I’ve been reading up on gluten free diets and wheat free lifestyles recently and trying to come up with a plan that is well suited for me and my goals.
When you are trying to drop weight, its a given that you will be cutting down on bread, rice, pastas, fats, etc.
Which means…we know they’re bad for us and cause us to gain weight. Yet, we’ve all grown up with the belief that incorporating whole wheat in our diets is healthy.
A friend of mine has been wheat free and non-organic milk free (she buys organic almond milk only) for about a year and swears its the reason she’s dropped well over 50 pounds and is still dropping. She claims its impacted her husband’s cholesterol, her son’s blood sugar and eczema and her own blood pressure.
Wow…cool I just mentioned in another thread abt losing 10 lbs by omitting bread but cud not stick to the plan… it would be cool to have gluten free items to replace wheat… my uncle does this all the time and he looks awesome
unless you have Celiac’s or a wheat allergy, there is no point in going wheat-free. in fact, the chinese and japanese have been eating foods made of isolated wheat gluten - seitan - for several hundreds of years.
people get healthy dropping “wheat” because of what they substituted the refined carbs with - usually something not so refined or high on the glycemic index.
but it is always a good idea to get your food intake from as many different species of plants as possible like our ancestors did, rather than relying on 4-5 different things that you eat every day, week after week.
Well, going wheat free doesn’t automatically mean you’re eating healthy. I think you have to make an effort to include the healthier options in your diets.
Tons of the gluten free stuff tastes so gross…disgusting actually. I had rice pasta once…I almost threw up.
Does your uncle eliminate wheat entirely and then replace it with something else? What does he include in place of wheat?
How come Lusi?
I guess I don’t like the feeling I have after I eat wheat…stomach feels bloated, I get cranky, feel tired and I cannot wait for that feeling to go away.
Wheat free and gluten free seems to be the craze/fad these days. 10 years ago it was something that people did for kids with autism and celiacs disease. I don’t think that wheat and meat are the enemies. If they were so bad alike pork or alcohol Islam would have forbidden it. The issue I think lies with the fact on how these foods are cultivated in the modern era. Most good is genetically modified (gmo) to provide spoilage. Most wheat:flour is chemically treated. Unfortunately virtually everything we get in grocery store is processed. It is disgusting to see that everything we buy or eat has dozens of unknown ingredients. Intially all I cared about was if something is halal or kosher (food items not meat). we all lead crazy busy lives and depend on this food like substances which are laden with chemicals or modified in numerous ways.
Most beef is treated with hormones and chemicals to produced plump juicy meat. Most oranges are injected with color and wax. I used to think that food tampering was something done in third world countries but it is even more rampant and legal here. when we get sick or have health issues we start blaming particular foods. Eating meat and wheat is permissible but of course everything should be in moderation.
The other issue is that we lead sedentary lives unlike our ancestors who had to physically active to survive. There bodies needed carbs Bc they actually burned them. Any of these diets will work for a given period of time.
In short…I strongly believe now to pay attention to what you eat. If you can grow your own veggies then more power to you. A varied plant based diet is very important.
It seems that way…especially for someone like me who lovvvvvvvvvvves chawal and macaroni and cheese.
It depends kyun ke apko ek aur qism ka maza acha lagne lagta hai…phir aap sochte bhi nahin ho and you just enjoy your food more. Its not for everyone though. Like yesterday…I made salmon burgers and I ate them with a ton of veggies. I also made some for a friend and he asked…“where the bun?”
I forgot that most people eat burgers with a bun You just don’t miss it anymore.