi: *
Bro bro! Never has changed occurred in the masses due to the crack down of the authorities or the imposing of strict regulations overnight. It is a way to stop a few but not a long term solution. Pornographic material will always be availabe as will red light districts, as will drugs as will domestic violence.

The change will only come if people are conditioned through education, through media and through communities of people in cities and villages. Before we go to the solution it is imporant to look at the heart of the matter.

There is increasing accessability to porn and prostitution due to major distribution networks through hardcopy and electronic means. But there would not be an increasing supply if there wasn't an increasing demand. Bare in mind that there is always a demand for these things in any society, the matter is stopping it from increasing and even reducing it.

Why would young men want access to these materials or services?

• Sexual frustration, not having the means to marry early

• Teenagers exploring

• Lack of hijab, again leading to frustration, eg in the markets

• Desensitised to non-hijab on tv and advertisements, movies

• Marital problems in the home

• A culture of looking down upon polygamy as an evil whereas Islam has proposed it as a solution to a social problem (not entirely from a sexual point of view).

• Young people frustrated due to lack of job opportunities and a lot of spare time on their hands.

In my opinion, one could have a long term solution by addressing the following:

• Creating a culture in society to marry early, perhaps this will take a generation or two to snap out of that gari, bangla, job mentality.

• Giving teenagers the right education, ie telling the harmful effects of pornography and illicit sex in schools, in the mosques and in the homes.

• Creating a culture of lowering the gaze in society, especially on the streets and markets and maintaining segregation in social functions, schools etc, be it not to the extent of niqaab as it may be too abrupt to impose it.

• Cutting off channels that are explicit but also women making a stand on television to wear hijaab etc on advertisements. One problem is hollywood and bollywood movies, hard way to get around it, tv does sensor several scenes but the whole conditioning of the people is effected. This is a tough one, perhaps if Pakistan's own film industry changed itself to provide quality entertainment instead.

• Education young men and women about polygamy to prevent ill practice that causes a lot of domestic and marital problems. Again addressed through educating in schools, mosques and homes.

• This last one is by far the most difficult. It links in with the socio and economic condition of our nation. Lack of jobs for young graduates, lack of organised activities for young adults are a major problem in our society today. The government should concentrate on creating more jobs and reducing the rich poor divide that exists today. THis as we know takes time is a somewhat idealistic point of view. Nevertheless the government, let alone communities and educators can change the condition or mind set of this large group in our population. You and I know that Pakistanis do really well when they work abroad. They have a mission, a goal, to succeed personally to suppor their family etc. They do well. In Pakistan, the lack of opportunity and deterrents cause complacency and helplessness that has left our young nation without a goal, a mission. If I were to ask any leader of Pakistan, what is the vision of Muslims in Pakistan in 10 years time, in 50 years time, in 100 years time? Frankly, the common enemy doesn't motivate our youngsters anymore to work for the country, it only goes so far. Providing a goal for our younger people to strive towards and removing obstacles is the only way forward. A goal that will benefit the region, benefit ourselves, our neighbours and most of all Islam. Pakistan as a nation should look at its strenghts, its weaknesses, its opportunities and its threats and come up with a vision for itself and its people. If our goal is to be the leading Muslim nation in the world then so be it, get the machinery ticking and lets see what happens. Lets not follow anymore models, its time to innovate and not immitate.

What do you think?

Jazak Allah Jazak Allah

Edited

edited

*Originally posted by Toddytapper: *
Mushi bhai,

Wont early marriages cause a population explosion?

Whose sexual frustration are we talking about here? Only men, I mean all the "techniques" of controlling the extreme sexual frustration seem to be aimed at men...

- Lack of hijab, again leading to frustration, eg in the markets

Segregation etc....

Is it that women in these parts dont like sex? or does'nt it matter?

Just curious. Then again, arent these the tried and tested models that the fundamental brigade started out with ala the Taliban.....

Reading your post the one word that comes to mind is "chauvinistic"....or is that concept also a western invention?

So much for not wanting to copy any models......

I agree.. why are you putting all the blame on the women?!

Human beings are sexual beings no different then any other animals. You can not erase an instinct we were all designed and born with.

Instead of brainwashing your kids the way you have yourself.. why not explain to them the importance and responsibility of respecting all people?

That there is a right time and place for everything even sex.

Don't just tell em sex outside of or before marriage is not allowed in our religion..

Explain to them all the responsibilities involved in a mature loving relationship.

How there is a big difference between lust and love.

And the one that works best esp amongst teenagers and the young 'modern' people .. Ask them how they would feel if their parents slept around too?

I completely agree with Waqas72! Not just because I think all of us are sexual individuals, but also because he pointed out that brainwashing simply is not the answer. We have to instill a sense of moral responsibility in people - not simply ban something that seems soooo appealing anyway. Well said, Waqas.

very well said waqas and mushi

but i dont agree on the following poing of mushi:
- Creating a culture in society to marry early, perhaps this will take a generation or two to snap out of that gari, bangla, job mentality.

Early marriage is not the answer to control you harmones.

if you see around, even in pakistan, you will see alot of people who got married early , are well educated both religiously and worldly but they see mujra's , they drink, they have sex with boys and girls out side their marriage.

but when it comes to their ladies they want them to have proper hijab and follow islam.
(i am not point out anyone here, people of wisdom know what i am talking about)

See what happens in internal punjab and sindh, and how they treat women as a to settle their disputes.

have you ever heard about the forced homosexuality in pakistan in cities and villiages???

First we have to learn how to respect women and respect human rights of others. then we can think about anythign else.

Mushi yaar dont start. It happens in all countries. Not just islamic ones or non-islamic ones. Genetics or even sociology. Guys need to check women out. Its natural. Every guy has checked a woman out. It aint the fault of the females. We guys are naturally like this.

then i think they should hurry up with the human genome project sort out the genes that cause this and produce a protein that will stop this particular habit

i hate going to SoudiArabia (its not the arab men) but the pk ones, theyre so disgusting , they were acting all ' were soo poor and helpless in this evil country with my dad (whose so sweet he'll help any stranger - not saying thats bad but there r ppl out there who take advantage) and the rest of the time they were trying to flirt and come right up to me trying to be 'friendly'

i got so freaked out, i actually left my dad and stood next to these soudi women in niqab, u c if they even look at the saudi women and they get battered - they ought to be castrated

(where do the mullahs come into all of this?)

The mullahs are busy teaching our youth to hate Shias, Christians and Jews. Soon we will get rid of them.

*Originally posted by Salman: *
The mullahs are busy teaching our youth to hate Shias, Christians and Jews. Soon we will get rid of them.

You forgot to include Sunnis in your list :p

on the other hand, the mullahs did order all hotels to cancel any new year parties and placed blockades on all paths to the beach.

in NWFP there was regular surveilance by the morality brigade roaming about, ensuring nobody so much as peeped a happy new year to his/her immoral friend.

yeah well who put the 'mullahs' in charge ?

My mom raised me and taught me most of what I know about Islam .. parents need to teach their kids themselves about morals & religion etc

*Originally posted by ravage: *
on the other hand, the mullahs did order all hotels to cancel any new year parties and placed blockades on all paths to the beach.

in NWFP there was regular surveilance by the morality brigade roaming about, ensuring nobody so much as peeped a happy new year to his/her immoral friend.

Stop calling Pakistan an "Islamic Republic", so that the Mullahs can stop doing all that what bothers you..