Ahsan iqbal and others fail to note one important aspect. Jihadis do have access to weapons. You need army and commandos to capture them. So it doesn't matter who is on the top post in Pakistan, you still have to bring in special forces.
Haven't you guys heard the famous proverb?
Jab Geeder ki maut aati hai, wo masjid main hostage banata hai
when a jackal wants to die, he shows up in the city (or mosque and takes women hostage)
The way I see, it could have been worse. No one would have supported this government for taking on Gazi because Aunty Shamim. They needed the inevitable excuse and even than thousands of ignorants showed up at his funeral.
We have to decide, either we want to live in a country where there is no armed and bloody uprising from extremists or not. There is, unfortunatly, no middle ground. We are at war.
Army at the same time need to make the U-turn. Their brotherhood with the religious entity have not brought any security for them. West is thinking about cutting off funds because of the alliance. They need to take out emotions, cut off ties and eliminate this threat once and for all. Otherwise, cutting off aid and some sanctions will bring the army to an isolation point, which they don't want to be a part of.
Not just cutting off with religious extremists, army/government must abandon corrupt 'parties/individuals' (MQM, Ch brotheren etc.) off its pay-roll to establish any credibility. On one hand we are fighting with "extremists" because they are challenging the writ but on the other hand we have all the criminals aboard, what kind of "alliance" are we making? This is the 'excuse' militants and militant-sympathisers are using and will continue to use to help their cause.
Militants will use all the pedestrian excuse for their crimes. Fact of the matter is, they have destroyed their own state. They have all day to give lectures to government, but their own people are getting killed and living in abject poverty. People of their state gave them the vote and what they did with it? Entire world is laughing at them, their ethnicity (Phustoon) is regarded as terrorists. Even than their party members will go on national TV and praise criminals and traitors.
Yes militant will all kinds of excuses, but the fact that govt is in bed with criminals is not something to be proud of either.
If by criminals you mean Mullahs, then government is not the only recipient of their "services". Just look at the 36 party alliance called ABCD (or whatever). Mullahs are right there up at the totem pole.
Mullah's disease is well-entrenched in the society. Why to accuse only the government. At least government is taking the bitter pill and doing something about the "germs". Opposition on the other hand swallowing these germs subah dopehr shaam.
If by criminals you mean Mullahs, then government is not the only recipient of their "services". Just look at the 36 party alliance called ABCD (or whatever). Mullahs are right there up at the totem pole.
Mullah's disease is well-entrenched in the society. Why to accuse only the government. At least government is taking the bitter pill and doing something about the "germs". Opposition on the other hand swallowing these germs subah dopehr shaam.
You probably didn't read my previous post or are here only to oppose mullahs, you are ignoring criminals of MQM and many ministers who have brought shame to Pakistan (most recent is Ejazul Haq who let go the Ghazi bros who eventually faced the wrath of military, media (to an extent) as well as the world condemnation).
What I would have done is to immediately act after the first provocation in January. I mean mobilize the SSG, SOTF and Rangers to cordon off the area and have all nearby buildings evacuated. Then cutoff water and electricity to the whole complex.
Now, even that could have ended in an operation but we could have avoided emboldening the Ghazi brothers and their jihadi backers. There is a good chance that upon seeing the government's resolve, the gangsters would have caved in.
Waiting 5 months was a grave mistake. Now it looks like Musharraf was forced to act after getting an ass-kicking message from Hu Jintao following the kidnap drama with the Chinese girls.
Johnny Bhai, this is all Monday morning quarter backing. Now if you produce a GS post where you said this same sentence back in January, I'd consider you avatar. In fact better than that, I'll start a petition that you be made new interior "decoration" minister.
What is “avatar”? *(http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?p=4925396#post4925396) that the govt missed its window but should eliminate the leadership in an targeted operation because they were giving interviews openly and could be isolated using an "interview trap
". Afghan leader Ahmad Shah Masood was killed that way.
That LM is going to turn out messy was known from Day 1. Sadly our agencies and their invisible military heads cannot come to terms with killing their former “assets.”*
Ok so instead of January, you suggested something in April. That is 3 months after the fact (instead of 6 months), so you will be half-avatar (meaning god incarnated, great sage) instead being a full one.
Reading closely you said If we go hard now, it will be worse than the Indian attempt at Golden Sikh Temple
That my friend sounds more like “negotiate with terrorists”.
Bottom line is this: It is very easy to look back at January and “pontificate” about some thing. In layman terms it simply shows that "your hind-“site” is 200/200 and not just a smallish 20/20.*
Dude, you were not even here during the time this whole crisis was happening and now you are happily rubber stamping government actions. Do you deny that the government's past links with jihadi mullahs had a lot to do with the reluctance to nip the Ghazi antics in the bud? Or do you believe that our military agencies are so incompetent that they have no clue about a mega arsenal piling up next door to their Headquarters?
It is no coincidence that the first action started off after they took pangay with the Chinese and the call from Beijing came in. Too bad the lives of Pakistanis don't count as much.
Look Johnny Bhai, if you want to take your anger out at Pakistan, please do so with your heart's content. Who are we to tell you otherwise?
Lal Masjid is very similar to other Mega-Madrassahs throughout Pakistan. Banori town, Jama Ashrafia, this Muridke school, the one by samiulhaq etc. All these madrassah have tons of "little little pappu" children. Our Police and army will always be reluctant to take a drastic action. This is how we are!
Whatever lies were told by J.R. Gizzi,, we all including media and awam believed in it. People trust clergy all over the world.
What if Pope goes bananas and starts piling up weapons. By golly no one can stop him. Heck he has own little "dair eent ki masjid" city called Vatican.
UK people trusted those doctors, and guess what? Abdullah diwana filled three cars with gas cans and made plans to marry 72 hoors. Should we blame MI5 for not "probing" every Abdullah who walked in the UK hospitals (right under the noses of Scotland Yard)?
In summary:
Johnny Bahi, when people trust you as clergy, or doctor, or teacher, then you must never break that trust by banging little kids, or trying to ram burning cars into airports (with your @r$e on fire). Off course Jihadis will never understand this and continue pointing fingers at bad MI5, bad Scotland Yard, bad ISI. Bad bad very bad!
I do think the govt was too kind, even in naming the operation..'operation silence' aray bhai yeh bhi koi naam ota hai,I would have named it "operation shut the hell up"