When is divorce the solution...?

CareBear, Shikra, I totally get you, but lets say someone comes to you and informs you that they want to get a divorce. They are not completely decided about it yet, you would try to patch things up between them right. Well I'm kind of in that situation, and I'm trying to make things better, but I'm wondering, is it even worth it? I mean, is there a point if they're going to get together and fight like cat and dog again?

Shikra, mein ab bari ho gai hoon aur ab mein CARTOONS hi naheen dekhti :p na urdu na english :p
tum aur funguy dekhte ho ge :p

Madhanee, they have drifted apart but can't they work on it and come closer?

Originally posted by cat-woman: *
If he hits you, emotionally abuses you, cheats on you,
* is gay**, doesn't provide for you then divorce his ass.
hmm why is that? did the girl just marry him for bam bam?

Re: When is divorce the solution…?

Very filmi :rolleyes: . Everytime you say that I want to kill myself by sticking a pencil into my brain through my nose.

Divorce might be ‘disliked’ ..most disliked amongst the allowed acts…its not a sin. Can you think of the last time you committed a sin…even a minor one?.. I sure can. Now thats worse than divorce. :stuck_out_tongue:

Re: Re: When is divorce the solution…?

who—me nayk kaam me taakheer bilkul naheen honi chahiye

hala bismillah jaldi se

"one has to think why is he or she hitting me, emotionally abusing me and cheating on me"

Irem, what can you possibly do to deserve physical or mental torture? This is very typical victim mentality. I haven't done any research but you should try reading a bit about females who've been abused, a good number of them probably believed they deserved it somehow.
Khair, haven't read rest of the posts yet so no comment on other issues. I didn't really get your question either :o

Waise your understanding of this issue is rather 'filmi' as Who--me said, and as FG said, you wont really get it till you're in the mid of the drama. When do you think ppl should get divorced?

''Is it true that it all boils down to:

How sacred do you hold the idea of marriage to not break that bond?''

You said a lot of things and then this question popped up, it's a bit misplaced.

"And also there is an assumption that two people who are in a marriage do necessarily want the marriage to work. But I guess this is wrong or is it? "

It's a wrong assumption, yes. Two ppl may enter a marriage for a number of reasons, like most desis from Pak etc would marry anything for a visa. You'll have huge expectations gap then. I know it's a stereotype.

"Is it really true that one is happier after the divorce? "

HaiN? There's nothing nice about a divorce. However there's not the added 'imposed' stress and frustrations in your life. Often it's replaced by other things, especially if you have kids, but you get a fresh start.

"Is happiness not a state of mind or is it really the result of circumstances? Maybe one could have convinced themselves that they were indeed happy before the divorce just like they are able to convince themselves afterwards."

Irem your life partner is not your new pair of shoes, you can't just pretend for a long time that your toes aren't hurting. This logic works only if one party is willing to eliminate his/her personality. But then again, it's a matter of preference, some of us like a laid back life style, you don't need to think, have an opinion or goals in life etc. Whereas others are complete individuals, in the sense that in addition to regular household chores they want to see what else life has to offer. Look around and see how many desi families are happy. How many husbands and wives would stick by their spouse without the financial and social threat, or if one of them was deadly ill or had serious financial problems. Our desi ppl don't stay together because 'janaza hi sasural se jana chahiye' they often don't have any other option. Who's going to provide for her, surely not her brothers for an extended period.

"shakes your confidence in yourself"
Any failure in life does this to you, divorce is no exception. It's for you to decide how fast you get back on your feet.

"Can the effort that leads to dealing with the post divorce trauma not be applied towards improving the marital relationship?"

It sure can, and in most cases ppl try whatever they can. In arrange marriages, often more than just two families are involved to sort out things, but you have to decide if its worth the time and your life. You wont be born again in this world, and depression in longer periods does more harm to you physically and mentally than a social ill.

As for staying single, grow up kaki :p If it feels like a task, you're in a wrong relationship.

hitting ... ], emotionally abusing ... ] and cheating

Ok, hitting is very obvious and so is cheating. But what constitutes as an emotional abuse?

Everyone has their own definition on emotional abuse, like for instance men do not consider nagging as an emotional abuse but I found out that it is one form of it. Can someone (female) give examples of what is considered an emotional abuse?

hmmm
thanks for the responses saba (wont call u baji, u're not even 5 yrs older than myself and majority of my friends are around ur age) and ahmadjee

saba - i appreciate your response a lot :-) thanks..
as for my understanding of the situation..trust me i'm really torn between the two scenarios...the filmi one and the other one i presented in the post...and i guess since i've not experienced the situation i cant say anything...
abt the rest of the things you said abt depression, i agree to what you said...
as for wanting to remain single...hmm...my parents are prolly not going to let that happen from the looks of it...whether i want to or not... :D but khayr it wasn't my intention, it was just a thought and an expression of a genuine fear/concern that i really have been having recently...

irem khala, looks like you are having all these thoughts lately probably because most girls in their twenties and thirties do think about such scenarios. Lemme give you a rule of thumb when deciding to marry a particular person. And the rule is to see if the person you are going to marry should make your life BETTER after marriage. Now, what is 'better' depends on what is important to you. It can be mental, physical or financial.

Sabah- you have made a good attempt at discussing the issue. It's not an easy topic to have a jab at.

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *

hitting ... ], emotionally abusing ... ] and cheating

Ok, hitting is very obvious and so is cheating. But what constitutes as an emotional abuse?

Everyone has their own definition on emotional abuse, like for instance men do not consider nagging as an emotional abuse but I found out that it is one form of it. Can someone (female) give examples of what is considered an emotional abuse?

ahmadjee - hmmm...personally when i know i'm emotionally abusing someone i always know it my heart abt what i'm doing...

i think basically its being inconsiderate/selfish towards the other person and kind of venting your own dil kee bharaas...

to give examples:

from the wife's side, as i see them

if i'm in a bad mood or angry or have a bad day and take the frustration out by being in a bad mood or fightnig mood i guess that emotional abuse

if i have a problem with someone in my susraal and i try to present a skewed version of reality to win the favor of my hubby, that's cheating him, and that's emotional abuse

if my husband doesn't earn well and i know he feels bad about that but i always keep telling him, look at falana they just got a brand new car, a new house bla bla, that's emotional abuse i think

if he doesn't like me to discuss personal matters of the house with my friends but i insist on doing that i think that's also emotional abuse...

basically it just boild down to the fact k u know something is going to emotionally hurt the other person but u still do it...

for guys, and to some girls some of these might not matter, but generally i think

if you dont like your hubby talking to other girls too much and he does that thats emotional abuse...

if a guy is in a bad mood or angry or has a bad day and takes the frustration out by being in a bad mood or fightnig mood i guess that emotional abuse towards his wife

another one is like...appreciating another female too much in front of her would make her feel kinda jealous/insecure i think...i would constitue it as emotional abuse...

your being too free and friendly with another female, staring at girls on the street etc, i think that's emotional abuse of ur wife coz its definitely gona make her feel bad whether she says/admits it or not...

lets see what else...yeah i guess if she's fat and u always telling her k shes' fat? would that be emotional abuse?

hmm..basically i think in a relationship, any relationship, one is usually perceptive enough to sense which things might hurt the other person, and to do those is i think emotional abuse

*Originally posted by funguy: *
irem khala, looks like you are having all these thoughts lately probably because most girls in their twenties and thirties do think about such scenarios. Lemme give you a rule of thumb when deciding to marry a particular person. And the rule is to see if the person you are going to marry should make your life BETTER after marriage. Now, what is 'better' depends on what is important to you. It can be mental, physical or financial.

Sabah- you have made a good attempt at discussing the issue. It's not an easy topic to have a jab at.

hmmm

in my case ammi abbu jis ko bhee aagay rakhein ge thats who its gona be :p

my thoughts were more like, will i even be able to sustain a heavy duty relationship that being a wife esp in our society involvez...

Irem, it’s OK you have got no idea what you are talking about. Let me eskplane this Ahmadji Bhaijan.

Emotional abuse is putting one down and looking for faults in everything they do, telling them that they are worthless all the time, to the point that the abusee becomes a mental patient. That’s emotional abuse. It’s worse than physical abuse.

:jhanda:

Okay ji :hehe:

there you go ahmadjee :smiley:

*Originally posted by irem: *

heavy duty relationship that being a wife esp in our society involvez...

not to worry irem khala. every wife in Pakistan becomes 'heavy duty' after marriage.

Divorce is the solution when both of you have tried every other option.

Muzna Aunty has given the best reply of this thread :k:

hmm. chalain, the thread has served some purpose. I now know saba's age with an accurqacy of 1 yr :) 26 ya 27? i place my bet on 27.

waisay i wont speak for everyone, but if anyones marriage is free of shackles like social inaccpetability, which includes but is not limited to dim prospects of remarriage, or financial insecurity , and is truly a bondage of 2 free, independent adults then divorce is an option "as soon as you start considering it", cuz the whole point of marriage is when both parties seriously prefer it that way. i dont really understand why the ethics issue is all there is to it. yes its important to stick it out, its important to be loyal, its imp............... as long as you feel like it! and generally for most stable ppl, u tend to feel like it, as long as you dont abused.
even otherwise, a marriage may be unfulfilling, and i dont see why a woman or man shudn't move on if it is so.
jahan tak bachoan ka sawal hai, yes its true that they need care and stuf, but bachay janwar ki aulad toa nahi hotay. if u show kids that adulthood is about sacrfice and rasing kids, its not a very rosy picture of life u r puttting out. a woman should be able to indulge in personal growth and have her own life and be able to fulfil her own desires, and thats what u want any girl to grow up thinking, not that her mom was one failure who did nothing but "raise me". i mean come on, there is more to life than that!