what is this syndrome but plz explain in simple, short manners.
Re: whats PCOS?
PCOS is polycystic Ovarian syndrome. It usually effects women's menstrual cycle, ability to have children, hormones, heart, blood vessels, and appearance. Not all at the same time though. There are stages and varies from woman to woman. It effects 1 in every 10 women and usually is not an extremely serious condition and with some diet modifications, exercise and occasional medication, it can go unnoticeable.
I have PCOS. My body is insulin resistant. I have started treatment just 3 days ago and its going excellent Alhumdulillah.
PCOS is polycystic Ovarian syndrome. It usually effects women's menstrual cycle, ability to have children, hormones, heart, blood vessels, and appearance. Not all at the same time though. There are stages and varies from woman to woman. It effects 1 in every 10 women and usually is not an extremely serious condition and with some diet modifications, exercise and occasional medication, it can go unnoticeable. I have PCOS. My body is insulin resistant. I have started treatment just 3 days ago and its going excellent Alhumdulillah.
i have PCOS and high insulin as well. i couldnt loose weight with it and fall pregnant. i took medication for insulin and it helped me fall pregnant. my hubby also has very high insulin levels.
one relative struggles for about 3 years and couldnt have a baby..........it was so depressing for her as she wanted kids.......now she is expecting.
but weight loss is the main problem, would be hard to loose but need to loose.
PCOS is polycystic Ovarian syndrome. It usually effects women's menstrual cycle, ability to have children, hormones, heart, blood vessels, and appearance. Not all at the same time though. There are stages and varies from woman to woman. It effects 1 in every 10 women and usually is not an extremely serious condition and with some diet modifications, exercise and occasional medication, it can go unnoticeable. I have PCOS. My body is insulin resistant. I have started treatment just 3 days ago and its going excellent Alhumdulillah.
n how do one know does she has PCOs?
i mean symptoms?
blood test and even ultrasound to see whether overies are working normally.
there are symptoms attached to PCOs such as:
weight gain and hard to loose
mild baldness
irregular periods
diffculty felling pregnant
these are some and very common one
i have PCOS and high insulin as well. i couldnt loose weight with it and fall pregnant. i took medication for insulin and it helped me fall pregnant. my hubby also has very high insulin levels.
one relative struggles for about 3 years and couldnt have a baby..........it was so depressing for her as she wanted kids.......now she is expecting.
but weight loss is the main problem, would be hard to loose but need to loose.
My insulin is not high. My body is insulin "resistant". According to my blood tests and ultra sounds, I should not have problem conceiving if I try to get pregnant (I'm not married yet).
i mean symptoms?
The # 1 symptom is irregular periods. A women suffering from PCOS might have just a few periods a year - or maybe one or two periods a year. Unexplained weight gain is also a symptom. These 2 were the cases with me.
Other than that, some women might even notice abnormal hair growth. Some women seem to grow chin hair, hair on places you didn't have hair before. This is due to unusually high testosterone levels in the body that is a classic symptom as well.
An ultrasound is not a good measure for diagnosing PCOS. Reason being, your abdomen is usually swollen as the lining for the uterus is very thick due to irregular periods and an imaging is usually very difficult. Doctors don't rely on ultrasounds to diagnose PCOS so they do blood tests.
The best way is a trans-vaginal ultrasound. Since I am a virgin, they could not perform one on me so I had to do a regular ultrasound and blood tests.
In some cases, depending on the level of your PCOS, fertility can be an issue. Even so, many cases can be easily resolved by taking ovulation medication that your doctor recommends.
To determine what your specific problem is, you must see your primary care physician. Only your doctor can diagnose and treat your condition.
They can perform a vaginal ultrasound if you're a virgin or not. You just choose not to (even though it's smaller than a tampon).
They use an ultrasound to detect the possibility of cysts which are the culprit behind missed periods. If your body has a tendency to produce cysts, then you're not easily going to get pregnant.
Most common symptoms:
Missed Periods
Cysts
Hirsutism (excessive hair growth of terminal hair --such as the type on your head and pubic region, in areas where it does not normally grow.
Skin tags
Dark patches or velvet patches of skin
Insulin resistance
High levels of testosterone
Obesity and inability to lose weight
Acne and oily skin
Balding
etc
(those are the most common)
And it actually only affects 5% of women, not 1 in 10.
