Some time ago (quite some time ago, I can’t rememeber where) some people said that women don’t talk about sex among themselves. Others didn’t agree. My idea is that there is a certain amount of sharing on this topic by that the discussion tends to be different from mens’ discussions…
Please share with us how it is different, and how do you know what men talk about?
Does the situation change once women become sexually active? I mean, do you become less open about such issues?
Tell me about it!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
I am often shocked at the sort of details provided by women when they are talking between themselves about their sexual relations with their spouses. I mean, its not that they can’t or shouldn’t talk about it, thats their choice… but it is so different from men.
Its not that men don’t talk about sex. But they talk generally, like “look, she’s so sexy”, or what they did with their one-night-stands or things like that. The wife is never considered an object for boasting. I have never ever seen or heard any man talking about his personal sex life with his wife or what they do. That is personal.
Not so with some women. They can as easily talk about what they do, how they do it, what they don’t like, what they love about the sexual relationships with their spouses.
Maybe I had different experiences than some of you. But, boy, does it sound weird!
[This message has been edited by Peacemaker (edited June 20, 2001).]
You mean… I thought… Hell!!! I am gonna talk to my wife about what she says to her friends about me. Damn! Thanks, PM. Just hope you don’t become the reason for an all-out.
Catty,
Pardon my observation
Your curiosity is peaking from gymnastics to political science to sex ed.NOW.
What took you so long
Women are more voraceous talker
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk2.gif
Im sure women have much more to say in every matter spl. in matters of venus & neptune ,if Not Neptual !
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif
Catz if i ofend u im sorry ,didnt mean to
Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha
Don’t worry about it. To offend someone, you first have to make some sense.
And pls stop eating the whole dictionary in one go. It is bad for digestive system. “Voraceous talker” indeed.
hehe
ermm FYI, I could say the same about you dude, about ‘varying’ interests.
As girls who are not regularly engaging in sexual intercourse, yeah we do talk a lot about it, all part of the ‘curiosity’.
I have worked in an office that was dominated by women. In the work group of 15 there were only 2 of us ... men.
The stories that I would hear as their early morning chat are not very different than what Peacy has mentioned above.
Explicit details about their spouses ... it seemed like they live a public life, rather than private one.
Maybe Shirin Baji was talking about Desi women ... ?!
It definitly depends on the person themselves, if they wanna talk about it or not. I know both women who love to talk about it, and women who get offended even if you approach the subject.
Some like to tell others how virile or passionate their men can be whereas others would just prefer to keep it between them and their husbands. It`s funny though because those who dont wanna talk about it are seen as not having very adventurous sex lives by those who love talking about it.
Personally I think its very personal and would never discuss any aspect of it with anyone.
Damn right, women do talk about their sex lives and they do it really effectively. Mostly things like sexual tips, or do this and that it'll make it better.
And its true guys never share their sexual relations with another guy, we consider it private but women are wierd. They talk about it seriously and not for entertainment as guys do, i mean we say and have a good laugh and thats it but they are like involved in their talk.
As a matter of fact women get to know more about sex and its accessories from a much younger age than men cause Mama's formally educate them in it, so they dont fall short when they get married, having that perpective their talks about sex is always so serious and truthful (it sucks).
Its our Wits that make us MEN .... 'Braveheart'
I have female friends from several age groups and ethnic backgrounds and frankly I have never discussed such subjects with any of them.
I recently made a new friend and by now have had several opportunities to meet with her and her husband. She has only been in Canada for a few years.....was brought up in Pakistan. She is the only woman I know that will openly and freely comment on her intimate relationship with her husband - often in very crude terms. Ugh! I find it tasteless and very unsophisticated.
But that's just me and my prejudices I suppose.
‘curiosity’ killed the cat kitty ![]()
I know, I know, I am opening a pandora's box here... :) but its so weird. Ok, obviously not everyone is the same and so your experiences may be different.
I know a wife of a friend of mine telling about the first night, how they they did it and how painful it was, blah blah... and I was like "what the heck!". What possible purpose it will serve to tell a friend (who is already married with kids) to tell about such intimate things??? Ok, so maybe its idle talk, when u have nothing else to talk, lets talk about this... but it was oh so weird! And no, she was not talking to me (obviously) she was talking to my wife.
