When naming their children

There is a lil boy i know of who has started school this year
and the poor lil munchkin comes home everyday crying because the kids at school make fun of his name

apparently the kids who make fun of his name are to be blamed but do the parents ever think that they are living in a western world so they should name their children a bit sensibly
just a tad bit sensible?

His name is Anas

Poor kid! Are his parents stupid or what . . .

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

Anas is a great name!

I think its the sick kids at school not the parents. Just tells how rotten the society has become & its not getting any better.

anas is the name of one of the prominet companions of the Prophet (pbuh)....
if soe stupid children make fun of this name, i think its their parents who shud tech their children to live in a society and respect others....

now u dont expect muslims to name their sons as michael, jack, bill or something do u??

Before calling the kids at school stupid, let's think about their position first. If they knew not to make fun, they wouldn't be called kids, would they?

Children will do mean things to one another....they will pick on the weaker ones and if the weak one isn't so weak, they will gang up on him/her.

Granted parents should be teaching their kids to be considerate and open to multiculturalism, but then, not all parents are truly equipped with the necessary skills required to be a parent either.

Most of the people I know take the impact of non-Muslim people's lack of knowledge and understanding into consideration when naming their children.

Would I do it? I don't know. I grew up with a very, very different name. In fact, Muslim people from our own community had never heard it before let alone the western community. I made a point of having people pronounce it correctly from a very young age....but I also had a very strong personality that wouldn't settle for anything less. Would I put the same burden on my own children? Probably not.

On the other hand, I'm a sucker for traditional names, especially rare ones that are exotic sounding with equally exotic meanings......

It might not be the parent's fault either. If they are FOBs then they probably don't realise that Anas can be mis-interpreted.

If the parents are aware then they could perhaps have picked a different name. Why put a kid through that if it isn't necessary?

different names could sound like different words in other languages. I know someone named fakhar who ended up changing his name. I know an Anis, who had to do the same and another one who now spells it Anees.

forget about muslim or desi names here. I knew a poor girl whose name was roseanna carvalho who went by Rosy Carvallho because desi chichoras called her "rozana karwa lo" i.e. get it done daily..with some lewd meaning.

I have a turick pal whose name is ufuk, he goes by his middle name now because the prounounciation of his name is diff than how people read it and as much of a nice meaning that it has, it just would not fly.

There's always the hindu sirname "Dixit" which always brought a smile to my face when I was young.

he needs a new name, plain and simple.

Originally posted by Bharysh:
*he needs a new name, plain and simple. *

I 2nd that.

The suffering must end otherwise the kid will loose his self confidence.

How about the name Butt? People get a kick out of that. Oh, so your surname means ass, how nice.

I'm broken

Had I known that, I would have given my boys some real winning names, pain in the butt as they are, that would have straighten them out. Good for the parents for giving their kids names that they did. Generally speaking, kids suck.

If we ever have another child (boy is more likely), I will name him Osama, or Saddam.

One of my friend is Butt and other one is from west. Whenever he starts making fun of 'Butt' I remind him of 'Dickson' in goras.

hehehe

putting myself together ok there is nothing worng with the name…but if the poor kid is troubled with it the parents should change it…before he kills himself or drops out of highschool(when he grows older)!!

“The devil has put a penalty on all things we enjoy in life. Either we suffer in health or we suffer in soul or we get fat.”

i feel sorry for him when he goes to high school, kids will really make him either shoot him self or comit another columbine…and u know how hard it is to talk to your parents about these kinda stuf…imagine a typical desi conversation about this topic…mom ppl call me anus, mom(most likely a fob) will say oh beta angreez to namo ko aisa he bigar kar boltay hian gharbrao mat…now whos gonna tell her what that means…

I dunno if its appropriate or not but I got a kick out of it trying to talk to these people without laughing in their face.

Blowes, Mary-Anne
Littlemoustache, John S.
Leblanc, Moron
Bushi, Melanie

Those 4 names really stood out at work.

So never fear, they too have horrible names.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

They should change his name pronto.

I know of an Anas who changed his name himself, as soon as he reached adulthood.

reminds me of the SNL episode with Nick Cage… AssWipe.. pronounced Aaas Weepay

An Italian girl's name is Marisa... you can imagine the snickers and the "tauba taubas" in the desi community here...

Granted, people should consult the dictionaries of every foreign language before they choose a name for their children, and that children should always show the utmost respect to those around them and never let loose a giggle at in such instances where they are greeted by a phenomena that they find quite hilarious.

There’s alot of things that people can prepare for, but no matter what, there’s always things that are unexpected, and maybe such incidences with names fall into that category. And in such situations, I don’t think its a matter of who’s at fault, I think its a matter of dealing with the situation sensibly and responsibly. Sure it may be a beautiful name, with a beautiful meaning and history, but if it is bringing so much misery to a child, whats truly wrong in changing the name, or if thats too strong a move, to giving him/her another name which can be used more commonly. I mean sometimes it can be so simple, as changing the spelling of a name from qasim to kasim so that the other kids wont pronounce it quasim and ‘quack’, othertimes it may require a little more effort. ‘Exotic’ names are always met with a varying degree of reactions, there’s the typical hesitation of the teachers when they pause, scrunch up their face and embark on the oh so difficult pronunciations plucking ‘ias’ 'n n ‘aaHhs’ 'n ‘ellas’ from the air, when it would be so much easier to just pronounce it as its spelt makes a face, there’s the interest, there’s curiousity, there’s praise, but then sometimes there is also the teasing and the mockery, and for some poor souls its more often than not. There is a difference between teasing and humiliation, and I think its important to keep that in mind, and to realize when its going too far.

Though it seems petty to me, i can somewhat understand a parent’s reluctance to change a name, yet, the happiness of the child should go before one’s own happiness & pride…shouldn’t it? I guess its different in every situation, and one must look at it objectively and be sure that one has the best interests of all at heart.

And it does go both ways…as numerous people have pointed out, foreigner’s with suggestive names are greeted with similar mockery in desi commmunities. Kids are kids, but thats where it stops, things like that aren’t excusable in those old enough to understand the concept of respect…

Ummm i’m gonna cut short my bafflegab for now, congrats to those that can decipher it:)

ps.M-baji, now I understand something DB told me once

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

That means no congratulations for me…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/teary.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

j/k