I have PCOS as well. It's hell. I go for months (longest was nearly a year), without a period. I also have tumors though, which are unrelated. My ovaries seriously need to be ripped out. It's not worth it I say! Just adopt! :D
If you have it, you definitely need to take progesterone supplements or birth control. Excessive lining of the uterus causes uterine cancer.
^ Your case is obviously an extreme one. Mine, however, isn't all that complicated thankfully. I'm guessing your kind of condition effects 5%? You could be right though.. I can't argue on percentages since I never believe these statistics anyways!
Actually, they really can't do a trans-vaginal on virgins that have never used a tampon before. Virgins who use tampons have looser vaginal muscles than those who haven't used them and it could be slightly easier to try and suggest a trans-vag for them. They did try one but the thing they pulled out to do one was certainly "not" the size of a small tampon!! haha..
Plus they concluded my vaginal muscles were way tighter than most women and just for virgins in general. They proceeded to stick in something the size of a regular cigarette -- didn't happen! Not to mention the pain! ugh.
Anyway, my case, although a classic PCOS case, is not as severe as many. Sometimes, I'd only have a single period in a year..! However, I don't have cysts and hormones are not so off that mild medication won't bring them down in due course of time. Its much to do with the fact that my body is insulin resistant. After much contemplation, tests, some meds and more tests, it is clear I should not have any major issues getting pregnant.
But I do pray for your health. This stuff can be so stressful for the body. They say the body goes through the most physiological stress during childbirth, a period is next in line..!
me and my sister both have pcos, it runs in the family i guess. my sister also has insulin problems
I was diagnosed with PCOS at the start of the year after 4 years of hospital visits. I was 14 when i had my first period and since then i've had no more than 7. I'm overweight and i'm finding it extremely hard to lose anything, i have disgustingly bad hair growth on my face and chin. Its so bad i've resorted to shaving it cause it literally grows back within a day, makes me feel so manly, i hate it.
Any advice on how to shift the weight?
I can deal with most of the problems but it literally kills me knowing this could affect my chances of having children in the future cause they mean the WORLD to me.
Also, were any of you diagnosed with PCOS before you were married? And did you tell your husband you had this problem before hand...this is the massive dillemma i'm in. My mum doesn't want to tell anyone about it, spesh potential grooms, but i feel soooo guilty not saying anything. Did you guys come across any of these problems?
I was diagnosed with PCOS at the start of the year after 4 years of hospital visits. I was 14 when i had my first period and since then i've had no more than 7. I'm overweight and i'm finding it extremely hard to lose anything, i have disgustingly bad hair growth on my face and chin. Its so bad i've resorted to shaving it cause it literally grows back within a day, makes me feel so manly, i hate it.
Any advice on how to shift the weight?
I can deal with most of the problems but it literally kills me knowing this could affect my chances of having children in the future cause they mean the WORLD to me.
Also, were any of you diagnosed with PCOS before you were married? And did you tell your husband you had this problem before hand...this is the massive dillemma i'm in. My mum doesn't want to tell anyone about it, spesh potential grooms, but i feel soooo guilty not saying anything. Did you guys come across any of these problems?
you should see a doctor as its better if you start getting treatment early. i think most people have it and they dont know till they are married or have other issues. i found out a year after my marriage as i wanted to loose weight and couldnt and i kind of ignored it till i wanted to have a baby and than i was depressed. my husband was very supportive.
you dont have to tell anyone and there is nothing wrong in seeing a doctor about it. know one can find out whether you have it or not.
if u have trouble loosing weight, tell your doctor, she/he may prescribe you medicine for weight loss. also my husband and i were on diabex and it did helped him and me to loose some weight.
it will take time and depending on what percent of PCOS you have, it will go away.
its a normal and common thing. do consult a doctor as soon as possibe and it will go away. better start now than later
my best friend has pcos... she's in her 30s and was on metformin to prep her body for pregnancy but she had severe side effects to the metformin and had to stop taking it. she is seeing a pcos fertility specialist in chicago and he advised her the chances of conceiving drop drastically when you're 30+ so she basically needed to be preggo yesterday. unfortunately that hasn't happened... :/
have any of you gals heard of any desi treatments that might help her conceiving? the fertility specialist is doing what he can but i think metformin is key to his treatment and she can't continue with it.