Then there is another lady who went on and on about how she avoids having relationship with her husband because it is so painful, and how she has to feign head-ache blah blah... And how does her husband reacts and how patient he is with her ... like, who is interested in knowing all that??? I think the only sensible advise she got was to go see her gynaecologist. What else do you expect!
Yet another lady was boasting in a group setting (not one-to-one) how she successfully avoided her husband's oveturns by using her new baby as a shield for more than 7 months! Oh man... it was hilarious. And no, her husband was not there, but you can bet he saw some sympathetic smirks directed at him the next day in his office.
These are not terrible vices in these women. Maybe they just wanna share their life experiences, or maybe they want some advice or may be they were just trying to be funny or boastful. Whatever, I don't know whats in their mind. I don't like to say, its wrong either. Its their choice. It might be disagreeable to their respective husbands, if they get to know about it.
But all I can say, its so different from us, men. We don't talk at all about our bedroom activities to our friends. Oh, we might talk about the fact that some of us snore and how uncomfortable it may be for the wives, but never about our sexual relationships. Never! :)
Yes, I was talking about desi women. The only thing I have heard occasionally from a non-desi friend is an occasional comment about fulfilling her marital duties when she wasn't so inclined. But because I never contribute to the discussion it stops there.
On the other hand - and with the same participation from my side - I hear all sorts of details from desi women - often complaints here too. I don't mind listening to friends - I think that if there is need to talk then I need to listen. Usually, as in talk about many other subjects, it's frustration at not being understood and considered important. Sex is simply the symptom here, the problem is much larger.
I have heard much more conversation of this type from women of the older generation, and was very embarassed when I was questioned by these women soon after I was married. None of it was terribly risqué I suppose but I didn't feel like sharing it.
How do I know what men talk about? Overhearing conversations in public places, reading articles, all the usual sources of information. More specific info is lacking but I was counting on you all to fill it in!
Shirin, like PM said we don't talk about our wives. I have never met anyone from India or Pakistan where any discussion took place regarding wives. I am no know-it-all but I can stand by PM and, as a married man, say that this type of discussion does not arise amongst men, atleaset the ones I have known in my life.
Now to your inquiry of what men talk about regarding sex.... first of all to keep things in perspective, we are Muslims first, Pakistanis second (same for Hindu/Muslim Indians)). Discussion of married women has come up above so, in that light, I would like to say that I have talked about sex but not in detail, nor in length, or not about anyone close. My discussions have been in general terms and very short in duration but not in any way in the aforementioned manner. I believe you will be disappointed knowing that much less is to be put on the table by men then women. But this is only one man's comment.
Talking from my own xperience, while growing up in Pakistan girls (including myself) would talk about sex in general w/ close friends w/ whom they feel very close and comfortable, specially those they have known for a long time thru school and college. T/ subject was often talked about in general or evn as a joke as is often t/ case among single teenagers.
Now that I am married, I find it xtremely emabarssing and uncomrtable to talk about sex. Maybe cuz I am not amongst my old school frnds, (even then I very musch doubt if I would discuss t/ persoanl aspects of it) but new Desi married friends in t/ U.S. Once you're married it becomes very private and personal. Don't like to discuss t/ personal aspects w/ either a Desi or Non Desi frnds. I find it very abrasive, but then again that's only my opinion
I have yet to see or hear about a Desi husband who talks about his wife in sexual terms. T/ most they will ever do is joke about it in general w/ very close and personal friends, but again it's quite rare.
Well looking at the whole thread hmmm let me see. I don't know if i am right, but it depends what kind of friends you have been with, ofcourse i have talked about it with my friends, really close ones. But not about my personal experiences on probably just as "Peacemaker" said, "she's so sexy..etc etc" But that doesn't make anyone a pervert does it.
Now for the second part, as far as girls are concerned i believe ( correct me if i am wrong ) some of the asian guys tend to think that when Asian best friends (girls) sit together like in their early 20-25 they tend to open up quite a lot if their best friend is being nosey like " BATA NA KYA HUA .." isn't it..
But yeah i don't think any Asian guys who has any ghairat would talk about his wife like that to anyone, probably yeah strangely enough he wouldn't feel any ghairat when talking about his experience about what he did with his girlfriend.
Re: When women talk about sex…
actually heard that you’re not supposed to talk about your sexual relationship with spouse