Whats in?

Re: Whats in?

Cause with a neckline that high i wouldnt be able to wear any of my necklaces which all fall bellow the collar bone-
Yaar, models look great in dresses, that is why they are used for these sites, the sawaal is will we look as good?
I think i will just wear one of my jahez ki saris.

yea thats a good point..hmm well its always better if you can try stuff on and thats the hing with getting it online..so i guess yea ur better off just wearing what you have

I had some outfits made when I went to Pakistan…

[thumb=H]pic223884_8174736.JPG[/thumb]

This was my least favorite outfit…it’s so beautiful but it was sooooo ill fitting…that’s the problem with getting something ready made, at least for me..there’s no way to try it on and see how it iwll fit. the guy in teh store said he’d fix it, it wudn’t be so hard, n yet it was still uncomfortably tight…

[thumb=H]pic323884_8253210.JPG[/thumb]

Wore this to the mehndi…i wanted to wear a sari so bad but everyone talked me out of it, saying i’d look like a mai and not a kunwari :bummer:

[thumb=H]pic423884_2083779.JPG[/thumb]
My favoritest lehengha..i’d wear this to my own shaadi if i cud :blush:

[thumb=H]pic523884_5460899.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]pic623884_8865149.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]pic723884_5396034.JPG[/thumb]

The mehndi dress is so traditional with gota-way to go!
I know what you mean by the comment on the sari, in pakistan no one let me wear the sari till i got married even though in india girls as young as 6 wear saris... its all about perception in culture

I think its okay to shop online if the company is in the USA (cause i live here) and they have a good return exchange policy. I shop a lot at bananarepublic.com and victoriassecret.com and if some thing doesnt fit i just mail it back and they give a refund.

sila said i could return it if it didnt fit as long as it was unworn (except for trying it on) and either get a full refund or an exchange. they also said they could send 2 different sizes so that we could see what fit better, so next time we would know what size we were.

salwar said if i got any thing other than their standard size which is ufff 36-39-46 (who wears those triangle shaped kameezez?) If they alter it i couldnt return it , i dont have a darzi here to do my alterations, plus it would cost a lot to send it back to india.

e-shakti said i could return even on my own sizing for the dress. no questions asked which is great but their dresses take 15-20 days to make plus 5 days shipping.

kaneesha hasnt replied.

yeah…i’m not a big fan of gotay..honestly if its gonna be fancy it’s gotta have loads of beads/sequins for me…not into embroidery or dabka for formalwear

sadzzz i love your outfit! its soooo pretty..i’ve that same dilemma all the time, so many nice outfits, and no place to wear em :frowning: especially now since i brought all that stuff back!

Mehnaz its my mayon ka.. i wanted it to be simple but different

i think im most likely waering a sari on my engagement party.. hmm never worn one in my life! first time for everything i guess..

manomano.. i love that blue/orange combination... very pretty

^ YOUR ENGAGEMENT PARTY??? When when when when? I want details :snooty:

Sadzz get the pleats stitched on your sari especially if its gerogette, crepe or chiffon as those materials slip like no bodies business. If its a banarsi sari or jamavar then a saftey pin at the pleats is fine.

Do share images after the party… and congratulations!

manomano, i think they are gonna get the already stitched up sari... cus ive never worn one and its just easier to have the plaits already in it.. thats what i got told... i actually have no idea what its gonna look like either... so its a bit exciting :)

sahar, yaar where have u been!! haha ive missed u... my engagement party is inshallah in april... sooo much to do before than :( weight to lose, clothes to get, money to spend

U forgot missy.. ^^ pics to post!!!

^ Devi.. havent had the engagement party yet.... will post once we do :)..

lol ofcourse!!

Sadia, if you want, you can practice wearing a saree before the actual engagement party. I’ve been wearing sarees for a few years now and I have never worn something that had pleats already stitched. My mom is an expert when it comes to wrapping sarees so she made sure it wouldn’t fall off … if you wear it properly, you won’t have any problems at all.

Sahar, your outfits are just gorgeous. I’m not sure if the pics are posted in this thread or another thread. Love the wedding outfit!

Hey Mehnaz, yeah everyones been telling me to start practising now... so i might ask around for a saree.. mum i think gave most of hers away.. so cant practise... noone i know knows how to do the pleats.. and everyone is so busy organising their own clothes for the engagement, they dont have time for me :( im not sure whether its already going to have the plaits... but most likely will..

besides, i think i'll be sitting neways...

awwww, you are the dulhan … they have to make time for you.

You sound so cute. :hug:

hahaha :blush: now im embarrassed

just too much to organise mehnaz… so lil time

Dear Sadzzz:
The beauty of a sari is that when its worn correctly, it does not cause you to trip or come undone, the key is the pleats and for beginners a stitched sari is the best way to go.

Mehnaz, prestitched saris are made to your waist size so you wear them literally like a hook up sarong or skirt and then drape the pallu around back and across the chest on the shoulder. You cant tell the difference at all as long as the front drape of the sari that comes from the back to the opp shoulder does not go above the waist line on its lower edge.

Sadzz through us a date and we will throw a pre-engagement bridal shower for you (*)

interesting manomano.. at the moment im just praying the shirt isnt too short.. i dont want to be worried bout my gut the whole night :bummer:

so u think from the back to the front is the way to go? kewl… i shall try that out.. infact i think i should organise a dress rehearsal this weekend…

haha no dates set yet manomano, but it’ll be most likely early-mid april, Inshallah