When did it sink in?

I am 39 weeks pregnant Alhumdolilah and waiting for baby to arrive any day now, however, I still sometimes can’t even believe I am pregnant or that there will be a baby in my life soon Inshallah.

I have felt this way throughout my entire pregnancy. Most pregnant women are SO ga ga over their pregnancy and have baby dreams almost every night and can’t stop talking about baby related topics. I have not had even 1 dream about my future baby nor do I spend too much time on baby related topics other than the essential stuff like baby items I need to buy and breastfeeding and things like that or when I talk to other women who already have kids and they are giving me advice.

Sometimes people ask me “Are you excited?” and I am caught off guard because although in theory yes I am sure I am excited I don’t feel that “exhilerating excitement feeling” that I guess I am supposed to be feeling.

Don’t get me wrong, I am SO happy and more than happy RELIEVED that I am having a baby. I struggled to get pregnant for over a year and had to wait to try for 1.5 years and spent most of that time depressed thinking I will never be a mother. I’m not sure if that is why it still hasn’t sunk in. Maybe because I am finally so close to getting something (inshallah) that I never thought I would have.

So did anyone else feel this way when pregnant? Did it sink in right away? Did it only sink in when you actually had the baby in your arms? I feel for me it may only sink in when the little bundle of joy is in my arms (inshallah).

Just curious if other women feel this way or its just me?

Re: When did it sink in?

All this sounds so cute. Neither im pregnant nor a mom but i can still feel you.I think its totally normal, esp for ttc. we have days when we think its never going to happen and when we actually ARE we just can't believe it. Goodluck wish you safe delivery and healthy baby :)

It's totally normal! It's a big change to wrap your head around, and there will be plenty of time for adjusting to the excitement of having your own little person around once the little person makes his or her debut. They're masha'Allah a pretty big presence when they arrive and insha'Allah will be with you for a long, long time so don't worry about it. :) 39 weeks is so awesome though! Any day now!

I was like that too. I had a huge fight with husband because I didn't want a baby shower, I just didn't care. We ended up having one because he wanted to invite his co workers. I think it's normal. I wasn't much excited about even having a baby. I wasn't depressed or anything. I am just not one of those women who are all excited about this. I love my baby. But not everyone has to share the same feelings, have to be super excited. My husband asked me what I wanted for Eid, I said some time away from baby, that's it. :D

My baby is nearly three months old and it still hasn't sunk in :p

lol i think im so focused on him tht im not focused on him

my child is almost 10 years old…finally it’s starting to sink in that I’m a mommy… :cb:

ohh me gosh, I have the exact same feeling , only that I feel really scared to be too happy sometimes .. but at night just before falling asleep i find myself thinking if I am dreaming this who experience .. followed by fear of how i will handle it .. when i wake up in the morning it feels real again .. the whole cycle continues ..

THe only time I feel really ecstatic about the whole experience and it being real is when husband says things like , cant wait for the baby to come already etc .. thats when i see the twinkle in his eyes and suddenly feel lost in the happy moment ..

I hope inshallah we all deliver safely ..

Muzna, I know what you mean , infact I know it now what I didnt know a while back .. when i got married, my mom said she didnt feel real about this whole thing .. I thought she was dramatizing it like a desi mom .. but now i feel that every stage of a child no matter how grown up they are , mothers instinct will give you that hazy feeling where you question yourself if its all for real ! hai na ..

honestly CB......sometimes I just sit and stare at her when she is sleeping.
so many things go through my mind....not all the things that we have been through together but the person that she has become.
and then I wonder how we got this far? surely Allah has guided us and looked out for us otherwise how could she be like this? how could she possibly know how to do all the things she does? I don't remember teaching her so many things.

ultimately as she becomes her own person, one that is caring and compassionate, one that has good sense and faith in Allah, I am learning to understand and know myself in the role of a mother.

alhamdulillah.

So its true what i read once : They say a mother has given birth to a child, the truth is a child gives birth to a mother in a woman ...

Thats what its all about , isnt it .. its strange how perspective changes the minute a woman becomes a mother .. the child in front of your eyes constantly develops you as a mother , no matter at what stage of life the child is at ..

so touching ...

SO well said, muz!!