Whatever happened to ....

Aamir Sohail, Ijaz Ahmed, Aaqib Javed and guy called Abdul Basit?
I know Ijaz Ahmed was there for the last Worldcup but the other three. I’m not sure about the last ones name, but it was Basit something. Did they just retire early or get kicked out, because they were pretty good players.

Originally posted by Bismah:
*Aamir Sohail, Ijaz Ahmed, Aaqib Javed and guy called Abdul Basit?
I know Ijaz Ahmed was there for the last Worldcup but the other three. I'm not sure about the last ones name, but it was Basit something. Did they just retire early or get kicked out, because they were pretty good players. *

Aap abhi soo kar uthi hain?

Aamir Sohail - was kicked out of the team in 1998. He made a bried entry around 2000 but didn't cement his place. Apart from petty politics, he is over the hill as a player. So, he's gone but we're still struggling to find a replacement opener for him.

Ijaz Ahmed - he got kicked out of the team around 2000. He was given a chance later but was kicked out due to his consistent inconsistency. And I am very glad that he's out with his hum-zulf Malik.

Aaqib Javed - he was dropped around the same time as Aamir. His performace had been nothing to write home about for some time. Plus, with the emegernce of Akhtar, and many others , there simply was no place for Aaqib. He is presently serving as a selector of the national time.

Basit Ali - he was dropped much earlier than Aaqib or Aamir which is a pity because he was a very smart batsman. He was the victim of politics and star power (many thanks to Wasim bhai, Ijaz and Malik).

Samb is right, Aaqib Javed who I considered the 2nd best fast bowler in pakistani team after Wasim.
What a great bowler he was, brilliant style, kind of like Muhammad Sami but a little slower, really good player on fast pitches, he made the bowl turn like no one would ever have done.
As he aged his performance level went down, last I saw of him was in the Sahara Cup in Toronto in 97.

Aamir Sohail was great in his early part of his career like other young pakistani batsman and him and Saeed were dominant but then came Afridi and took his spot away.

Basit Ali, what a great batsman, probably the best since Javed Miandad, yes politics was really the reason behind his ommission from the team, plus back then there was trend going on of kicking out players from Karachi, first Basit Ali, Rashid Latif etc.

Ijaz ahmed, I don't want to comment on this guy as he was the biggest looser in the pakistani team, he never showed up for practices and he was said to be drinking all the time.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

Don't forget.. Ijaz Ahmed has been notorious to be going for Australian hookers at strip clubs.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:

Basit Ali, what a great batsman, probably the best since Javed Miandad, yes politics was really the reason behind his ommission from the team, plus back then there was trend going on of kicking out players from Karachi, first Basit Ali, Rashid Latif etc.

What do you guys mean by politics? you mean the Punjabis chose Punjabis instead of Sindhis/Mohajirs?

Originally posted by UMAIR316:

What do you mean by that comment? Stop bringing your narrow regionalism into arguments. Who was Rashid replaced by? -- Moin Khan. Which city does Moin come from ---Karachi.

I dont care if the whole team comes from Karachi, Lahore or Peshawar, so long as they are there on merit.

Originally posted by ehsan:
** What do you mean by that comment? Stop bringing your narrow regionalism into arguments. Who was Rashid replaced by? -- Moin Khan. Which city does Moin come from ---Karachi.

I dont care if the whole team comes from Karachi, Lahore or Peshawar, so long as they are there on merit.

Right on target ehsan bhai. You guys should not comment in such way. Don't seprate Karachi from Punjab or Lahore or from Sindh. Saw him playing when PAK toured windies don't remember the year but I think Wasim was captain and windies had Ambrose and Walsh in the side. He was to break the record for reaching 100 in 3 consective ODIs but in the 3rd game he was so tense and under preasuer that he got out in 20's or 30's.

All I can say about Basit is that he was not given enough chance to perform or to show his best. But don't talk this rubish that he was from karachi thats why he was kicked out of the team or something.

Sorry if I offended any of you guys.
People in Pakistan are like that, whenever something happends to one of theirs they get mad, it was a big deal when Basit Ali was ommited, especially in Karachi, it was all over the newspapers, the reason it became a big deal because he scored like 90 something and he was ommitted in the next match.
I was just repeating what I heard.
My mistake.
Please don’t ban me

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

** What do you mean by that comment? Stop bringing your narrow regionalism into arguments. Who was Rashid replaced by? -- Moin Khan. Which city does Moin come from ---Karachi.

I do Agree with you Ehsaan Bhai.
I dont know about Rashid Vs Moin contoroversy But I must say that Basit was a very very good player.I still dont know why he was dropped???
Doest anyone has any knowledge about it?
Only thing I see is some kinda foul play.He was too good a player to not to play for Pakistan.As someone very correctly said he could have been next Miandad.

Same thing about Qasim Umar..I dont know what happened to that guy.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited June 24, 2002).]

O Umair PA yaar ur not in Pak or Karachi so don’t think like that, I know ppl in Pak do that but I was not expecting something like this from you. Oh well its all good as long as you don’t try to break PAK apart

Karachi has dominated the cricket scene because of its great players, just like Faisalabad/Gojra have dominated the hockey scene...

Cricket at club level in Karachi is alot better than any city in Punjab...

As far as I can remember, Basit and Rashid Latif (then Vice Captain) retired after coming back from a foreign tour owing to match fixing by some of his team mates.

Apart from that there was no regional politics invloved in not selecting him

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**As far as I can remember, Basit and Rashid Latif (then Vice Captain) retired after coming back from a foreign tour owing to match fixing by some of his team mates.

Apart from that there was no regional politics invloved in not selecting him

Yes, thats right, Rashid made allegations against Salim Malik, who was the captain at the time, during the tour to SA and Zimbabwe. Both Basit and Latif announced their retirement from cricket. Later on Latif made a comeback but Basit just faded away partly due to bad form in the domestic cricket as well.

can anyone tell me why was Qasim Omar sidelined??

I liked his game and I never got to know what went wrong?

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited June 24, 2002).]

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
**can anyone tell me why was Qasim Omar sidelined??

I liked his game and I never got to know what went wrong?

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited June 24, 2002).]**

From what I can remember he accused Imran of taking drugs. He was asked by the PCB to substantiate his allegations and provide proof, which he was unable to. He was therefore banned for life. A good batsmen, was from my native Kenya as well.

** From what I can remember he accused Imran of taking drugs. He was asked by the PCB to substantiate his allegations and provide proof, which he was unable to. He was therefore banned for life. A good batsmen, was from my native Kenya as well.**

uuuuuhhhhh.isn't your 'native' land Pakistan?!

Native might be too strong a word but Kenyan born, and origin from Lahore.

ok, good to know.

Hey, Pakistan has won a few boxing medals b4. I think the last one was in Seoul, some 'Shah' guy from Karachi won a gold.

What happened to him and others? Why do they disappear and not turn professional?

Considering the contraversy of selcting Rashid n Moin , there is a very interesting thing. The two guys never had any problem with each other. Actually Moin's elder brother Nadeem is one of the best friends of Rahsid. I remember statement by Rashid that when he was selected the first time in Pak team. It was Nadeem who informed about it and congratulated .

Life is like a piano, What u get out of it depends on how u play it.