What's the closest you have ever come to death?

Re: What’s the closest you have ever come to death?

I am sorry for being irrelevant here but it reminded me of that Madonna song “I think I’ll die another day, its not my time to go” :music: I love it.

Re: What's the closest you have ever come to death?

so far never!

At 9 years: Was hit by a car while crossing the road. Only had a minor concussion though, Alhamdulillah.
At 21 years: An overspeeding idiot crashed into my car, just 3 days after I had bought it. I also had 2 friends in the car. Luckily none of us was hurt.
At 23 years: Spent 3 weeks in hospital due to a severe pancreatitis. It was not life-threatening, but it could have been trouble if treatment had not started at the right time.

Was showing off my driving skills and just breaked before I could get on the path of a huge truck loaded with gas.

over a year ago i went to visit my hubby in pakistan, on the way home from the aiport, our car flipped over on the motorway. very scary and if we hadnt been wearing seatbelts,culdve been a lot of worse but alhamdulillah we were barely injured, Allah saved us.

^^ Last time I visited Pak, some of my friends were laughing hard at me for wearing seat belt everytime I was in the car. Some idiots there even get the belts removed from their cars, especially back seats, coz they prick passengers’ bums and are uncomfortable to sit on :hehe:

Try singing it when its actual time to ..u know…

Almost fell off a moving train in Pakistan :(

Door khara hony ky liy naheen hota

gotten too excited checking out those village people doing their business out in the open along the railway track?

: p

j/k

i am sorry..but it was soo funny:hehe:

Khwab main kai bar bal ke aik do bar tru bad merney ke bhi daikha khud ko lolz haqeeqi zindagi main teen(3) bar really face to face with her aik bar tu Kalma bhi perh klya tha sochty hoey ke Allah tera shukar hai kalma perhna naseeb hu giya magar shukar hai jaisa ke Janwar ne bazaban-e-Medona kaha it’s not my time to go gatey haoey wapis hoi:D

Lolz:hehe: You know what khwab main merey sath yeh howa ke patta chala merny wali hon main ny kaha ab kiya hu sakta hai chalo chalty hain if this is the time to go:(:wink: Magar os ke baad kiya daikha woh mujhy yad nahi magar that was a spin just like Disney’s ride believe me full of fun if it happened in real life may be you could have sing that when we are ready to go can do anything at that time:D

I have survived numerous incidents like traffic accidents, airplane crashes and many near misses but I don't think I ever got close to death. I believe as a Muslim that the time of my death is already predetermined by Allah and do what I may, I can get close to my death only with the passage of time as the predestined time approaches. Exposure to worldly risks/dangers/illnesses can scare you, injure you, maim you, effect your quality of life but cannot in any way bring you close to death. We must understand that death is never the result of an accident or incident; it is that Allah arranges for us to go at the appointed time in a particular way. The law of probability does not apply here.
Please don't start shooting me with things like, you mean to say,"if you jump in front of a moving train, nothing will happen to you because your time is not up?" No, I don't believe that either but I do understand that protecting our lives is again our duty as decreed by Allah and if your time is not up, you will never be able to reach a situation where you have to jump.
Raise your guns and start firing, I am ready.

^^ Everyone understands that point. We are talking here in worldly terms, not the spiritual ones.

I don't think I have been understood correctly. There is just one life and hence there is just one death that is there. There is no concept of a worldly death or a spiritual one. Death means that your body stops functioning and it is a physical fact. Dying means that you are no more a living human being, we are not talking about spirituality here, just the end of our limited lives. There is just one death and that is when your heart stops beating, when your pulse rate and blood pressure drops to zero and when you do not breathe any more.
This is the death that I am talking about and its onset is not controlled by accidents, crashes, falls, bullets, explosions etc etc but by the time decide by Allah. Nothing can ever bring anybody close to his/her death if the time has not come. Haven't you heard tumhari zindagi ki hifazat tumhari maut karti hai.
An airplane crashes and out of three hundred people, just two survive, why? Just because their time had not come. All those who die in that crash do not die because of the airplane going down but because there time was up. If a crash could cause death, everybody would have died.
I remember having read an incident that happened in America a long tome ago. There was a woman so sick and tired of her husband that she decided to commit suicide. She opened the window of her apartment on the thirty seventh floor and jumped out on the road below. She landed on top of a pedestrian. The impact broke the pedestrian's neck and he died instantly but the woman's fall got cushioned and she survived with minor injuries. Guess who was the pedestrian? It was her husband.
I think I have made my point.

^ :smack: You did’t get it.

ok put it this way … no one knows for sure when they are going to die but a lot of us, at times, have experiences (accidents, severe sickness etc.) when we think we are going to die <<< and that is what we are talking about here. It has got nothing to do with what you are saying. There is a reason this thread is in All Views and not in Religious section.

Fine. I too, don’t want to get too religious about it but the fact is, the time of death is a very very religious thing for Muslims. Agreed, now it is a case of a wrong perception of imminent death resulting due to weak faith in Allah. I cannot agree to disagree on this.

June 26th - 3:30 Am Friday morning. 3 armed men broke into our house and ransacked the place. Oddly enough they left us alone when they realised we were Muslims.

April 24th - Detained by National Security

Jan 25th - Robbed at gun point outside UN office.

We’ve heard you loud and clear SIR. It’s just that you are in the wrong section. May be the following will suit you more for the kind of stuff you have to say

Religion & Scripture