my best friend has pcos... she's in her 30s and was on metformin to prep her body for pregnancy but she had severe side effects to the metformin and had to stop taking it. she is seeing a pcos fertility specialist in chicago and he advised her the chances of conceiving drop drastically when you're 30+ so she basically needed to be preggo yesterday. unfortunately that hasn't happened... :/
have any of you gals heard of any desi treatments that might help her conceiving? the fertility specialist is doing what he can but i think metformin is key to his treatment and she can't continue with it.
i know one aunty who had POCs and she got some medicines from some hakeem in pakistan.
i think your friend should follow doctor's instructions and pray. shouldnt go on desi treatment. should consult several doctors and ask their opinion. 30+ is not bad unless she is close to 40. i have seen people conceiving even at 40.
Actually, they really can't do a trans-vaginal on virgins that have never used a tampon before.
I had one done by the hospital and omg did it hurt, the next time i went to get the results the doctor said she didnt understand why they gave me one cause if you're a virgin it gives no useable result, i was just like...okayy. She then had me booked in for an ultrasound instead.
its a normal and common thing. do consult a doctor as soon as possibe and it will go away. better start now than later
i've been on medication since then, they started me on the pill to regulate my periods, that had no affect on me apart from making me gain weight, they also gave me metformin for the excess hair and to help with weight loss but it just made me so ill, constant tummy pain, vomitting etc was horrible.
I just read this on review…
**HEALTHWISE: PCOS — What every woman should know **
**Wednesday, 27 Aug, 2008 | 05:09 PM PKT | **
Shamama Shabbir
Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), which some gynaecologists refer to as an infertility disorder, is actually a common medical condition, affecting as many as one in 15 women. That’s why every woman needs to have a basic understanding of the disease so she can recognise the symptoms and take action as soon as possible. Fortunately there are a host of treatments available that can help control the symptoms and prevent long-term problems.
**A polycystic ovary (PCO) is a term used for ovaries which are larger in size than normal ones. They have a series of undeveloped follicles which appear in clumps, like a bunch of grapes. This is a relatively minor problem and may not even affect your fertility. However, if it is accompanied by hormonal imbalance it becomes Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS), a metabolic disorder which makes your body functions go haywire and can cause your entire system, including your ovaries, to dysfunction. **
There is a major catch here: you may have polycystic ovaries and not the syndrome but if you have the syndrome you definitely have polycystic ovaries. This automatically means that you have to struggle with not just polycystic ovaries but also the syndrome which is usually accompanied by various medical problems
PCOS has a baffling array of symptoms. While not every patient will have all the following symptoms, most will have a combination of some of these:
1. Multiple ovarian cysts
2. Polycystic ovaries about two to three times larger than healthy ovaries
3. Irregular or absent periods
4. Infertility
5. Acne
6. Obesity or inability to lose weight
7. Excessive body or facial hair (hirsutism)
8. Insulin resistance and possibly diabetes
9. Thinning of scalp hair
10. Velvety, hyper pigmented skin folds
11. Blood pressure
12. Multiple hormone imbalances.
PCOS is a common hormonal disorder occurring in women during their reproductive years. According to research, nearly four to ten per cent of women have this problem which is a leading cause of infertility, too. The symptoms of PCOS actually start to show up soon after puberty.
**It runs in families, so your chance of having it is higher if other women in your family have a similar problem, irregular periods, or diabetes. It can be passed down from either your paternal or maternal side. **
**Women with this problem invariably turn first to their gynaecologist, who certainly plays an important role in the diagnosis and treatment of this disease. But if PCO is accompanied with the syndrome you might wish to consult an endocrinologist as well, since PCOS is a hormonal imbalance which needs to be managed by a specialist in this field. **
Hormones play a crucial role in the functioning of our body; they are like a bridge between the body and its organs and they regulate the body’s functions.
**Hormones and their role **
Hormones are chemical messengers that trigger many different processes, including growth and energy production. Often, the job of one hormone is to signal the release of another one.
