Wheat, whole wheat, durum wheat, white

Someone explain the differences please. In simple terms. Thanks.

Re: Wheat, whole wheat, durum wheat, white

Yes please! :halo:
Nice thread niksik :k:

*Wheat *- gandum/gehun

Whole wheat - sabut gandum (where whole of the grain is used when its grounded to make flour)

Durum wheat - the hardest wheat because of its density, high protein content and gluten strength (used to make pasta, sawayaan) (semolina/sooji/rawa is also made of durum wheat but here fine particles (purified midlings) of the durum wheat are used.

White - maida...all purpose flour (finely grounded, refined and bleached...used in baking sometimes...in this one only inner side of the grain is used)

is that any good?

is durum wheat available in raw form...like to make chapattis?

and then there are Deep's frozen Tandoori Naan and Crispy's Fresh tandoori naans :)

lol D6C!

Make sense blessed, thanks :D

^ :hat:

yes it is available in raw form. ask your local store or desi shop.

it looks like this

lekin mere khayal se durum wheat se roti achi nahi bane gi…sakht jo hota hai durum wheat but maybe jab ground karo gi tou shayad achi ban jaye

The aata I buy for rotis is durum wheat.

I have heard its healthy and better if you are trying to lose weight! is it true?

Durum wheat is a breed of wheat which has higher pro and gluten and has a harder texture. If something says Durum wheat it doesn't mean the whole kernel was used but if it says whole grain/wheat than the whole kernel was used. Look for whole durum wheat or whole wheat/grain so the germ and bran are also included. Both are equally healthy as far as I know but ofcourse the durum has more protein. I personally wouldn't stress it and look for either one in particular just stay away from white flour as much as you can