well i have often heard people say things like some one is not able to father children because he’s got a low sperm count or in local lingo thin sperm
whats all this all about? what are the causes and what are the remedies?
The chances of pregnancy is higher with higher sperm counts. after all that is the reasons that there are such high numbers of sperms that are produced.
health, diet, hormones etc all have an impact on sperm quantity and quality.
I know this gentleman who had some difficulties and his prescription was to keep his genitals cool which he did by using some icepack. He is now a father of 2 and happy. In his case the body temprature, clothing and all created an oven atmosphere where the sperm production was low and fixing that fixed his issue.
Maybe one of the doctors among us know more
Low sperm count simply means that the guy is producing not enough sperms. Normal males produce millions of sperms all the time (they are very tiny, u know), and they are very fragile. In copulation, a male leaves millions of sperms and most of them die within a few hours. Only a few make it near the egg. With their size, a female-chromosome sperm takes 2 days to reach the egg, and a male-chromosome sperm takes approximately 2-3 hours, within a woman's body.
So, if the sperm count is low, with an incredible fatality rate for the sperms at the point of discharge, the possibility that any sperms will ever make it near the egg or will actually fertilize diminshes.
Hence, if the sperm count is low, for whatever medical reason, the doctors need to find a medical solution to either increase the sperm count, or consider IVF (in-vitro fertilization) where they take out the egg and use sperm to actually fertilize the egg and then place the fertilized embryo back in the mother's body.
Long story short, if sperm count is low, one needs serious medical help.
Scary thing is that any strong medicine which has a side effect of "impotency" usually means that taking that medicine will lower the sperm count. Some common medicines prescribed for serious diseases usually have this side-effect... for example the medicine for epilapsy or for gout may create impotency as one of the side-effects. This means low sperm count.
[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited November 08, 2001).]
It's probably genetic! The 'boys' are whoosies!
Have you see the Seinfeld series where George knocks up his date on the first date and when told shouts proudly:
"my boys did it...I am a father"
Well, if his sperm count were low then - His boys would have never made it to the 'target'.
There's always the test tube where the whoosy 'boys' have a better chance of fertilizing the egg.
Yep, its true. Its all about the temperature of the scrotum. If its too high then the sperm count is low and of bad quality.
Statistics show men who rarely get off their toosh (such as truckers) have a lower sperm count. That also includes smokers alcohol consumption, hydro poppers, toxic elements in the body etc etc.
So then next time your walking boys and men keep in mind your walking for the future of the twig and berries
Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.
Love happens once . . .
>>>Have you see the Seinfeld series where George knocks up his date on the first date and when told shouts proudly:
"my boys did it...I am a father"<<<
I thought it was Kramer ... no?
Interesting information though.
p.s: Pristine bhai, it never seems to amaze me, how much you know about this stuff... hehe
Unfortunate as it may sound, I have some very close family experiences with this problem.