When will Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal get a look?

Out of all the batsman Pakistan has tried recently, two stand out for being ignored: Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal. I remember both of them played very well in the 2002 Sharjah Test series against Australia. Both of them got very respectable scores there and Faisal even went on to make an ODI century in Zimbabwe. Hasan Raza was only given a chance in one or two Tests after the Sharjah series, and never recalled again. Even though I’ve never seen him play, Hasan Raza is supposed to be a very wristy and elegant batsman, like Laxman. And Faisal Iqbal is, of course, Javed Miandad’s nephew, so some of his qualities must’ve rubbed off on him.

During this Indian series, Hasan Raza made a double century in domestic series, and also got some decent scores against Sri Lanka A. Unless someone else knows different, I think these two have the potential to become the backbone of Pakistan cricket in future. Anybody who has Woolmer’s ears might want to drop these two names to him.

Re: When will Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal get a look?

well this is one sad part of talent hunting in ones eye they are diamond and others they are just dust. I wish both of em' are given true chance but considering Afridi performing either with bat or ball and other all-rounders Malik even performing and he is allowed to bowl, I guess they cant break in the team for a long time unless some one plays pathetically.

P.S: Chacha Woolmer is a fan of all-rounders, S. Malik, S. Afridi, A. Razzaq, M. Hafeez

dont you get a hint

Bhai abhi time nahi hai... we have too many batsmen already in the team. If you know a good waterboy, then do let us know. Desperately in need of those.

Both Faisal Iqbal and Hasan Raza are middle-order batsmen who are competing with Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Inzamam, Youhanna and Asim Kamal (in Tests). Who would you drop to accomodate anyone of these 2?

EDIT: BTW, Misbahul Haq is a much better batsman these two, even he is unable to break it into the team :)

agree .. misbah is better then them but age difference ..

Hasan Raza has the potential to be a good batsmen...because I have seen him play...but Faisal Iqbal is a pathetic batsmen. His techique is nothing write about and im sure he wont get a chance anytime soon because he doesnt deserve one. His average of 21 in 17 ODI matches tells us how good he is.

Don't think so, even without Inzi in the 1st test, we have more than enough bench strength to replace him. I think Woolmer has already indentified a "core" squad which he will be grooming for the next couple of years.

Faisal Iqbal and Hasan Raza are two very good batsmen, specially Faisal Iqbal is probably the best player of spin bowling in domestic cricket. His assault on shane warne was a delight to watch. But both cannot make to the team unless some unfortunate injury happens to three four middle order players.

But they got age on their side and I am sure one of them or maybe both will make the team in coming years.

misbah-ul-haq has a very flawed batting technique against pace bowling....
he can hardly succeed on fast tracks or against quality pace attack....

faisal iqbal is good....
he shud be at #3 position in tests....

hassan raza will definitely be in the side once inzi retires....
i see him as our next middle order mainstay batsman....

For a batsman to take Inzi’s place, he has to be in the squad for a few years first. No one can just come in and become the middle order mainstay… it requires experience and grooming.

Faisal Iqbal isn't great either from what we have seen in the chances provided to him.

Faisal and Misbah are good potential but we really dont need them rite now and they can certainly make in when place is there

Basically we need to groom one player who will have to fill one spot after Inzy's departure. I think Asim Kamal will be a good choice and he will definitely get a chance after Inzy's retirement. In the mean time he'll have to play only as test specialist.

Yasir Hameed is another option as he can play at #3 position with Youhana and Younis at 4 & 5 spot. So we have plenty of options.

The middle order is packed right now. Until Inzi and Youhana move on there is no room at all. I think its a good idea that we bring these guys in next time we play Bangladesh or Zimbabwe just to rest some of the seniors.

exactly like he was a fan of kallis, pollock, klusener etc

In case someone missed this:

http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Scorecards/misc/2/misc2818.html

Hasan Raza: 147 not out, Faisal Iqbal: 68

It’s a good thing Woolmer is in Namibia with the Pak A team. Maybe he’ll have a better opinion of these two players after watching them firsthand.

there is no way both of them can play in the middle order in presnece of inzi youhana and now younis and asim since both of them are performing right now. I haven't seen faisal and hasan playimg lately but seen them couple of years ago and fasial was impressive. The final authority obviously are the selectors, captain and the coach. I would say if their current performance is impressive and they are deserving to get a chance, then they should get a chance. The only vacant position is to get one of them in the side as an opener. I know they are middle order players but you have to change your strategy fo the best results. Indian team tried youvraj as an opener, the idea was right and it didn't work, although i thought that they should have given him more chances. Australian took a brave step of dropping hayden and tried clark in his position although clark is a natural no. 6 batsman. So there is no harm in trying. after all according to woolmer, he is trying different opening combination, so why not give it a try. Its my personal opinion but salman butt is my number one choice and then they can try faisal iqbal as his partner.

Ok, Hasan Raza made another century. He’s still only 23!!

http://dawn.com/2005/05/09/spt4.htm

Faisel Ather, Shadaab Kabir, Hasan Reza, Faisel Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq....all of these players have one thing in common...they are specialist batsmen. Woolmer doesnt have room for specialists, his selection criteria revolves around his immediate needs. Either you perform as an allrounder and get selected for the ODI team, or wait till one of the senior players retire or are knocked off by some failure...Another feature which is also common, most of the Karachi players will never get an equal chance, thus the demise of great potentials like Shadaab Kabir and many like him.....

^^ I'll have to agree with whats said above....However, that only covers the odi realm....what about test matches....

At any rate, the bit about Shadaab Kabir is spot on....he had and still has a very fluent and proper technique and his shots on the off side are not plagued by the same deficiencies that other Pakistan lefties of late have been plagued with, particularly Taufiq Umar and his retarded gay shuffle and elbow prventing him from playing any fluent wristy shots on the off side....and inside edging too many balls on the onside.....

Its a pity that he was never given any extended run like other less talented and less accomplished batsmen were....In his last test innings he scored a fifty.....