What would YOU do?

.. if given a choice to stay (and study) in Pakistan, or any other foreign country?

I’m confused because this’ll literally be like planning the next 4-5 yrs of my life. I like it here in Canada because this environment is something I’ve gotten comfortable with + its easier for a student to stay here and finance himself. Also because I’ve found the perfect bachelors program and wouldn’t want to give that up. A lot of friends in Pak have said that it’d be stupid to move back to Pak now without getting uni level education here, as that’d drastically improve chances for getting a good job.

Pakistan’s a lil different, it’ll be better because I can concentrate on studies only with no worries about finance. it’ll also presumably provide a better atmosphere for a muslim student. Also because the entire family’s there and thats always a good thing.

So help me out here, which one?? :-\

Frankly its a tough one. Many ppl face this dilemma every day.

I guess it partly depends on where do you want to spend your life. Pakistan has some darned good schools. But if ultimately you want to settle down in North America or Europe, it will be easier for you, if you continue with education here. If you ultimately plan to settle down in Pakistan or middle east, you might as well, join back your family and forget all these financial woes too, and enjoy these years of your life.

That is not to say that with a good Pakistani education you can not settle anywhere else. If you are good, you are good. There are millions of Pakistanis who got all their education in Pakistan and then moved to these western countries and are doing very well.

Yar Faisal bhai, I do want to settle down in Pakistan, but like I said, wouldn't studying here increase the chances of a good job back in Pak? Friends of mine have scared the hell out of me by saying stuff like 'Achi achi education waley sarak par phir rahey hain' etc.

5-6 years ago, Id have said a foreign education is better. But now, like Faisal said, we have some best of the best colleges and universities, both public and private. Many are affiliated with foreign universities, and give out foreign degrees.

As far as people being on the streets is concerned, that boils down to an individual him/herself. Even folks with foreign degrees gp jobless if they dont go about it with the right attitude. And on the same token, many local graduates make handsome money.

First of all, the way this thread is progressing, it probably will get more focussed responses in "Academic" forum. I am sorry for diverting this one, if your original intent was to discuss it from a family and social perspective.

Re: your question about jobs, please remember one thing. If you are good, you are good and you will get job anywhere. So don't worry about jobs at this point. You focus should be education in a field which (1) you like and (2) which, in your opinion, will be easily marketable few years down the road. I have seen jobless people in Pakistan and I have seen jobless people here too. Not to say that they are incompetent, just that this is the way the economy and job market moves. We don't know, at this point, how it will shape up in the next five years. If you are flexible in your skills and are not hung up to settle in any one place, I am sure you will be able to pursue your career goals much more easily.

people really dont need to reply this thread.In FSc i have read a essat
"why boys fail in college"

Ammar i suggest you to read that essay at lest 1000 time minimum.
You are the Mustakal mizajest person in susti and khali and kaam choor.

I mean there is no problem.No nuceluar war ll happen no USA would change to insaaf pusand mulik or somthing if you stay there and just forget every thing and concentrate ur studies.When i see bak on 8th july 1998 when i moved to lahore and get an admission in Bsc computer science.It looks me as it is 2 days total.True studies and craze ll never let you think what is going wrong in pakistan's devlopment,Yahan pe pehley bhi aisey hi election hotye they baad mein bhi aisey hi hona hay

Ooh bhai rahim kahoo khud pe aur yeh bngian marani choor ke kaam kerna choor keroo.Be like some clear minded person.
I dont thing ever was it good bad worse or what ever i now only one thing i have to be in networks so i am working. And i know next all life ll be same with some changes.

What actully you are doing, its fav thing of free kahil/susat 19 years old kids. Planning enjoye planning and plan and enjoying more planning.Have you ever thought that how much pleasure and satisfaction you get when u discuiss these things.
Life , studies pak , canada . this this that .and what is output of previous 6 month.
Teen dafa 104 tempratur , 3 windows of houses and 5 of cars mirrors during cricket.500 more threads to Gs and blah blah.

Again again agin and agian i would suggest you read "Why boys fail in colleg" and phir khud kushi ker lena. huh.

ammarr did u just finish high school in canada? for some reason i thought u were in college. khayr. as for ur question, hmm.. i can prolly talk endlessly on this topic - came to the states after a levels from pak, family is all in pak, so i've been thru the experience..there so many things to consider and tons of factors, it depends a lot on the person and his situation as well...

Akif bhai i wont preffer any of them for computer science because

All of them tautgh locally desgined course outline.
There studies level is same of other except one or two.

Lums i preffer if i have to study and bsc computer science costs nearlly 8 lakh (nearlly 15, 000$)for two and half year.That degree has worth but that money has more then worth.He is candian and he can earn this degree with good education and much lower price.
For refrence i would like to show u this AMMAR

http://ptcl.com.pk/jobs.html

this is ptcl job and check every where they have mentioned the preffer foreign qualified person.

I am dieing to move outside and complete my studies and then come back to here.Do ur job where ever u want but if u want to be in computer science and specially in pak MUST COMPLETE UR STUDIES THERE.

study here in canada.. if u get a great job here.. good for u .. other wise.. move to middles east. :) good pay n benefits..

Weigh the pros and cons but the final decision rersts with you, ammarr. Good luck deciding! :)

settling down

settling down is ur answer.. decide if u want to live ur life in pakistan or in america or canada.. and then take ur studies further as to what u think.. the financial problems are now they will remain forever..