There
was no such thing as India 54 years ago, does it mean there is no such thing as Indian culture? There was no Iran 50 years ago, does it mean there is no Iranian culture?
By your logic then if Pakistani cultre is an oxy moron, then Indian culture is also an oxy moron. As for jewish culture, it is the culture shared by all jews whther they are askenizic, iranian, ethopian yemenite etc… or whether they are from russia, poland, US etc… The term is equivalent of Islamic culture.
And dont worry about Nawaz Sharrif , he was pretty good. One thing I dont worry about is Indian and Indian leadershhip, most of it is self degenerating and the eorse is that Indians as such have no qualms about it and have a bizzare sense of conformity. In that regard Nawaz sharrif was pretty ok, not worse than any indian leader there has been.
There was no such thing as India 54 years ago, does it mean there is no such thing as Indian culture? <<
Really you ought to have your head examined Sultantorah!!
Ask any American and he will tell you Columbus discovered America.
And what was Columbus looking for?
He was looking for India.
By the WAy, did they teach you in Pakistan that Columbus was in fact looking for Pakistan?
There was no Iran 50 years ago, does it mean there is no Iranian culture?<<
Well there was. Iran was Persia until 1935 and they are quite proud of their Persian heritage.
In that regard Nawaz sharrif was pretty ok, not worse than any indian leader there has been. <<
Nah you are mistaken again. Indian leaders don’t go to Washington or Moscow and start dancing and begging for intervention!!
wdoes columbus discovering America has anything to with this?
AMerica and its native population always existed and columbus did not call it america, it was later named after amerigo. doesnot mean that the people inhabiting that country didnt have self realization of their identities and regions.
And columbus was looking for the markets of the far east. Not once did he say that he was looking for India. And by the was red indians is from the term "indios" which meant the people of god which he applied to the native americans. I came across it, during my enrollment ina course about US history.
SO you are saying the exact same thing as I have been saying, Iran is the name of the land that was previously called Persia. And it was called Persia by the greeks. The persians referred to themsleves as Farsi. Just like persepolis= shehre faris.
And secondly, Pakistan's territories also has its name dating back centuries. Pakistan is just a new name for this territory. In priniple it is the combination of 3 countrys gandhara, arachosia and indus. When people were referring to the the region called Indus they did not mean the rest of India but just the territory of the river Indus. As a matter of fact Pakistan's territories throughout its history have been quite independant from what is today India.
Pakistan and its culture havebeen there since ages. Just India's have been there
Originally posted by Muni:
I can't be proud of something like Nationalism and stupidity.
I don't find anything wrong in being proud of one's nationality. I'll disregard the other comment.
Look at this thread, it is always about dividing ourselves up into not only India vs. Pakistan but little localities and regions.
No Muni, it's about identifying or trying to identify who we are.. finding the fine lines between different cultures. it's not black and white.. borders just don't divide people up that differently.
There will always be a place for religion and it's effect on culture, but it wouldn't effect the similarities in the way we eat and how we cook it or the language we speak and in the manner we speak it.
Culture dominates various aspects of our personality.. e.g. the 'jugat' culture of Punjab.. it's strange how people on either side of the border have the same penchant for repartee and a tall glass of lassi.
If this is culture then hell with it!
As I said.. no one expects you to understand, let alone appreciate it.
There is No Spoon
Originally posted by devil123:
in india ,i have seen muslim womens wearing mangalsutra after marriages...
so i want to know if muslims in pakistan have this custom..
Anyone care to explain what mangalsutra is?
Being an American, like all Pakistani girls, I’m a product of the Indian Pop culture. Does that make me Indian? Everything I know about “Culture” is from Indian film, indian songs, indian cultural shows in college.
Then I’m hindu for today! I feel quite hindu! I guess that’s what really nice about us being Pakistani, we’re not really muslim, we do adopt the hindu ways
Woo Hoo! Hindustan Zindabad!
One is definitely influenced by one’s environment, but one doesn’t necessarily have to adopt everything thrown their way.
Growing up, I was exposed to a LOT of Indian pop culture through movies and songs and what not. However, living in Pakistan it always remained kind of alien to me.. something that I would only get to see on TV, but when I went out, things were a little different.. I knew touching people’s feet was for “them” not us.. our women didn’t put saindoor in their maangs, nor wear mangalsutars.. We were used to seeing them with dupattas on their head.. (mind you not chaddors or burqas, cuz that started on a grand scale when that SOB Zia forced it down people’s throats)
I’d eat goal gappay but not call it paani puri; with the imlee kaa panee not the chutney they use in North India and goes without saying.. eat in dozens instead of ones and twos like they do in North India.
Of course I got equally exposed to Pakistani TV, dramas, movies and songs and folklore. On top of which there were all the reruns of American/British sitcoms and movies which PTV could afford to buy at that time.
Growing up I had access to literature ranging from Krishen Chandar to Shafiq-ur-Rehman down to the teeny Hardy Boys and MAD and Archies. (i’m showing my age here)
Did all of this make me a Paki/Indian/Pommie/Yankee?? I would still like to be called a Desi.. that’s what Pakistanis are.. we emerge from a never ending influence of alien cultures on an ancient culture. We morph and we absorb. Even our language is borrowed and improvised from existing languages.
Doesn’t make me any less proud of my ‘culture’ though.
There is No Spoon
Nah PA, don't get me wrong.
** I am proud of my Indian Heritage! **
**Nah PA, don't get me wrong.
** I am proud of my Indian Heritage! ****
MUNI DONT KID YOURSELF ...YOU & ALL HERE AS WELL AS WHOLE PAKISTAN INDIA & BANGLADESH WILL BE ONE BIG AMERICAN CULTURE
JUSTLITTLE BIT OF THIS & LITTLE BIT OF THAT CAN MAKE INDIAN CURRY BUT NOT CULTURE .YOU ARE NEITHER PAKISTANI B/C YOU DONT KNOW TO SPELL IQLAQ & YOU ARE NOT HINDU INDIAN B/C YOU HELL DONT KNOW HOW MANY VEDAS ARE WHETHER GEETA ISA BOOK OR A GIRL & UPANISHAD IS MAGIC OR SACRED BOOK? NOW SHATTAP MUNI
door ke dhol suhawan
Familiarity breeds Contempt
OMG, it seems that no one got the point of my thread. I was trying to challenge some of our beliefs. Sometimes things like Eid or Christmas mean so much in terms of celebrating the holiday with all of our material possessions that we lose the meaning of the holiday as well as our values. That was the point. I wanted to challenge you with "is culture so important that we lose our universal values", and I wanted to find out why it is that in a society blessed with right guidance we see such loss of universal values.
U tried, all of u but just didn't get it...
**OMG, it seems that no one got the point of my thread. I was trying to challenge some of our beliefs. Sometimes things like Eid or Christmas mean so much in terms of celebrating the holiday with all of our material possessions that we lose the meaning of the holiday as well as our values. That was the point. I wanted to challenge you with "is culture so important that we lose our universal values", and I wanted to find out why it is that in a society blessed with right guidance we see such loss of universal values.
U tried, all of u but just didn't get it...
Indeed your universal values of your INDIAN heritage just taought the world value of klling 500+ innocent children & women being less than a MAndir .....i can teach you more about your proud indian heritage
[This message has been edited by FYI (edited March 03, 2002).]
Originally posted by FYI:
** Indeed your universal values of your INDIAN heritage just taought the world value of klling 500+ innocent children & women being less than a MAndir .....i can teach you more about your proud indian heritage
[This message has been edited by FYI (edited March 03, 2002).]**
FYI-
Doesn't seem that you can process the English language.
Do you understand the meaning of "universal values"? There is no such thing as "Universal values of Indian Heritage"?
My pride in Indian Heritage has nothing to do with the insanity that has occured in India.
I would normally ignore stupid comments like FYI's but I have my limit to ignore stupidity.
Originally posted by Andhra:
Really you ought to have your head examined Sultantorah!!
Ask any American and he will tell you Columbus discovered America.
And what was Columbus looking for?
He was looking for India.
bhai meray you are not succeed to call you bharti in 54 years. the name india is given by british ppl, and they called india to many countries of south asisa, nepal burma etc. all other countries are calling themselves by their own names only the ppl of your country are failed and they are still using the word indian for them. it shows your weakness. here is nothing for you to be proud of.
native americans are also called indians.
<<<<<originally posted by munni
I wanted to challenge you with “is culture so important that we lose our universal values”.>>>>>>>>>>
munni do you know what is a universal value.
culture.
Muni Jee!
When I started out Uni, I had to two Hyderabadis classmates. They also seemed to have this acute problem with our "Paki culture". One of their pet peeve was the fact that their parents pushed them to get higher marks and everything. Really got them going.
I don't mean to stereotype but is this culture bashing a Hyderabadi thing. Is there something going on solely in the Hyderabadi community that is upsetting to the newer generation?
Cool Muni
I will like to know what hyderabadi ENGLISH is that she is so proud of.
I CAN PROCESS ENGLISH SILLY ,WHAT I CANNOT DO IS READ YOUR PUNY MIND WHAT YOU MEAN OTHER THAN ACCEPTED MEANING IN ENGLISH LANGUIAGE AS TAUGHT IN ENGLAND THE MOTHER OF THE LANGUAGE AMERICAN ARE TAUGHT.:rooleyes:
On second thaught you were more interested in Pop culture of Bollywood.What do you know of SCHOLARSHIP…no not the money kind but “in depth study kind” which is too much for AIR HEADS
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/ahaa.gif
bimbos …they are not always blonds either .
Main Akela he chalaa thaa janib-e-manzil magar
Log saath aatey rahey aur Carvaan Badhta gaya
Must I state the obvious?
Universal values are values seen in every culture.
FYI-
Glad to know that you can process English, now I’m wondering if you can process any thoughts. Now you’re going to challenge American English?
Doll, it doesn’t matter if you speak british English if you can’t process and be logical, won’t do u any good.
Dear muni,
I dont know what all the rambling is about but probably has to do with one's culture and identity crap, allow me to say one thing:
culture sucks.
bye
Cup cake
You say "whats so great About our culture "
That means in your puny mind you cant think of one great value in your culture …if that is the case then how can you say in ALL culture
“values seen in every culture” =universal values
are you talking of CULTURE or VALUES
make upyour mind.
Somthing specific to practicing muslims are
for one i can tell you one good value of islamic culture is
they have less cancer of female organs b/c of moral sex practices
same goes for male practicing muslims
provided you know what practice consist of also !
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
When you come back with one good value in your culture then we can continue …
The way christianity & hinduism is being practiced there is hardly any christian or hindu Religous culture to compare with .
Main Akela he chalaa thaa janib-e-manzil magar
Log saath aatey rahey aur Carvaan Badhta gaya