What to wear to an Arab friend's wedding/mehndi?

One of my very close friends is getting married very soon inshallah, and she invited me to both her mehndi and her shaadi. I have no idea what to wear - I know desis have a theme for mehndis, but this probably wouldnt apply to her mehndi right? She just got the idea of the mehndi because she’s a huge fan of bollywood movies. I’m not entirely sure what Arabs wear to weddings, but I know they wear long dressees/fancy maxi dresses. What should I wear to the wedding? Should I “tone it down” esp as I do not know what everyone else will be wearing?

Re: What to wear to an Arab friend's wedding/mehndi?

I am not sure what arabs would wear to a mehndi party but for weddings, they usually wear dresses. my best friend got married to an arab guy recently and her inlaws were all wearing western dresses pretty much. And all the pakistanis from her side were wearing pakistani clothes, me and some other friends wore sarees to her wedding. So you can wear pakistani clothes to this event as well, dont necessarily have to wear western dress. pakistani shlwar kameez or saree looks lovely for these events and arab ladies like it too. and since this is bollywood inspired, a sari or desi clothes will be prefect. no need to tone down, its your close friends wedding.

An evening gown would be lovely. I love wearing those to arab weddings.

ubuntu kazims are nice..

Why don't you just wear your traditional Pakistani outfits cus that's what you know best? Plus it'll be a different crowd so they won't have seen your outfits before, hence more stuff to choose from! Everyone will know you're not Arab so they won't be surprised if you turn up rocking your own traditional style clothes. On my friends wedding (half Arab half Somalian) I wore traditional Pakistani clothes and they loved it! Heck, even on my work friend's wedding last year (white) I wore a long golden kaam wala gown with black tang pajama and even the guests were asking about my clothes lol.

I love Pakistani formal wear! If you're super self conscious I'd buy a long Western style dress cus that's what they generally wear.... but I love our clothes much better!

Western dress

OP you can live it up, go all hot n sexy. Arabs love that.

Better yet go naked and make an impression on them lol...

I didn't say that.Stop twisting my words. I have been informed by very knowledgeable people who know the ins and outs of Arab culture and customs.

Re: What to wear to an Arab friend’s wedding/mehndi?

I dont believe you and i was just joking :sadiyah:

Arabs LOVE pakistani clothes, I've been to turkish, morroccan, somalian and arab weddings and they love it when I dress up in pakistani style clothes. If you don't want that then a long gown like a prom-style dress is pretty good, that's the kind of thing they wear, otherwise a nice kaftan type dress would be perfect

Evening/prom gown :wub:

I :wub: it too and wouldn’t miss a chance to wear it :smiley:

I see nothing wrong in wearing your desi clothes; they would be suitable. Or wear a long dress.

In all honestly Tereliye, i would recommend wearing whatevers comfortable. But many arabs would dream of having clothes as exquisite and luxurious looking as pakistani clothes as many of their cultural clothes are simple and kind of plain.

I think these gowns would be nice:

They’d look nice with a bit of jewellery and a pretty evening clutch.

Do let us know what you choose in the end :)

Thanks everyone!! I have decided I will wear a desi outfit - now to just decide which one! :)

You can wear a desi maxi dress, will look perfect.