When I have kids, they are not watching Indian movies.

I would rather have them watch American movies. Indian movies are pure sex propaganda.. “Hey, if you aren’t dressed like this and aren’t doing this with your boyfriend, you aren’t cool”. This seems to be the message most Indian movies portray.

Sure American movies have sex and nudity also, but Indian movies take it to the next level. They seem to be challenging cultural notions.

Both Indian and English movies are more or less the same. Bollywood movies are of course more trashy.

Anyway, keep'em away from such movies and make'em watch kiddy movies instead till they're grown up.

Btw... I wonder if anyone goes by the rating system to decide whether or not their child should be watching a particular movie solely based on ratings.

My view is that BOTH american and Bollywood films are equally as bad as each other when it comes to this topic. BUT:

The affect bollywood has on apnay kids is that they relate more to the cultural side of the movie. Its in a language they speak, its from a part of the world that their parents/unlces/aunties/grandparents etc all came from and the actresses (sometimes) wear similiar clothes to the ones they do.

Bearing this in mind, when apnay kids watch Bollywood, they are watching what they believe to be part of their culture so it must be acceptable to copy what goes on in these films, be that dressing immodestly, having girl/boyfriends or basically doing things alien to their real way of life.

I agree TeenDabbyWala - according to Bollywood, if u aint going out with anyone, your a nobody.

Lollywood is just as bad if not worse - they are supposed to be muslims!

If your children have taste, they will shy away from these movies themselves. Get them to read books, or watch things that they can actually learn from.

That said, there are also important lesson to be learned from some movies. Hollywood movies, mostly, though.

i will train my son to be a mini mobster or lafanga

the problem with bollywood and hollywood different. I think hollywood movies don't let the sex become the part of the story like bollywood. In english movies, they have one or two sex scenes and they move on. However, in hindi movies, you are constantly being bombarded with close up shots of actresses bust or butt. Not to mention the gyrating in their songs and whatnot. They show them almost kissing and then back off. I think this practice is heavily damaging to a kid's psyche. It's like they are being taught to look at girls dancing and wearing provocative clothes and think about them in a sexual waybut at the same time being told not to have sex or look at sex as something perverted. Bollywood movies are a 2 1/2 hours of constant sex bombardment without the actual sex. Clearly this cannot be healthy for the kids.

I agree with RT WOLF. if your kid has any sense of taste, he wouldn't watch bhindian crap anyways. I stopped watching hindian movies at about the age 10. I guess when you hit double figure agewise, dancing in switzerland and one guy beating up 10 people stops appealing to you. And kinda off topic, but I found most pakis that watch bollywood movies to be a bit on the paindoo side.

I think kids under 15 shouldn't be allowed to watch movies (either desi or angrezi) except cartoon movies (excluding those like Team America or Shrek or all those with kissing and love scenes going on). Simple.

A lot of Bollywood films these days are pure trash ... this trend started in the mid 90s and it's getting progressively worse. Even the music has gone downhill.

I must say, at least Hollywood film offers a variety of films with different themes. You can watch action-packed movies, fantasy type LOTR movies or comedies. Somehow, it isn't as offensive cause perhaps the content isn't as blatantly explicit as stuff in Indian films. Plus, they have more of a variety for children ... Harry Potter, the new Jim Carrey flick, all the Disney/Pixar films (Shrek, Finding Nemo, etc.) ... these are family-oriented.

Also, there are plenty of indie films and European films that actually have storylines that don't revolve around love and singing on some Swiss mountain.

Encourage your kids to read books, play sports and activities away from the television.

Some people believe that even cartoons these days are going a bit overboard and having a negative effect on children.

You cannot possible block out every "bad" thing in your child's life. The more you restrict something, the more appealing it is. Especially something like T.V or Movies. I think it's important to give your children a set of morals and values which teach them to differentiate between good and bad. This is easier said then done as school and peer relationships will always effect your children and will allow them to shape their own set of morals and values.

Giving your children a basic understanding of what is right and wrong and how to apply this understanding to everyday life and possibly every/most situations is more important than controlling/limiting their access to T.V/Movies.

When i was younger, my dad hated us watching Indian movies, before the age of ZEE Tv and whatnot, the only way we were able to watch an indian movie was to rent it out, and my dad refused to do this. He had no issue with us watching English movies or English T.V in general. I remember always thinking we were left out, especially when my cousins would sing Mr India songs :D. In time, my mum used to sneak Hindi movies in the house so we could watch them and Channel 4 always did a bollywood season during the summer. I remember thinking RamLakan was the single most amazing movie ever!! thats the only movie we had on video and we used to watch it every single day!!!