**For reasons that are not well understood, in PCOS the hormones get out of balance and cause chain reactions. For instance, the sex hormones get out of balance. Normally, the ovaries make a tiny amount of male sex hormones (androgens); in PCOS, however, they start producing more androgens. This results in problems in ovulating, acne, and extra facial and body hair. **
**The body can have a problem using insulin, which is termed as insulin resistance. When the body doesn’t use insulin well, blood sugar levels go up. Over time, this increases your chance of getting diabetes. **
**Getting treatment can reduce unpleasant symptoms and help prevent long-term health problems. **
**Since PCOS is known to begin during puberty, consult your doctor if you are in your teens and have any of these symptoms:· **
**• Not started menstruating by age 14 and have hair growing on your chest, back, abdomen, or face (hirsutism) **
**• Fewer than eight menstrual cycles a year and this has lasted for two years after you started menstruation **
**• Severe acne **
**• Hair loss from scalp **
**• Menstrual cycles that are consistently either less than 21 days apart or more than 45 days apart **
• Any symptoms of diabetes, such as increased thirst and frequent urination (especially at night), unexplained increase in appetite, unexplained weight loss, fatigue, blurred vision, or tingling or numbness in your hands or feet
**• Skin problems such as acne, oily skin, dandruff, skin tags (acrochordons) in the armpits or neck area, or dark skin patches (acanthosis nigricans) in skin folds or on the neck, groin, or underarms **
**• Excessive weight gain or upper body obesity (more abdominal fat than hip fat). This is linked to high androgen levels **
Treatment options
There is no cure for PCOS, but controlling it lowers your risks of infertility, miscarriages, diabetes, heart disease, and uterine cancer.
**The first step in managing PCOS is getting regular exercise, adopting a healthy diet, and not smoking. This is part of the medical treatment and not just a lifestyle choice. Additional treatment depends on your symptoms and whether you are planning a pregnancy. **
**A doctor may prescribe birth control pills, which can help in regulating your periods and can reduce symptoms such as excess facial hair and acne. An androgen-lowering medicine, spironolactone, can be used with birth control pills to help further reduce symptoms. However, these medicines are not used if you are trying to get pregnant. **
Hormone therapy also helps to correct menstrual cycle problems by preventing the endometrial lining from building up. It also prevents uterine cancer. Birth control pills, patches, or vaginal rings are prescribed for hormone therapy.
**A diabetes medicine called metformin can help control insulin and blood sugar levels and reduce androgen levels. This lowers your risk for diabetes and heart disease and can help restore regular menstrual cycles and fertility. **
**Fertility medicines may be needed if you are trying to get pregnant. **
It is important to see your doctor regularly to make sure treatment is working and adjust it if needed. You may also need regular tests to check for diabetes, high blood pressure, and other possible problems.
**It may take a while for treatment to help with symptoms such as facial hair or acne. In the meantime: **
**Over-the-counter or prescription acne medicines may help with skin problems. **
**Waxing, tweezing, and shaving are easy ways to get rid of unwanted hair. Electrolysis or laser treatments can permanently remove the hair but are more expensive. Your doctor can also prescribe a skin cream that slows hair growth for as long as you use it regularly. **
**Depression and mood swings can also be linked with this condition. If you are feeling down in the dumps you can always talk to your therapist and other patients suffering with the similar problem. Ask your doctor about local support groups, or look for an online group. **
Steady treatment
To control polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) on a long-term basis try to follow a regular exercise regimen and a healthy diet to control your body weight and metabolism. This approach helps you fight the risks of diabetes and heart disease, as well as hair and skin problems caused by hormonal changes.
Regular check-ups are important for catching any PCOS complications, such as high blood pressure, high cholesterol, uterine cancer, heart disease, and diabetes. All women with PCOS are advised to be checked for diabetes by the age of 30.
I hade PCOS problem bohat ilaj kia allopathic ka, homeopathic aurhakeem ka bhe but koi faida nhe hoa. 4 saal lagataar try kernay k baad I saw Dr. Farha Fezan using online video call on Home - SehatYab - Pakistan’s First Online Clinic
Depression , Anxiety, irregular periods aur weigh gain meray symptoms they.
I hade PCOS problem bohat ilaj kia allopathic ka, homeopathic aurhakeem ka bhe but koi faida nhe hoa. 4 saal lagataar try kernay k baad I saw Dr. Farha Fezan using online video call on Home - SehatYab - Pakistan’s First Online Clinic
Depression, Anxiety, Oily Skin Problem, Irregular periods aur weigh gain meray symptoms thay.
I also consulted psychiatrist and psychologist for anxiety and depression.
Publicity?