Not that I've had any personal experiences, but I really hate women (and some men) who ask all kinds of dumb questions. I mean come on, are you here to see a life partner for your son/daughter or are you here to buy a product who should have all the traits you have in mind? Nor it is an interview for a job :-s
Well the guy never really asks anything. He's too busy staring at his feet the whole time.
From a guy's perspective, they usually do the following;
Check out your walk as you enter the room to make sure your feet are even and you walk without stumbling. langrri tau nahee
They usually do an eye test where the saas would ask you to follow her hand. Just a test to rule out cockeyedness. You know, bhainga pun.
If she asks you to come closer to give you pyaar..she is lying. She only wants to check out if you are not too skinny around the ribs. Also, to take a close look if you got any excess make up on to conceal pimples.
We were kidding about this among friends one day
and we said if we want some rishta to run away we should say to the guy, ‘hey, i like your wig’ and then ask him, ‘by the way, do you eat naswaar?’
*Originally posted by ravage: *
didnt happen, unhon nay rishta kar dia without my apa even seeing him in person.
sounds like my family...on both mummy and papa's side...all my cousins male/female who have gotten married outside the family got married without seeing their spouses...the whole PARDA thing is huge in my family, but thankfully my parents r not like that..ravage wasn't ur sis scared or was she always brought up knowing she was gona get married in that fashion...?
dont tell me she dint even get a glimpse of him from the kitchen or something? she saw his pic right?
Same thing happens in my family, and happened to my parents, the only time u got to see your future spouse was if they were related. Youd be lucky if you got to see a picture. ![]()
Infact my grandad (mums side) whoever was the first person they went to see, he would say yes straight away.
Luckily my mums not like that, or at least thats what she tells me. ![]()
Sorry, Ravage, was your question directed for Sadzzz or for me? Sorry, just wondering, thanks in advance.
Sadzzz, Just curious, if you don’t mind my asking - had he planned on not coming, was that aspect pre-arranged? Or did he decide immediately before the meeting that he didn’t want to come ?
A friend of mine…going through this rishta chakkar, dropped a piyali of chai on the dude’s hand
man… i couldn’t stop laughing when she told me poor girl.
Waisay on a serious note… i am making light of the situation, but in reality, if ALL the parties are serious about finding a rishta, then this meeting process is pretty nerve-wracking for ALL parties involved. Maybe i shouldn’t make light of it because for others, their experiences could be so much more different and much more stressful.
^ honestly Nadia i got no idea. I was at another relos house and my aunt called me in a hurry.. my mum wasnt even there! thank goodness my bro was... I didnt ask any questions, akhir i was more interested in Star Plus.. all the good dramas were on that night!
the guy apparently was comign from Lahore and i dunno didnt get home on time
*Originally posted by funguy: *
From a guy's perspective, they usually do the following;
Check out your walk as you enter the room to make sure your feet are even and you walk without stumbling. langrri tau nahee
They usually do an eye test where the saas would ask you to follow her hand. Just a test to rule out cockeyedness. You know, bhainga pun.
If she asks you to come closer to give you pyaar..she is lying. She only wants to check out if you are not too skinny around the ribs. Also, to take a close look if you got any excess make up on to conceal pimples.
LOL.
Well using the above points- it would be very easy to get rid of rishtas you dont like.
i would think these days it’s more like –
what do you do?
what are your interests?
latest books/movies?
how do you spend your weekends?
a way to get a sense of the lifestyle of the other person.
from there hopefully a good convo will develop ![]()
Sahar did you notice how Aunties who are looking for rishtay ...GAWK at you? I mean they follow your EVERY move.
Its creepy.One Aunty talked to my mother for my rishtha- only 3 hours after we met her. Heaven knows what she was thinking.
i agree thats very normal and informal start and both girl and boy will feel relaxed
asking if you can cook or wash or saying i want some one who can respect my parents and take care of them and my family is important to me is just the bull shiet and you know the intelectual level of the person right away
i hate people like these.
Let’s see. I’ve had rishtas, so I will list some questions I received from both the parents and the rishta himself.
1.) From the parent: What do you like to do when you are not studying/working?
2.) From the parent: What is your favorite food? (Not sure if it references my cooking it or eating it)
3.) From the parent: Do you like to go shopping? (Usually from mothers)
4.) From the parent: Kya pasand karti hai? (I usually have no clue what they are asking so I assume its about my hobbies usually which is similar to first question I listed)
5.) From the parent: What is your education? Did you enjoy your studies/major?
6.) From the parent: Do you wear hijab?chadar? Do you wear Pakistani clothes (if I am not wearing them at their arrival.)
7.) From the parent: Do you like children?
8.) From the rishta:
a.) What are your hobbies?
b.) Do you like to go hiking/camping?
c.) Do you eat only halal?
d.) Do you wear hijab, do you want to wear hijab?
e.) Have you considered teaching as a career? (I don’t know why guys ask me that all the time.)
f.) Why do you want to work? Do you want to work when married and with kids?
g.) Who will take care of the children if you are working?
h.) What are you good at cooking? (They often know that I can cook due to someone telling the family that.)
i.) Do you like to go out a lot?
j.) Are you religious? Do you pray?
k.) Do you like to travel?
l.) Would you mind living far from parents? With parents?
m.) What do you think of me? (I am usually speechless on this one.)
n.) Do you think you could be with someone like me?
o.) How many children do you want to have?
p.) What is your education?
q.) Do you get along well with your siblings/parents?
r.) What are your goals in life?
That’s about all I can remember for now. smile
language .. do you understand punjabi/urdu? etc Can you read/write urdu? etc ... i have a friend who got engaged and the first question her hubby asked was language .. the rest was left for the mums to do... the talking ...
^ wow
experiencesssss
and all of you wondering wether m asking tis for ma self the answer is NO , i aint going anywhere any time soon
Scary
…
*Originally posted by mahnoor@lahore: *
which one??
wohi "Becoming a successful biwi/naukar for Dummies"