I think my dad figured out that was nothing wrong with watching these types of movies as we never broke out in singing and dancing or pray to indian gods and whatnot, my dad realised that he had given us a sense of how to behave and think as pakistani muslim children should or how he thought they should.

As an adult (yes i am an adult !!) i don't watch hindi movies and niether do any of my siblings, not because my dad won't allow us but because they are plain silly!!

Don't ask me why iv decided to share this usless information/story, but i don't think restricting your children is a good thing, it only makes them want to do it more. Teaching your children the difference holds much more worth in the way it will effect thier lives.

note how many spelling mistakes and il give you an early Eid present :D

That’s actually one of my favourite Bollywood oldies. I have it on DVD. :eek:

This has to be my single most longest and most boring post!!

im so proud of me :D

I still love RamLakan MehnazQ, aint seen it for years though!!
I remember telling my mum that i wished my dad was Anil Kapoor, cos he was sooo sooo mega cool!! :D

Ram lakhan :-o awww
I grew up watching Indian movies...Amitabh was my idol and you could see him in my walk, talk and everything i did. I hate the guy now. Looking back...I don't think watching Indian movies had a bad influence on me..it was good entertainment..good songs...
In the last ten yrs...I've hardly watched Indian movies...in fact I can count them on my fingers. Who has the patience to watch em for three hours...I don't mind the songs though..but the videos of these songs are a good indication that the quality has deteriorated.
It is not easy to raise kids these days...Indian movies are not the only ones to be balmed. Raising a good human being is a big responsibility and unfortunately a lot parents don't realize that....my own cousins are growing up on dvds, cds, chusnis..all they talk is bollywood.

Originally posted by Miss_Mohabbat: *
*note how many spelling mistakes and il give you an early Eid present :D

Should I try?

Im not much of a TV person.Aside from the news.But once in a while I'll watch some movies.I just have to keep my mouth shut about how ridiculous some of them are - very tough.Ive probably watched a total of five Bollywood movies.Similar with Hollywood.They're usually just ridiculous.I dont mind documentaries, most of the rest I cant stand.

Ah books books books.Goodness I cant help but read.I find myself reading the cereal box labels if Im too tired to grab the newspaper while I have my breakfast.

In American movies they have also bad languange's.

indian movies are not good for kids, i agree. though i did watch em while growing up. even american movies r not that good. even some cartoons these days r not good. even books need to be screened.

hmmmmmmmmmmmm

reminds me of what my cousin said “aaj kal k zamanay men bachay paalna asaan kaam nai” :hehe:

How many things can you shield a child from?? I mean to be honest.... When I compare Hollywood and Bollywood, I think the lesser of the two evils exists in Bollywood. Yeah there is more substance in Hollywood, but that is very mature substance that I dont think is appropriate for children. Hollywood tends to deal in our everyday reality...which is even scarier from a Western perspective...

Where as I find Bollywood creates its own reality..it is so far removed from the real world that I think alot of times kids realize that its just a SHOW.... You choose what you watch, when you go to Blockbusters there are tons of movies that you are not willing to waste your money on....and are not interested in watching...its the same with Bollywood...why watch the gyrating and overt sexuality??

Making better choices is I think more the answer then actually outright banning something...which to me is a band-aid solution..

S.

I will allow my kid to view only Paki movies.....

forget the movies...

TV itself is bad for the kids. Kick the tv set out, bring in a bookshelf.

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
forget the movies...

TV itself is bad for the kids. Kick the tv set out, bring in a bookshelf.

with out without books?
and which type of books

waisay in sarri hui indian movies ki rating hoti hai kya pg13, R, etc

Shukar hai qaum ko aqqal aa rahi hai… still many people whose lives revolve around the trash:

“ohh.. mein us ke bina nahi jee sakti”
“ohh mein us ke bina mar bhi nahi sakta”
“ohh mein tumhe pyar karta/karti hun”
“ohh tum mujhe nahi mile/mili to mein mar jaun ga/gi”

For God’s sake people, live REAL life… come out of these fairy tale idoicies told in BOLLYWOOD movies. You are capable of doing better than that.

Makes me wanna PUKE :yukh: