What to serve for tea?

My MIL to be and fiance are coming around on the weekend to finalise wedding arrangements. My fiances brother and bhabhi will also be coming for the first time.

They’re family is really insistant that we just serve tea rather than dinner, as dinner will take up too much time, and we all need to focus on getting things arranged, rather than spending it eating.

Question is what should I serve with the tea? My uncle and aunt will also be there, but they don’t eat meat - only fish. So we need to cater for them also.

Re: What to serve for tea?

Samosa's, pakoras, sandwiches (cheese salad, anyone?), chicken tikka pieces on cocktail sticks, cakes.

Don't go really overboard, stick to a few bits that can b eaten easily.

yar make vegetable fritters for the veg. people..(using alu..gobhi..broccoli..baingan...cabbage..carrots)...

make sandwiches two types..
a) boiled boneless chicken processed with butter..salt and black pepper
b)boiled eggs and mayo..salt..pepper

if u can then do make samosas again two types
a) using corns and mozzarella cheese...black pepper..for veg. ppl
b) chicken ka keema and chana daal for non-veg

have a macroni salad also...with lots of veggies and make sure u put french dressing just b4 serving...its yum yum...

aurrrrrrr hmmmm dahi baray bna lo..ek baarra bowl....yeh to hur kisi ko achay lugtay hain shaam mai...ek daih barray kr lo aur sath alu chanay ki chaat kr lo...

not to forget shami kebab bna lo sath..beef aur chanay ki daal k ya jaisay b ap ghar mai bnatay ho..i think chaaye k liay in-laws k wastay itna kuch kafi hai :)

P.S.. i just saw u wrote they eat only fish..then make it spicy wali fried fish:)

I would go along the same lines as what the others have said. I would serve:

fish pakoras
aloo and fish tikkis/cutlets
aloo chaat
shaami kebabs-for the meateaters...

finger sandwiches-I would serve one tuna filling, one salad and possibly one egg. Cucumber sarnies are popular at british tea parties...but for some they are not quite filling.

I chose a chaat dish as it can be filling so if visitors are hungry and love desi food they are catered for :) I now they said that dinner would take up too much time but you never know...well I never do.

Cake wise I would serve scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream, lemon drizzle cake and chocolate brownies. Oh and possibly a great hummingbird or carrot cake.

Yum yum yum.

Can I come over too?! Lol

Have a whole bunch of finger food! And go crazy with it!

Chicken salad sandwiches
Cocktail samosas
Macaroni salad
Potato salad
Small fish kabobs
Cake
Scones

Most of these things can be bought or whipped up quickly.

I think I might swing by myself!

Oh and Congratulations on the upcoming wedding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Since it's going to be tea time....you can do

A pound cake....pre-cut into slices. Or any cake of your. choice. You can even have eclairs or cream puffs.

Cookies

Chicken sandwiches/Samosay/Pastries filled with meat. Don't do all three of them.
(You can do a meat/vegetarian combo. For example, you can do chicken sandwiches and vegetable samosay)

Shaami kabab (made from fish)

Chaat ( for example an aaloo/cholay chaat, or dehi baray)

And that's it. For beverages, have the options of tea, juice, and soda available. Basically you should have a mixture of sweet and savory (namkeen) items. At the same time, you don't want to go overboard because it's not a meal. It's neither lunch nor dinner, so try to stay away from lunch/dinner type items.

Thanks for your input guys, you're always so reliable and full of good ideas.

Ok so what I've come up with so far is:

Shami Kebab
Aloo tikki
Channa chaat or Papri Chaat (as I know his bhabhi loves it)
Veg Samosa's
Maybe chicken sandwiches or a pasta salad?

Cake - not sure which kind yet.

Does anyone have a good recipe for pasta salad?

^ It sounds great. Here's a suggestion though. Make the aaloo tikki look different from the shami kabab. Otherwise they'll both look circular. Some people make their aaloo tiki by forming it into a circle, dipping it in egg, and shallow frying it.....so it looks the same as the the shami kabab.

What you can do is mash the aaloo with a little bit of keema. And then you give them a different shape, such a small oval shaped rolls. Coat in bread crumbs and fry. They will look different from shami kabab that way.

For cake, you have many varieties. You can get a pound cake and cut into slices. You can get a cheesecake. A lemon cake. A carrot cake.

I personally would go for chicken sandwiches because they are commonly made for tea and are a good accompaniment. Pasta salad is more lunchish- or meal-time'ish in my opinion.

Chicken sandwiches:

Boiled and shredded chicken breast
1 hard boiled egg....shredded
A few leaves of lettuce shredded
Salt and pepper to taste
2-4 tablespoons of mayonnaise
1 teaspoon mustard paste (the yellow one)
a few dashes of hot sauce.

Combine the shredded chicken, shredded egg, shredded lettuce, salt/pepper with the mayonnaise and mustard and mix well. Add a few dashes of hot sauce and mix. Spread filling on one side of bread, top with other bread. You can cut in triangles.

For pasta salad, you can boil pasta of your choice and toss it with diced boiled eggs, diced chicken, diced vegetables, and a dressing made by combining mayo, yogurt, and vinegar. Season according to taste and mix. Or you can use salad dressing instead.

Thanks red. Good tip about varying the shapes, I'll experiment with that.

yaar buy ready made stuff and take no tension yaar

tell mother in law to make herself at home and send her to kitchen to cook yaar.

Tigerlily,

do the experimenting with the shapes days in advance before they come so you know what works and what doesn't. We shape them in oval shaped balls, so they're not flat like a shami kabab.

Also, best wishes and congratulations :)

chaat, sandwiches, cutlets/shami kababs, samosay, pastries…etc etc :yummy: