A person who has 300+ ODI's/50+ T20's/30+ tests/15+ years of experience under the belt, YET, comes in to bat with 5 players down, and what does he do, the f**** same crap, tries to hit the ball out of the park, 1st ball. You have to be extremely stupid to do that. People of less talent with a brain would try to knock a few balls around, get their eye in**, and then "try" to play their shots.
If he gets out to a good ball, fine, there is lil' you can do about that (I know as I have played cricket all my life). But what he did today, and what he has been doing for the past 10 or so matches just doesn't make sense. He is not even contributing with the ball.
the question I have for people here (especially Afridi fans) --> Do you believe he deserves a place in the side? Specially, if we have Razzaq sitting on the bench.
The concerns I have are the following:
1) I sincerely believe he is "underperforming" intentionally to bring down Hafeez's captaincy. Why I think that way. I can not fathom for somebody to be THAT stupid to do what he tried to do today (or other days as well).
2) He will "try" to perform well in one of the upcoming matches to hold his place. Which is "selfish" and is a concern for me.
Your comments please?
This in a nutshell sums up Afridi's career
An area where he hasn't really matured or improved much with time
Playing him at 10 would do no good. That would mean playing him as a bowler only and he isnt good enough bowler to keep his position for just his bowling.
T20 should be his ball game, here you dont have to last for 10 overs, just 2-3 overs is more than enough.
cant play him as an opener because nazir is a better hitter than him.
Oh bhai log … maybe u didn’t get it by now … some of ur replies to critical comments about Afridi are very much in-line with Afridi’s batting
You, WE and the Rest of the world knows what he is CAPABLE with the bat if he spents an over or 2 at the crease … that’s freakin 10-12 balls … no 30min, not an hours or even a complete session of test Cricket … Where others need 50 balls to score the runs this guy can do it in 20 but guess what for the scoring part u need to stay that LONG on the wicket … it’s not like he is continously being run out by his partners … It’s not that he wasn’t allowed to captain the side in all formats … it’s not like he stayed away from troubles (on the cricket field that is) … having played hundreds of matches at domestic and international Level … being Around for 16 years … a nation that adores u so much that even if u perform once in a blue moon they forget all ur dramas inbetween
And after all this … all u Waleed mian can come up with is his stats
When ever his performance on the field is under the scanner u brought in either Misbah, Hafeez and now a days Shoaib … what u gonna once u through with the whole team ??? the coaching staff or the selectors, PCB, or even ICC
In the match preview, Cricinfo called Afridi's attitude six-or-nothing.:ASA:And frankly, that's just what it is in a nutshell. The sad part is that it's nothing most of of the time. No disrespect intended, but I mean, even if you trained a monkey to play cricket, the first thing he would do the first ball would be to get off the mark, take a single or something. Then settle down for an over or two, and finally open up.
i agree its common sense i know when u are out there theres so much pressure for each batman but i do wonder wat does go on in afridi’s head his a senior player
If he wins us this match against India then all is forgiven
Sir ji apkay lunch/dinner mai'n kisi nay kuch mila to nahi diya ???? :D
All PPL want from him is a quick fire 25-30 runs (in T20 that is) like Gul did yesterday ..... This can't be so hard .... atleast he should give himself a chance time wise
That is one of the biggest mysteries of this universe.
He has been playing cricket for close to two decades, and still can’t fathom the fact that the only way runs are scored is by staying on the crease. Imran Nazir seems to have understood it, even though he wasn’t no way near as bad as Afridi. I mean, first ball? Why hit your first ball for a mis-hit six that will not stick? Why, oh why, can’t you play an over and then open up.
Oh well, if he is hurtling towards his demise, who am I to complain?! It’s not like Afridi will be there for ever!