When should kids be allowed to fast?

Many families encourage little kids to fast very early, even at 5-6 years of age. Then do what we call “roza khushai” as a celebration to mark their first ever fast be it for just a couple of hours.

What are your views on this? DO you think it is exerting pressure on a child who isn’t obligated yet…do you think it is an exercise, an exciting practice? What do you think is a good age to start (before the fardh/obigatory age begins).

Please share.

Re: When should kids be allowed to fast?

kids love it…do it when they want to do it then its fun..but zabardasti ka its not good:no:

Kids love it and sometimes if they wish they can fast on weekend.But islamically they are allowed to fast when they hit puberty if I am not wrong. Or is their any age related issue.If TLK would shed some light on it.

I'm not sure what I'll do with my kids..... not thought about it yet.... Pehlay namaz tau seekh lein, phir rozay ka bhi sochay gai. Although I think 5-6 years is too young for a proper full-day fast..... maybe around 10-11 years would be more appropriate.

At any age they show interest let them experience it. They normally show interest when they are 7 or older.

The youngest child I know who fasts properly is my 8 yr old cousin. My siblings and I have also been fasting during Ramadan since we were 10 yrs or less. My youngest cousin is 6 yrs old and he reallllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy wants to fast and he gets really cranky if u tell him he can’t fast… so my khala has told him that kids his age are allowed to have “liquid foods” while fasting… he doesn’t have a clue what liquid foods are so khala pretty much gives him anything for lunch and tells him thats a liquid food… so he eats and drinks well all day but remains under the impression that he has completed all 29/30 fasts of Ramadan :omg:

Kids SHOULD fast when they've reached puberty apparently! Inshallah my little sister will complete all fasts this year :) (she's 12 :))

^ true, my sister who is 10 wants to do it, even though she doesnt have to and no one is forcing her either... but i think its good to start by just fasting during the weekends or so,, if they want to.

^ HNK - that's what my mum used to do when we were little, she would let us fast only on weekends and when we got like a year older we'd be lucky to do friday's aswell! :P lol bless my mum! Kid's should never be forced, they should choose themselves which will help them have a greater interest in their religion, if forced then they'll turn away from it. Mashallah my sister is really excited for Sehri, lol it's funny how kids are excited for having food at random times in the morning and we're all like bleurgh 4am :(

I have the same question. Is fasting wajib when the children reach a certain age (I was told 9 years for girls, 12/13 for boys) or when they hit puberty, i.e. for a girl, when she gets her period? And can you please give me a reference for your answer.

Thanks!

I think between 10-13, depending on the kid. I was 11. Ammi used to let us do half-day rozas when we were younger. Like no eating after lunch! :cb:

hehe same here sahar... we could break fast at asr though... cuz we would be fasting from fajr time... it was soooo cool... ! now its another story :D

and fasting is compulsory just like praying namaz from the time a person hits puberty.. some reach it at age 9 whilst some dont get their period unitl they are 11...