WHATS wrong with a christmas tree?

Re: WHATS wrong with a christmas tree?

^ yea.

the same kind who have Halloween Parties :omg:

My vote goes for NO CHRISTMAS tree at home. (nadz u should have asked for a poll for this.)

As hareem n nadz said, I too dont want to be taken as Christian :nahi: neither i want my kids to grow up confused.

2ndly one should not be a Muslim by his/her intentions which only Allah can read. We are here talking about humans. How will you let another person know what is in your heart , what are you beliefs, or what are you intentions? With your actions. isnt? So keep your actions Musalmani too, so ppl who are looking at you know what you are. And if you are able to impress them with your actions, then they know what they are converting to.

Christmans Sales, for sure. Like here on Eid Sales everybody tries to take advantage oif that. Shopping mein bhi mazhab? :smack: . I am saving some money, being economical, it is exactly parallel to Islam teachings.

You dont have to but you can if you want to. Wouldnt make you less of a Muslim.

Again, my point stands.

If people feel Christmas trees are wrong.

Do not:

Have a mehndi

Have a Mayun

Wear a natt or teek or jhoomer on your weddings or even the color red

Take jahez with you

Dress up for Halloween

Go to XMas sales

etc etc etc

You know why we’re arguing about this?

Because a christmas tree has not made into the majority of homes yet. Not because its wrong. But because it isnt that fun for us.

The day we come to enjoy it…it will HALAL.

[FONT=verdana, arial, helvetica]

“The customs of the people are worthless, they cut a tree out of the forest, and a craftsman shapes it with his chisel, they adore it with silver and gold, they fasten it with hammer and nails so it will not totter” (Jeremiah 10:3,4). Bible

[FONT=verdana, arial, helvetica]Pre-Christian pagans superstitiously believed that the evergreen tree has special power of protection. In fact, the use of Christmas tree began in the 17th century, in Strasbourg, France and from there it spread to Germany, Britain and then to the U.S. “Tree worship was a common feature of religion among the Teutonic and Scandinavian peoples of northern Europe before their conversion to Christianity…German settlers brought the Christmas tree custom to the American colonies in the 17th century. By the 19th century its use was quite widespread”. (Compton’s Encyclopedia, 1998 Edition)

Commentary of Hadeeth
The aforementioned hadeeth “Whoever imitates a group, then he is from amongst them” has been derived from two famous books of ahadeeth ‘Mishkaat’ and ‘Abu Dawood’ and is narrated by Hadhrat Ibn Umar (R.A). Whoever imitates a group (be they disbelievers or transgressors or even pious people), in acts of good or bad they will be regarded from amongst according to the sin or reward. By imitation here it is meant imitation in general, for example manners, clothing, figure and appearance, lifestyle etc. are included.

I agree with Reha on the Do Not List. Unfortunately these practices have become a part of culture and and so normal that we find it weird or narrow-minded to reject them. Whilst I think it is important for people to know and understand the Islamic Ruling on such things I do not think one should go around naming and labelling others for such practices.

Links: http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-37127.html
Roundcube Webmail :: Welcome to Roundcube Webmail

Allah knows best

sorry to say but I believe you are the one doing the arguing here :) by getting a bit accusatory and telling everyone why YOU think they don't like christmas trees in the house, rather than listening, respecting and responding to the various reasons people have given here. you got to respect their reasons even if you don't agree with them instead of making up your own reasons for their decision.

I respect everyone’s opinion. What I wrote is what I believe to be true and my opinion. Sorry to say but if you feel like Im accusing you, you should wonder why…dont you think?

I do not believe its anyone’s place in our society to point fingers at someone putting up a tree and calling it haram. People simply do not have that right, especially after all of the lying, backbiting and hundreds of other gunahs that happen all through the day.

I dont even put one up but to think people will have the nerve to say its haram when they do many more, even more horrific things is just…wrong. Our entire culture is based on haram practices but no one pays attention to that. People wear makeup, short sleeves, capris, fitted clothing, lie, cheat, etc etc etc. Put up a Christmas tree and we have people running after you with a Qur’an in their hands.

Does anyone know the origin of the nose ring Pakistani women wear in their noses? Has anyone ever bothered to find out about that?

News flash :::: its not mandated by Islam. In fact, it is a religious ritual (honoring one of their gods) adapted from Hindus signifying marriage. Which is usually right around the time our girls get it done also. How many women will take out their nose rings tonight? Apparently, a nose ring is harmless but a tree is equivalent to sending your children on the path of the kufffaaaaaaar. Ridiculous :chai:

Just to clarify: I dont mean to offend anyone here. I really dont. But I say things as I see them. I see no harm in doing that because its a double standard being practiced here. If you do it, its Islam. If someone else does it, its haram. No way.

dude i dont see anything wrong in celebrating christmas (im not religious, and i dont celebrate christmas cause my family are hardcore muslims) but, i mean, you're celebrating the birth of one the most important prophets, you celebrate miladun nabi, you should celebrate issa's birthday too, but dont do it like goras, dont go all out materialistic, this was actually my dad's view, my initial view was the actual date is debateable, and that its pretty non-muslim thing to do, but then i kinda changed my mind after listning to him. (We still dont celebrate christmas though, no trees, no decoration etc.)

Reha, this is what I was referring to, you cannot speak for everyone in this thread by dismissing their reasoning and making it sound so trivial. i don't know who called it 'haram' but maybe you should have addressed that post directly otherwise your posts seem out of context by lumping one and all in this category above and getting a bit too emotional in the process :)

When men want to trivialize things, they start to use terms like “emotional” to invalidate a woman’s opinion. Its a standard male response and it has no affect me. :chai:

I am addressing people who believe Christmas trees are haram. Simple. :slight_smile:

If you find an x-mas tree haram, you should also find all of the Indian inspired things in our culture haram. Where is the confusion here? If desi (again, I am referring to the above mentioned) people enjoyed x-mas…they would be the first ones chopping trees in the Amazon and selling them in their convenient marts. Its because they do not yet. The day they do, all of this will change.

Its a religious buffet…pick and choose what you like to do. And if someone picks what you do not pick…its haram. :chai:

who puts a tree for decoration reasons in his house? :khums:

What about displaying received Xmas cards up at home, is that wrong as well? Or accepting Xmas gifts? Should we just give them back :(

Dude…don’t waste your time…honest advice :wink:

:omg: :omg:

It is what it is. Anyway, thats another thread topic in itself.

Recycle them.

:hehe: i know man, there is no point reasoning here, its an alien concept to some. people just like to have the last word whether they are making sense or not, rather than having an objective discussion.

may be ppl do it. by that i meant if they want to there is nothing wrong…also u do get small sized Christmas trees

na I don't wanna have trees in my house...if that was so I could also live in a Jungle full of trees...