What was the first contact with the new identity like?

If Guppies recall, me and several other Indians observed Pakistan’s conscious effort at creating a distinct identity for itself in language, culture, dress etc.,
Personally I don’t think it is either laudable or contemptible. It just seems to be a fact of life in Pakistani cultural life.
On surface it seems to be a rejection of all things Indian. Churidar instead of Sari, baggy Afghan style dress instead of Dhoti, Pure Urdu instead of Hindustani, No Indian Movies, Any classical music with Hindu roots not allowed yada, yada.
It has been going on for more than 50 years now.
What I want is for Pakistanis to share their defining moments of this new identity.
Like you ended up in Cenral Asian countries and felt at home.
Or you ended up in Arabia and some idiot said “If you are a Muslim how come you are not an Arab”(I read it happened to some converts).

Both the good and bad.
Personally I don’t feel offended that some people or nations don’t want to have anything Indians.
There are enough Indians to share things Indian and several ouutsiders fascinated with things Indian

Dinar as currency
Dr Muhammad Karim Beebani

In the early period of Islam the currency names used were dinar and dirham. Dinar was the name used for gold coin whereas the silver coin was called dirham. Both these currencies were in use for many centuries but as the Muslim empire started disintegrating various countries started adopting names other than these.

Dinar is the only currency name that has appeared in the Holy Qur’aan in chapter No 3 (Aal-e-Imran). This name along with dirham has also been found in many sayings of Holy Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). Muslims therefore have great attachment with these names rather than with rupee, taka or other currencies being used in Islamic countries at present. I shall therefore suggest that Islamic countries should adopt the currency name of dinar to show the continuation of the Islamic legacy and scriptural heritage.

On the other hand the currency names being used in Islamic countries have no such historical significance. For example in Pakistan rupee is being used which is derived from Sanskrit language and has a relationship with Hinduism. It is worth mentioning that there are at least five Islamic countries, which are already using dinar as their currency names. These are Kuwait, Jordan, Tunisia, Iraq and Bahrain. I shall therefore request government of Pakistan to consider adopting the currency name of dinar instead of a non-Islamic name of rupee.

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/nov2001-daily/24-11-2001/oped/newspost.htm

Shoo! I already read this and posted on it. No doubt the moderators deleted the post in the interests of Freedom Expression

I am looking for responses from a Pakistani and I don’t think you are one durango.

Originally posted by Andhra:
*Churidar instead of Sari, baggy Afghan style dress instead of Dhoti *

Andhra, don't we have "chridar" and "baggy Afghan style dress" in India too? More north Indian no? Or is north Indian not very Indian?

Andhra Roza ham rakh rahe haiN lag aap ko raha hai, masla ki ae janaab, har waqt koile chabate rehte ho, tsk tsk.

Khair, I dont think ke I got the point, but thats normal with me, taang tau phir bhi aRani hai na. HaaN tau kya keh rahe the aap? Your first eight sentences didn't make any sense at all, and most of it is ammm not even true, classical music not allowed, kithe? Sari is a beautiful dress so is Pajama kurta, ppl on both sides wear them, I don't see the problem, and not many in Pak even care to discuss this kinda stuff, unless of course we're talking about Indian style blouses, which is a different story.

Our cultural id, well dunno we have our own languages, art, cuisine, history, festivals, traditions etc etc all the characteristics that make up a culture. Waise obsession kya hai, have you ever seen a Pakistani questioning Indian cultural roots, no one really cares beta.

Waise obsession kya hai, have you ever seen a Pakistani questioning Indian cultural roots, no one really cares beta.<<

Well Sabah,
My point was a conscious effort was and is being made in Pakistan to establish a distinct identity for a young country and naturally it has to be un-Indian or else the raion-de-etre for Pakistan comes into question.
My question was how is the effort coming along and what do Pakistanis feel about it.
In other words who do you empathize more with outside the sub-continent?
Who do you feel you essentially are Central-Asian, Arab, Sub-Continental or Muslim period?

Well Andhra, Pak is not exactly young country anymore, and according to my knowledge not all Pakistani are mohajir, meaning that most had lived there for ages before partition. For instance, my village was there before partition, nothing Indian there and we're still the same. Of course culture develops with time and depended on what affects you in your day-to-day life will reflect through your culture, but that doesn't mean that there is some sort of anti-Indian culture campaigns in Pak, ppl have other problems to concentrate on then to follow what's happening on the other side of the border. We sure do try to fight ills like dowry, and cast system, but hopefully you guys are doing the same on your side too.

If you were asking how well we're fighting dowry, cast system etc in Pak tau not good enough but ppl are trying.

As for who we are tau janab we're Pakistanis, and since Pak is in Asian so we're Asians. I never met a Pakistani in my life who was confused about this stuff. However most of us will probably say we are Muslims if you ask us 'who are you?', whereas you'd probably say you're Indian.

Waise how well do you know Pak cultural history and what do you know about Indian cultural history?

[This message has been edited by sabah (edited November 29, 2001).]

How can there be a 'caste' system in Pakistan. I mean technically how, since it is all one religion and from what I have seen once they get into that mosque Muslims do feel that solidarity.

As for knowing cultural history, I guess the answer is better than average since I speak 3 Indian languages, travelled all over India and am interested in cultural stuff.
Oddly for an Indian I never cease to be amzed by Indian diversities.
I mean just take the weather for example.
It is an experience to see the monsoon coming in both a town in Rajasthan and Bombay.
In Rajasthan because it is so rare and welcome. In Bombay becuase it never seems togo away.

How can there be a 'caste' system in Pakistan. I mean technically how, since it is all one religion and from what I have seen once they get into that mosque Muslims do feel that solidarity.<<

That's right but somehow we do have the system, we don't however practice it as in India, and according to my knowledge it's dying fast, thanks God for that. Casts don't represent you the way they did during pre-partition times. Today if you're Rajput well then you're just that, you don't really have a rajdhani or whatever, you could even be working for a merasi. No untouchables in Pak etc.

As for knowing cultural history, I guess the answer is better than average since I speak 3 Indian languages, travelled all over India and am interested in cultural stuff.<<

Oye seriously so why are you wasting your knowledge at political section, when you can share a lot more here, if you like?

Oddly for an Indian I never cease to be amzed by Indian diversities.<<

What amazes me the most is that two Indians can be born and raised in India yet they might not be able to understand each other without help from English language; I think that's weird, but that's cuz I'm used to ppl being able to speak one national language at least. I understand that Indian holidays and festivals are different dependent on where you're from, for Gujraties Diwalis is The festival, whereas for ppl from south something else is important. Same with food, but daal seems to be the binding factor :) And it's all good and interesting, just too hard to remember everything, especially if you want to remember the history behind it too. Once I was very proud of my self cuz I had learned about Ganesh, I thought I knew The story, later I learnt that I just knew one of the stories, and all the others have several attached to them as well; Confusing but interesting. Do you remember all of the stories and stuff?