What to wear?

I might be going to a girls house to meet with her parents and for her to see me and I her. I hate it but I have to go through it for whatever reason just so everyone can leave me alone.

Anyways, what should I wear? I have been on dates and stuff in restaurants or coffee shops… wore casual to whatever since I knew those girls well. But in this case, going to her home and meeting her parents, what should I wear? Slacks and a dress shirt seems appropriate but I don’t wanna be too formal. Would a polo shirt and jeans work?

And also, what should I do there? What do I talk to her dad about? I would be in my most uncomfortable place that day sigh … someone save me!

I just don’t wanna look or sound like a retard !

Re: What to wear?

I have a feeling her dad and mom and everyone would freakin grill me ! Seems like an awful residency interview all over again! Any pointers would be nice! What should I talk about? I only know about US politics and medicine and my gold fish. What to do and what not to do? My mom would be tagging along with me… well she is actually the one thats dragging me there. I told her already not to grill that poor girl.

As for the girl, she is pretty and way out of my league. I am pretty sure I am gonna be rejected! And this is not how I usually roll. I just wanna save everyone time and effort.

I just want this to be over ASAP and as smoothly as possible!

Is there any other alternative to doing this 'larke dekhna" thing. I hate it. Can’t we (me and her) meet in public for a coffee instead of going to her parents. ? Is that appropriate?
God desi people sucks, I am part of it!

Mashallah, congrats Pisi. :slight_smile: Why do I think you are already being negative? Err, if she is outa your league why moving forward? She might be singing, “Mera piya ghar aaya”.. or wait there is another indian song for it, i’ll try to recall that oldie.

Ok I would say, go with a casual dress. And by casual i certainly dont mean your home dress, but just a nice Jersey and jeans if you wear it. Its summer clothing, and should be liked as well as. Dont wear too formal, dont act too formal, just the respectable version of you and that should do it. Good luck yo :slight_smile:

Okay…! I’ll be your wing man for today..Congratulations on Boarding Air NaanGuard…Strap yourself in, you’re in for a bumpy ride.

1. You have nothing to lose, just go there for the food. You’ll be nervous AS EFF but that’s normal. Admire there carpet cause you’ll be definitely looking at the ground while you are there. Even if she’s out of your league.
  2. Wear buttoned up shirt, only wear a half sleeved polo if you have biceps/fore arms to really show off. Other wise button up shirt with khaki’s is fine. Blue is always a good go to.
  3. F.O.R.D = Family Occupation Recreation Dreams, that is what you can talk about with everyone on earth. You can delve into Politics from there, and the weather/show/dramas is also good to talk about. If their paki talk about the Cricket game Pak just won..err body loves talking about that match.
  4. What to do = Be Attractive and Confident
  5. What not do = Be unattractive and not confident.

Just do you. Wear whatever you want, dgaf about whatever they’re gonna think and don’t worry about the outcome and don’t think she could be out of your league cause if she was then you wouldn’t have even been considered.

A girl’s point of view here. DRESS WELL! Don’t be too formal or too casual ie. don’t show up in a tuxedo or t-shirt and jeans. I would suggest a buttoned down shirt for sure, this automatically makes the guy look more attractive imo.

haha love the mnemonic !

Good Luck Pisi :k:

SID_NY : “sajan ji ghar aye” from KKHH?
NaanGuard : F.O.R.D? seriously? haha you just made my day!
Pisiform : you’ll be fine :slight_smile:

Awwww…you’ll do great!

Act confident, be extremely courteous and engage the whole family. Girls like guys that can fit in well, have a good sense of humour and are well put together.

You do not need to impress anyone, just avoid being fake and show them your real self.

Dress shirt and slacks would actually work really well. Better to be over dressed rather than under.

OP I can understand what your going through. Damn I am in the same boat. This is how I feel everything freakinn time a family visit our place to meet.

But you will be fine. Good luck!
And plz, do update us. Im curious
Who knows this girl end up with you. Its all about fate.

Eagerly waiting for the update :khumar:

While the place is their home, this is still a semi-formal occasion. This is the first impression for both sides. I’m sure their family will be doing everything possible to put their best in front of you and your mom (cleaning house, getting dressed up etc.). You should wear a dress shirt and slacks w/ dress shoes. Please do not wear jeans. Dress like you put some effort and actually care about this meeting.

As for conversation, there is no point in overthinking it now. You actually have to meet the family to see what you can talk about. Let their family and your mom lead the conversation. I am sure they will be asking you questions about your residency/hobbies etc.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with meeting with the girl alone in a public place (lunch or coffee) BEFORE saying ‘yes’ to a rishta. But you will not get out of meeting her family. Whatever annoyance you might be feeling…I assure you the pressure on that girl is much worse. Put yourself in her place and imagine how nervous she must be. Her entire family watching her every move while a potential MIL decides whether she’s good enough for her son.

And please stop being so negative. You have never met anyone in this family and it doesn’t seem like you really know much about them. So don’t assume things about them. Go in with an open mind and positive attitude.

What’s the update? :emmy:

Go semi-casual and be yourself! Good luck!

This girl is out of your league… then why are you going there? You are wasting your time as well as their time and emotion of that girl…

If it is must attended meeting… use button shirt, and khaki… find common topic and discuss that… yaad rakho.. jitny bara tumhary monh par bajay hongy… dosri taraf bhi yehi hal hoga…

Tell us how it went…