What would you choose?

If you had to choose between whats right and what you want (which YOU deem is right and others may differ on that), what would you choose?

vague question I know but you can put any situation and give the answer.

Re: What would you choose?

What i think is right, why live for others, live for yourself. its your life no one is gonna care if you do something right and everyone is going to point fingers if you do something wrong. its our nature.

Live for yourself, do not care what others think.

Hmmm. By “want” do you mean the same as “need”? As in you have a need for it?

I don’t really know. Although I do know that everything I chose/do/say is always right ( :snooty: ), so even if it was something I wanted or needed, it would still be right. I would chose what was right. Simple.

Yes I guess the question is vague...

If I have to choose between what is right and what I think is right then I am already assuming that what actually right is WRONG... and if that assumption is wrong then I have two right things to choose from.... which is very un-natural and unlikely though there might be exceptions.. Right???

In such cases, it depends...

Nonetheless, I am sure no one delibrately chooses the WRONG.

well something just does'nt become right because people vote for it.you can't always judge what is right by what others think,others can be idiots.you have to stand by your own convictions in chosing the right path for yourself because others can't be trusted,they can often mislead you or misguide you into doing something that is not good for you.

id try to do wat i tihkn is rite

but theres always sooo mcuh pressure n ssuch

saby agar shadi ki bat hai.. yeh mamley dil ke hote hain.... and dont give someone hope if you fullfil your promise.

if you seem confused etc... get istakhara done :) and accept it afterwards...

plus.. people dont stay in your life forever.. if you like someoen you should tell them asap... before they go away .....

^ and after telling thm...if u feel differently and feel u were too rash..thn wat

If nia is right, go with nia's advice. If its something else than what you think is right that offcourse islamically right too.

I think I know what you're talking about.

sometimes what we think is right may not actually be right. I suggest you think about it with an open mind. do istikhara and pray to Allah to ask him to direct you towards the right way.

if you wanna take my advice....then choose the option that will make you more happy.....follow your heart:)

how do we do istikhara:bummer:

What we know is right is not always what we do...
If we were to follow our heads then we do the right thing...
If we follow our hearts we can end up doing the right or wrong thing...
Invariably the heart tends to win out even if rationally its a poor decision...
So as for what i would do...i know what i should do...the right thing...but often you end up following your heart and doing what you want...

danial: living for one self is not a very practical or familial approach in the longer scheme of things I agree that some cases, it is imperative.

Missy M: Nah, want and need are two different things and it will be a whole other discussion if I go there. and your statement speaks of typical brit arrogance :snooty: :stuck_out_tongue:

AQ: Well you know what. This is an exception. I believe what I am doing is right and this isnt even an assumption. Others are right too in their thinking so it is between choosing two rights. Unnatural case but an unavoidable one.

nia: Its not about liking someone. I HATE to give false hopes to anyone. So no worries there. It is a matter of beliefs. Like I said above both parties are correct here but the choice is mine to take a stand on my belief and stick to it or follow a compromising line.

PhatBalongri: Its a pickle. Both options are islamically right :-p

Impulse: I guess I am gonna follow my heart. I asked Allah to guide me towards the right way but I couldnt satisfy my heart despite severl honest and open minded attempts.

Naughty Nature: I kinda agree with your statement that sometimes hearts can lead to an irrational decision but here my heart and head are being equivocal.

stick to your belief :)

its your life after all... if you arent happy in your decision you will never live your life fully :)

compromising line ends soon ....

saby, there is no right answer here, decisions are not made in vacuums, others around you are not always insulated and have no impact of your decisions or actions. It funny that i read this thread today while recounting a similar dilemma in my journal.

I almost look at things from a utilitarian point of view in these cases, what has the greatest benefit to ppl close to me, and not just for myself.

Its very easy to say, follow wat you think is right, and it does look good on paper and sound good, but in reality, is it always right for everyone impacted by that decision, or forget everyone, everyone that matters...instead.

Depends!

Ager fasaad ka koi khatra nahi ho ga tu, i'll choose what I think is right else normally I don’t like to provoke ppl with my decisions but i do let them know what i think is right just to keep the record straight

i would be more inclined to choose what is right and not really what i want simply because i tend to think with my head and not my heart.