whats your take on this?

Totally agree with CB. It's so typical for desis especially to nitpick every good deed.

I have always wanted to adopt a girl from Pakistan or Afghanistan and have even discussed it with my fiance who is also very eager to do so! I do want kids of my own too but I think it's great to adopt and help at least one of the many millions of orphans out there in need of a good home. But there are other ways of helping out too such as sponsoring orphans through World Vision or Islamic Relief. I have done it and it's very rewarding!

Re: whats your take on this?

I am hoping to adopt at some point in my life, Inshallah. :)

I think you should go for it, regardless of what people say. MashAllah it is an amazing thing to do and I wish you all the best with whatever decision you take :)

i have addressed much of this before, so hafta find some old post and copy paste it here, too lazy to retype all that.

here ya go

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/304790-desi-rainbow-coalition-hee-hee.html#post6197741

summary-

1. u can give last name as long as you dont hide the fact that the child is adopted, which actually is the best thing to do anyways.

2. inheritance was set up in those days so ppls biolgical children and other inheritance stakeholders do not discourage adoption. you can always give the child a gift, in life or post humously. so if you want to gift x% of your assets to the adopted child, there is nothing that can stop it.

3. mehram issue- yeah two biologically unrelated child are na mehram for each other upin reaching puberty, basically meaning they can amrry each other and have to observe hijab etc. it is a non issue for most families because cousins are na mehram too. secondly if its such a big deal then teh adopting mother can breastfeed the adopted child and that child will be mehram for her biological child. Not that I assume kids will be checking their adopted siblings out or vice versa anyways. Could it happen sure..but come on..

masha-allah...i am so so happy to read all the replies on this forum..its just so surreal...i thought i would get feedback like " ant ou bear your own".."jub Allah ne is qabil banaya hai tou kiun na shukri kerti ho"...cos i know even my own mom as not too happy to hear this and not my closest best frind either....
gosh i am so happy i put my question down here..thankyou all...i am thinking now that our coming generations are going to be so much more helpful and non-judgemental...will always base decisions on facts and not fiction...this can really change a whole society and over-ride nonsense we hear around us all the time no?

Yup I thought of the breast feeding too while reading about NaMehram point posted by others. That will solve your problem.

I discussed this thread with my husband and asked him, if he were ever to consider adopting, would he think "what would my parents say about this?" He said no, he wouldn't consider what others had to say, not his parents either, anyway he didn't think they would discourage him.

Bubli, I think once you have actually adopted I think you mother would get used to the idea and won't be so negative, inshallah.

Bubli, my kids are adopted and we have not faced any sort of negativity from anyone, as a matter of fact just encouragement and support. To a point that an older couple in the family who dd not have any kids and had shied away from adopting for years went for it as well. They were concerned about the what would people say and how will they threat them and the kids issues.

Bahoo is not na-mahram to her FIL, until she is in nikkah to his son.

on the original topic: if your intention are honest then go for this deed. its a very noble deed, which not all of us can do. Just keep praying to ALLAH SWT that keep you honest and faithful in your every action, and keep you away from "sher". whereas worrying about things like mheram-na mheram only becomes an issue when the "tarbiat" is pathetic.

besides, mostly orphans become "ahsan-mand" after they find out that they were the few lucky ones who get shelter, food, and foremost a gaurdian. and they put more stress in finding the truth that why their actual parents left them in an orphanage.

yes Zobia, I looked it up myself as well and i was wrong in saying that FIL i a namahrem .. Its the brothers in law that are namehram ...

Indeed, and I was just reading about how Prophet SAW emphasized on BIL being "Death".

Subhanallah.

i like the flow of the conversation.so nice this thread.

Bubli, adoption is a very noble deed and some people's judgment should not keep one from doing something noble. Whether or not you decide to go ahead with the idea of adoption is your personal decision based on your own circumstances, but make sure it is not what people might think or say that concludes your decision.