When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test (Waheed/Indian Media debate)

When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test

By Waheed Khan

KARACHI: The extent to which some sections of the Indian media can go to bolster the image of their players particularly Sachin Tendulkar is highlighted clearly in a compilation of the world’s best sledges by Tech Mahendera on the internet.

Recalling Tendulkar’s Test debut in 1989, it said: “Sachin not even old enough to get a driving licence, was facing the best bowlers in the business.

“As the Pakistani crowds jeered and mocked Sachin, holding placards saying ‘Doodh Peeta Bacha Ghar Jaake Doodh Pi’, the teenager sent the then young leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed hiding for cover by hitting two sixes in one over.”

Tech Mahendra continues: “The frustrated mentor of Mushtaq Ahmed, Abdul Qadir challenged Tendulkar saying ‘Bachchon ko kyon mar rahe ho? Hamein bhi maar ke dikhao’. Qadir had made a simple request and Sachin obliged, and how, Sachin hit four sixes in the over, making the spinner look like the kid in the contest.”

Now the only problem with the narration of this sledging incident is that Mushtaq Ahmed didn’t make his Test debut until January, 1990!

So how could he possibly be playing in the 1989 series is beyond comprehension. A check of the records shows that Mushtaq in fact didn’t play even one single match of that series against India, so how Sachin managed to hit him for two sixes in one over and upset his so-called mentor Qadir is hard to understand.

The Indian compilation also says this sledging incident occurred in Sachin’s debut Test which was at Karachi. Again the only problem is that Sachin batted only once in the match and made 15 runs so how he could even hit Qadir for four sixes is a question only the compilers can best answer.

One has no doubt about Tendulkar’s greatness as a batsman but this new compilation takes the cake in stretching one’s imagination!

The News

Re: When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test (Waheed/Indian Media debate)

he is smoking to much :desimunda:

Re: When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test (Waheed/Indian Media debate)

Whoever takes internet blogs so seriously? Just because its on a website doesn't mean its a fact.

Re: When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test (Waheed/Indian Media debate

4 sixes in an over were hit by only following 2 persons

27 (666621) Shahid Afridi off Harbhajan Singh Lahore 2005-06
24 (006666) Kapil Dev off Eddie Hemmings Lord’s 1990

Indian media nai zara Afraidi ka record bhee purana nahi honey deya abhee tu stats memory main fresh hee hain :slight_smile:

wasiey IF yee theek bhee hota aur Sachin nai 4 sixes laga bhee deyeee hotey tu this was not “best of the sledging” anway…is sai achee tu Younus Khan ker laita hai…

Harbajan Sing (after beating Younis completely by DOOSRA) : “pa jee yee maira dosra hai”
Younus Khan (after hitting Harbajn for 4 in the same over) : “aur pa jee yee maira TEESRA hai” (refering to his 3rd FOUR of the inning)

:slight_smile:

Re: When Sachin hit Mushtaq for sixes in ‘imaginary’ Test (Waheed/Indian Media debate

Check this out.. blogger is correct. It was an exhibition match and I was listing the commentry on radio

http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1980S/1989-90/IND_IN_PAK/IND_PAK_EXHIB_16DEC1989.html

Yes, I remember this exhibition match. The factual error in above article is calling it "Tendulkar's first test match". Couldnt' find the blog on internet to confirm whether that mistake was from blog or from article.
As F&B points out most of the information from the match and Tendulkar hitting Qadir is true.
What players exchanged on the field will never be known. THough Qadir did mention that in one of the interviews recently if somebody can get the text script of the same.

Good job F n B..I had always heard of Tendulkar hitting Abdul Qadir for 4 sixes but seeing the discussion by the above people I was getting the impression tht it was prbbly a rumor…U clarified my doubts…and shut the other guys…Atleast for the moment…:smiley:

I am not sure if it was 4 sixes but it was definitly big over of 26 or 27 runs. I think that blogger did a better job than so called cricket writer Waheed Khan. His only mistake was that he mentioned first test match where it should have said his first series.

Yes.. we would never know what exactly happened on the ground but press at that time reported exactly as said by blogger here.

Ok, finally summary of the match from Cricinfo…

http://content-ind.cricinfo.com/ci/content/story/145713.html
Cheers all..

Now, Who is this "Waheed Khan" ... Who is a cricket writer and doesn't know about history of cricket... and that also of matches between India and Pakistan......

This guy picks up something from an Internet Blog, calls it Indian media, and makes it an article in THE NEWS (If I am right this is one of the national papers in Pakistan)...

Kiss per khundak neekal raha hai yeh bhai.....

I don't think its Waheed Khan's mistake, there is helluva difference between a festive match and a test match. He may not have been reporting at that time and hence may not have heard about it.

You have to accept that he jumped the gun in this case..........

Waheed Khan has been regularly known to publish ghostly articles and end-of-the-world litter and nonsense stories that are related to his personal agenda, and not necessarily in the favor of promoting the newspaper on the basis of reporting with honesty and integrity.

I already have high doubts on the vast number of controversial "By our correspondent" articles that are printed on almost a daily basis. Seems as if no one wants to take responsibility of the article written, yet in the same tone and language, those exact same articles have a tendency of creating an unknown person out of thin air and conveniently labeling it as "A known PCB official", without any names being mentioned or attached to it.

Cool, so he is resident clown giving some good laughs to all of us........ He is most welcome, once we know about it......
Phir theek hai,,, waisey bhee theek tha.......... :-)

Whatever happened there, but u can see, Tendulkar failed to win the match for India, as usual.

Lol

Sachin has won more matches for India than any1 has...

Think before you open your mouth...

He is God

Somehow change the topic............ :D .... Good attempt.....

I remember that match. In those days there Qadir vs Mushtaq was a topic of discussion in the paper media. I remember a paper blaming Qadir for not being so nice to young Mushtaq. In this particular match, when a young tendulkar hit mushtaq for 3 sixes in an over, the expert sitting next to the commentator said, this shows mushtaq's inexperience. Tendulkar could never have hit Qadir like that. In the immediate Qadir's over, Tendulkar hit 4 sixes. I remember I thought tha the so called "expert" must ve been embarrased. Nothing wrong with Qadir or Mushtaq, its just that tendulkar was that good.

^ Thank you for the insight 'Raabert' ;)