Would they accept you , or would they kick you out, or would they abuse you, or would they hate you, or what?
Re: What would your parents do if they found out you are NOT Muslim?
Why would your parents NOT know what religion you practice?
Please stay on topic! Anyone will believe what their parents say as children but once they grow up they can end up leaving the religion because they are old enough to know that they don't believe in it.
I know my Dad will be really dissapointed, so I don't know how I would even tell him. Other then that, I don't think he'd disown me because I rememeber him saying once that if you're getting rid of your child for his wrong-doings, then you're not really helping them because once they're out of your home then they're out of your sight. They can do everything and anything and you wouldn't know. Maybe by keeping them around, they might come around or you could change their mind somehow. Regardless, I don't like this "dis-own" system.
She will be disappointed in her upbringing more than anything. I don't think she will ever believe me anyway, but if she sees me practicing it, then she will more than likely beat me up (I recently got slapped by her and I'm 25 lol). She won't throw me out of the house but will refuse to acknowledge me, have my friends and family talk me out of it, bring tableeghees over, give me no food, yeap... pretty much hate me.
my father would be extremely disappointed. But in terms of disowing me...would not happen. And beating your kid into liking his religion again is useless and a cheap tactic. I cannot say what would happen for sure, but he would definitely be saddened knowing about it.
First they will abuse you may be kick you out of house, but since they are parents they are parents they will forgive you ![]()
Please stay on topic! Anyone will believe what their parents say as children but once they grow up they can end up leaving the religion because they are old enough to know that they don't believe in it.
Wouldn't it be much more easier if you have mentioned the word "convert" in their somewhere? Can't read ur mind now, can I...
Anyhow, I don't know what parents would do.
Actually, I dont even want to think about it. I love Allah! =)
They wud want to know my reasons for this change and give me logic n reasoning to make me realise that i was wrong :p Kissa Khatam.
You mean not a practicing muslim or total non-muslim......rejecting the faith altogether?
i imagine disturbing thoughts.oh man.
Hahaha I think it would be a cold day in hell…
But seriously I think knowing me and my fammily I would ask my elders to give me my last rites. ![]()
They'd wage holy war against me, bollywood dialogue and all.
Ex. "Tum meri beti nahi ho. Merai ghar se nikal jao etc etc"
I think my parents would look at it as a personal failure as a parent.
I did go through a point in my life where I didnt want to believe in religion because mom and dad did. But as it turned out, everything I believed in DID actually make sense to me upon further research.
Meaning, I was a skeptic and didnt want to care for Islam because I was a born Muslim. I ended up caring for it because it gave me peace, reasoning, understanding and many more things I can even begin to count.
This isnt to say I am very religious - although I should be. Its just that its been there for me every time I needed it.
Mum would be sad, dad would be mad. end result, id probably have to move out eventually.
Chapair, chittar, jootay, gaalian, aur bhi pata nahi kia kia paray ga ama aba ki taraf se :p
On a serious note, our parents would notice that we are moving away from the religion as soon as there is any change in our views and opinions. No person converts/ leaves the religion suddenly and if we are living with our parents, they surely can identify any changes in our behaviour in the initial stages. So they can stop us from going to the wrong path. In this process, there can be many fights and arguments between parents and children and at the end, if I am adamant in leaving the religion, my parents would definitely be using all the above techniques i.e. chapair, chittar, jootay, gaalian etc and they will be right be doing so.
Chittar parein ge saari zindagi
Even if I didn't want to be a Muslim, I would never tell my parents. The trauma it would cause is unimaginable. No parent could imagine their children on the highway to hell (yes, that was an AC/DC reference :D).
I think my mum would just be in denial about it and pretend it's not happening (one of her brothers is an atheist and she likes to pretend 'he's just joking.' My dad is quite pragmatic so I don't think he would do much or perhaps just assume it would be a phase I'm going through.. I can't imaging either of them getting really angry or worked up about it unless I started trying to convert other family members or something..
Would they accept you , or would they kick you out, or would they abuse you, or would they hate you, or what?
This could have only happened if i was away from my parents or wasnot in touch with them.
If something like that had happened i think my parents would have been really upset with me and would have asked me to come back on the right track. they wont kick me out, wont abuse me either probably wont hate me either but will scold me and will be upset with my actions if i had doen somethign like that.