Whats up with "Missed Calls" in Pakistan

Re: Whats up with “Missed Calls” in Pakistan

Communicating? Communication? how is giving someone a miss call communicating? its annoying. Why not just send a SMS now that would be communicating. Seriously if you buy a mobile phone and then can’t offered to send a SMS then you need to be shot in the head for being a bum. And SMS costs about 3 rupees or something. Even a beggar could offered 3 rupees. Come on!

Re: Whats up with "Missed Calls" in Pakistan

I call it stinginess.

At one end you have every affording and non-affording showing off his/her cell phone and at the other you have these very people being stingy when it comes to calling others or sending text messages. Why have a cell phone in the first place when you cannot afford it.

here is an example for you stomp.

I use msn at night about 11 or 12 pm so when i get ready for msn thing i just miss call my friend who i want to chat with. Should i call daily to let him know im online??? isn’t a miss call more efficent mean of communnication?

someone has put it right up there americans are stupid :clown:

10 Rupees ??? :eek:

Baap re, Chanda ! you can buy heaven in 10 Rupees.

10 Rupees is like 5 Rupee two times :hehe: If you can buy some yummy ice cream for rupee 10 then why waste it on phone calls ??

Any way a mobile call does not cost you 10 Rupees, actually it costs lot less

Most expensive is about 3 rupees/ min and some companies do charge for seconds …

anyway

Now how the hell it is a way of Comunication ??

I can explain, see when you call someone, your number (name ) appears on the mobile fone of reciepient its called CLI (it is free of cost ) now its upto you that you want to recieve the call or disconnect it.

Now most of us in pakistan know some basic telepathy, we figure out easily wat is the message next person want to convey ( of course he/she is good friend ) Friends knows what is in each other’s heart :hugz:

See the few example

I have plans for a hangout, I am late I recieve a call from friend I let it ring and eventually it is a missed call I know what it means !

it means :

Oye gadhey, ab aa bhi jaaa… teri waja see hamarey pait main chohey kabbadi khail rahey hain

but nowadays people dont bother much (except for students) as phone call is cheap, sms is chic too … sarey student sms pe chaltey hain

Sadiyah - Yes we are cheap :clown: and stingy :clown:

Tum ko bhi miss call karooon kia ?? :wink:

You can send him a SMS off the net for FREE! I don’t see the point to miss calling someone.

Still send a SMS. Come on yaar!

This just reminds me of the story of the “boy who cried out wolf”

I used to top my phone up everyday in Pakistan it used to cost be about 1000rs or something. I mean its so cheap. I used to go to shop and buy all the box of topup cards. And I’d get ppl looking at me like am mental or something.

Pakistan is a cheap country, you can build your own house in Pakistan for 50 lack rupees - thats peanuts!

Stomp i felt the same way.. when u come with dollars or pounds, everything is cheap, but if ure recieving an allowance or getting paid in rupees, it doestn seem alot :whistling:

No its not. Seriously its not! lol man you guys are funny.

Its not even 10p lol I through away change like that behind my bed. lol

my cousin n i wud miss call each other just for fun n race to pick up the call hehe

Yeah I went to Pakistan with pounds. Put I mean, ppl in my villages. Had tractors and 17 lak cars. and 1 lak motorbikes.

Its its not like they are poor, I mean in England I come from a 4th generation middle class family. But I mean its still cheap I do know the value of money. When my brother had his wedding we spent 140 lak rups. On gold and ect…

i think most sms in pak is free now is it not?

It's fine if there's a pre-established protocol as to what a missed call would mean... e.g. in the case of ImranQ and a missed call around a certain time meaning come online for chat.

However, Asif's example about the driver is just plain absurd. There was no pre-established protocol ! A double-honk from outside the house would have been a better indicator that the guy was outside.

At least his dad specified what the missed call would mean to him - that works.

LOL...ya true...

I dont post very often but just had to respond on this one.

Asif I'm with you 100%. My story is a bit long but it will prove your point well!

I got back from pakistan about 10 weeks or so ago and when I was there, I had many massive arguments with my cousins over their "miss calling" antics.

one of several incidents:

I needed to contact my cousin who had gone to the shops to tell him that we needed him to get something in addition to what was on his list.

I rang him about 30 times but he just wouldnt answer. Pakistan is a noisy place so I thought maybe he hadnt heard it. He finally arrived home and I asked him why he never answered - he replies - yes I heard the phone but I was about to leave the bazaar and didnt want you to be charged for the call. Im like err ok but I'm paying and was happy for you to answer and had you done so, it would have saved you another hour cos your going right back at more cost than a call.

This kind of crap continued daily to the point of frustration. And in addition, I would get missed calls off the same cousins. When I would ask them what it meant, they would say stupid things like "it means im going to be late/early/not coming/Im already here/Im eating/Im missing you/I went to college/its sunny/its raining/im happy/im sad/how are you/i am fine/where are you/shall we go out/the crickets on/can you get me a kilo of chicken breast and onions and I will pay you tomorrow" etc etc - exagerated a touch I know but almost true.

Then one night we split into two parties as we were going for a family meal (about 15 people). I urgently needed to tell my cousin who was with the other driver that our plans had changed and we were in another place on the same road. Did he answer his mobile? Did he hell! Eventually he found us and the same reasons came out - didnt want you to be charged we were on our way etc.

As it happened, on our return journey, our car broke down and it was about midnight. The other group had returned home and the same cousin started to call me. I thought hmm lets see if this is as good as they say it is so I simply didnt answer - we werent far from home and I knew they were worried. I had about 20 calls but just didnt answer. Surely these pak mindreader knew what I meant (hehehe)

When I got home I got a massive telling off for not answering my mobile as they were all worried etc etc - hypocrites!

To this day I get missed calls from pak and Im back in the uk - I still have no idea what im supposed to do with them though.

“aap ko miss call mara to tha…” "

LOL :hehe:

Just Rs. 140 lacs…u stingy :snooty:

lol..... i think its amazing that ppl in pak actually know what the other person is saying by just making a missed call.... for example.. i was at one of my cousins house and her cell phone rings she just looks at who is calling and doesn't answer well it stops ringing after the 2nd bell anyways so i said who was it...she's like.."oh just a friend i talk to every morning and today i didn't get a chance so she is sending me a missed call"... and i'm like oh ok...i mean how did she know thats what she was calling for and not for some other reason????

^ it means

Teri tu …

*Teri Taaaaan *

Hameshaaa yaad sataway …

Stomp - 140 lac ?? :eek: just 140 ???

Man you people are real misers ! Tussi sheikh te nai hondey ?

Okey just kidding

hey another joke I remember it was sent on sms

If it rings once … then it means I remeber you

If it rings twice … it means you are in my prayers

If it rings 3 times … then it means I deeply miss you

If it rings 4 times…it means I am close to your heart and soul

If it rings 5 times … then it means …

Pick up the damn phone YOU IDIOT ! I need to talk to you :mad:

it's interesting how most of you haven't heard of it. It happens quite a lot actually and yeah i would admit that it gets annoying for people who are there for vacation like me and who aren't used to it.

:slight_smile: :slight_smile:

This just more than funny…
:hoonh: :hoonh: Well i guess every1 has their own reason, so we cant really judge them…cant u guys shudnt judge the americans either…cuz its not their fault like going bak after 7 to 9 years…things like this happen:) :slight_smile: